We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accommodation and beautiful surroundings but unhelpful "information" staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bungalows at Campsite Korana
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good accommodation and beautiful surroundings but unhelpful "information" staff!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We spent three nights in a "bungalow" here - basic but clean and it did well for us, more than we expected. Breakfast was included and was a nice extra. We found all bar staff and waiters to be polite and extremely happy to help, however this was not the same with the staff working on the information or check in desks who I found to be rude and unwilling to help - we got the impression that our asking questions was a hassle for them. They also tried to take our passports on check in, even though Croatia requires you to have your passport on your person at all times. Luckily we both had drivers licenses with us which we left instead - but had this not been the case then I would have stayed elsewhere. There are lots of apartment options close by which are actually not more expensive, I would use instead if we were to return. The bungalows worked out to be quite an expensive option for travelling on a budget, they add extras at every opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelL0ver1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We've stayed in the campsite this summer and the location is great. Prices are correct.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia_mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We arrived after midday and were asked to deposit our passports with reception. I never like the idea of doing that and in Croatia it is a legal requirement that you carry adequate means of identification - which for a tourist world normally mean a psssport - with you at all times.

I offered to pay the fee up front, in case this was simply a means of insuring payment. Apparentrly the staff couldn't take money after midday. They could take my passport, seemingly in contravention of their own law, but not payment. They lied to us in saying it was a legal requirement they retain passports.

I moved on a mile or so up the road where another site recorded my details; they told me they never retained passports.

Nowhere else in Europe on a 3-week trip suggested such a thing.

No other hotel or campsite

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidJonesBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Your typical camp ground, simple yet clean and cosy in peaceful surroundings. Free hot showers 100m from bungalow. Breakfast was standard for Croatia.
7km from Plitvice entrance. They offer a shuttle bus to the entrance but it leaves at 9am and doesn't return until 5pm (and costs 20kuna/person, while parking at the entrance to National park is 7kuna/hour.) We found you wont need this long to see the whole park and if there is more than 2 of you driving is the better option.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2009

For anyone on a budget, Autocamp Korana is the ideal place to stay during a visit to the Plitvice Lakes. The campground and its facilities are clean and seem recently refurbished - even the communal toilets/showers, which was a pleasant surprise. Yes, the WC is a couple minute's walk from the bungalow, but this is camping - don't expect it to be like a hotel (though the bungalows do have electricity)! Bungalows themselves were clean and just the right size - we were in the park all day, so we didn't need the bungalow for much other than sleeping. The campground itself overlooks the river Korana a few miles south of the lakes (you're not actually in the heart of the park), but there is a shuttle which will take you to the park (20 kuna round trip - leaves at 9am and brings you back at 5pm). Highlights: the price (we paid around 18 pounds pp/pn) and the free (though simple) breakfast. There is a restaurant, bar, and market right at the campsite (sadly, no bbq's or fire pits, though), and a good-value pizza restaurant is only a few minutes walk down the highway.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed at Campsite Korana in a Bungalow as part of an organised tour. The reason to stay here is the Plitvice national park, a 15 minute drive away. The bungalows are cute A-frame log cabin style, twin share and big enough for a bed, table and chairs and that is it. But really it is just a place to sleep. The linen was very clean and the room very comfortable. The bathroom facilities are a communal toilet block which was very clean, about 2 min walk from the bungalows.
All around you is grassed area and forest - so quiet and wonderful to be amidst nature.
Camp Korana is probably a step above many of the caravan parks I have stayed in previously, For starters there is a restaurant and bar in a separate building which is a short 5-10 minute walk from the Bungalows. The food was basic but plentiful. The service was very much eastern european style - "You! Sit there!". But the staff remained and served 8 drunken tourists until 9pm, which showed great patience and forebearance.
If you're on a driving tour of Croatia and want somewhere inexpensive and good value, I recommend a stay here. You can also stay in your own tent, caravan and motor home here.

  • Liked — The bar, the wilderness around the camp
  • Disliked — The walk to the toilets
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plitvice Lakes National Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
5.1 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
House Tina
House Tina
#1 of 14 in Grabovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rene House
Rene House
#4 of 14 in Grabovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ethno Houses Plitvica Selo
Ethno Houses Plitvica Selo
#3 of 57 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ethno House Plitvice
Ethno House Plitvice
#10 of 99 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows at Campsite Korana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows at Campsite Korana

Property: Bungalows at Campsite Korana
Address: Plitvicka Jezera, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53231, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalows at Campsite Korana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bungalows at Campsite Korana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows At Campsite Korana Hotel Plitvice Lakes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing