We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful...”
Review of San Korana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Korana
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful...”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I wanted to stay at San Korana because of the good reviews on tripadvisor, but the host, Ivica, told me that he was already fully booked. He kindly arranged for us to stay in the house right next to his, which was very good value for money. When we arrived our host was not home yet, so Ivica made us Turkish coffee, gave us a map and (very handy) tips of where to go to in Plitvice Lakes. He also told us all about the recent war with Serbia in 1995. Although we stayed at his neighbours' home, Ivica was the perfect host and was very helpful. Breakfast is not included, as is the case everywhere in Croatia, except for hotels. The rooms are big, bathroom is nice, and it is very clean. I would definitely stay at San Korana or his neighbour's place again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We are so glad we could stay two nights at San Korana. I had done hours of internet investigation into lodging around Plitvice, and frankly was not sure what to pick. In driving around the area, I saw many nice-looking homes and I am sure staying there would be good too. But San Korana really hit the spot for us.

First, the owners are wonderful, and gave us a warm and friendly welcome. They custom designed a tour of the lakes for us so my pregnant wife would not have to walk quite as far. The sobe is located downstream from the lakes, and has its own waterfall literally 30 feet from the door. Breakfast was plentiful and great.

This sobe in not in realistic walking distance to the lakes, but I'm sure the host could help with trnasport if that was an issue. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.

We didn't want to leave, and encourage others to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This really is such a lovely place to stay. The owner could not have been nicer to us, showing us where was best to go with the time we had available and ensuring that we were happy and comfortable without being intrusive. The location is outwith the national park but still within the lakes which means that you can actually bathe in the lakes nearby which are even better than the real ones ...because it's so quiet and peaceful in a place of mass tourism this is a welcome and relaxing exception. The accommodation was comfortable and clean.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ali_loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Recanati, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The Owner: very kind, helpful, honest, informative, and friendly.
Service: breakfast was good and punctual
Location: you feel like you're in a storybook- picturesque, relaxing, rivers, waterfalls...
Convenience: with a car or motorcycle, very close to Plitvice National Park

I have nothing negative to say about our stay. We had an amazing time!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridisempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We had a very good stay at Sobe San Korana. It's not the most convenient place without a car, but the host was very helpful trying to arrange the transport for us as much as he could. We spent some time talking with the owner in one afternoon and he shared with us plenty of history and stories of the place - from first hand experience. That was very memorable for us. We certainly will be back to San Korana, but it's obvious that a car will be needed to get to places.

Location: Korana is about 5-6 KM (driving) from the main entrance of Plitvice Lake National Park. By mean of walking, there is a short cut that passes through the beautiful neighborhood of Korana Village but it will take 40-50 minutes from entrance 1. The second evening we took the free shuttle service that dropped us off at the Korana Village bus station on the main road. It took us just 20 minutes to reach home. But you may want to check the shuttle timetable as it doesn't run throughout the day.

Host: Friendly and warm. We are glad we got to know each other a bit better.

Access: there is supermarket that's within 3-5 minutes away (driving). The host can provide a bike. You can walk, but it will take 25-45 minutes, one way.

Service: No complain but you may want to know unless you book the family floor the kitchen is not open for everyone. We did not know this until we arrived and asked about it. We were fine as we have a fridge in our room so that was sufficient for us. Internet is available but it's not wifi equipped.

Highly recommended, but get a car. You will enjoy the place a lot more. Korana Village is very charming indeed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank po-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We made a reservation (for 1 night for 6 persons) through internet and also through the direct mails with the owner. He didn't want to take any prepaiement, saying that his word (and mine) still worth something there. We decided to take the whole first floor of the house (incl. 3 2-bed bedrooms, the kitchen and the bathroom). He assured us that everything will be waiting for us on the evening of our arrival. We arrived in the early evening (20:00) all tired and hungry and expected to go to the rooms and to the kitchen to prepare the dinner (the owner adised us to buy all the necessary for the supper and for the breakfast next morning on our way ). We were totaly shocked to find that the kitchen was occupied by one italian family even though it should be "ours". The owner pretended not to know about this and went there to "throw them out", but we started to ask ourselves if there will be the same with the bathroom. We simply did not trust the owner anymore since it was evident that all happened with his consent. We decided not to stay there and we went home without visiting the beautiful Plitvice National Park. It was a really very bad experience and we do not advise this house to the others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Macello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We booked one night but stayed two. The owner worked at the lakes and was very helpful, even to the extent of having a punctured tyre fixed while we walked the lakes. The accomodation is very clean and we felt very welcome. A swim under the waterfall is a must as is a stroll in the valley. If you ever get to meet our hoste (I think his name is spelt Iveica?) you could not meet a nicer man on the planet. The lakes are incredible and a drive through the countryside was amazing, very different to the rest of typical Western Europe.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plitvice Lakes National Park hotels
3.7 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
318 reviews
2.9 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
555 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Jezero
Hotel Jezero
#4 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
873 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pansion Breza
Pansion Breza
#6 of 105 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Plitvica Lodge
Plitvica Lodge
#1 of 16 in Plitvica
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Korana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Korana

Property: San Korana
Address: Korana 15, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53230, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy fresh and clean air of Plitvice Lakes, and experience the charm, peace and serenity of Korana Etno Village. Visit us and see the magical harmony of colors of nature, as well as playfulness of river and waterfalls that flow right beside our house, and whose little drops create spectacular sounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sobe San Korana Hotel Plitvice Lakes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing