We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put another Kuna in ! Zaton, the terrible cash machine !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zaton Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the tipical rip off place ! You come with your family because the brochures tells you all the kids will be able to do, you will have time to relax in your AC room or even go on internet for free
BUT ALL THIS IS WRONG.
We rented the most expansive appartment: no air conditionning, during 2 weeks we had the same towels and linen (never changed and never cleanned by the hotel), there is absolutely no Wi-Fi except in the reception, the "free" wi-fi cost you 42€ per week and it is not working in your room !!!!, the rooms are very small, the kitchen more than basic (no micro-wave...) all activities have to be paid: mini-golf, diving, snorkeling, towels on the pools, sits and beds on the pool or the beach, etc... it is over crowded by Germans, Italians and Croatian. In some areas of the camp you have the feeling to be in Italy or Germany. So sad for those wishing to enjoy Croatia.
At night don't expect to sleep until 2 or 3 AM ! The multiple Boum-Boum discos everywhere will keep you and your kids awake !
MY ADVICE: RUN AWAY AND STAY AWAY FROM HERE !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FML-Gattieres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaton_Holiday_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Zaton Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest and Reviewer,

first of all let us thank you for your recent stay in our resort.
We are sorry to hear that our service did not match your expectations. The level of service in our resort and guest's satisfaction is our highest priority and we feel some points in your review need to be explained thoroughly.
- Only our 4* apartments are equipped with air-co and apparently you have reserved a 3* apartment without an air-co (the precise description of every apartment is public and can be found on our web pages).
- We provide bed linen and towels in our apartments (the towels are changed twice a week, bed linen once a week) We sincerely apologize in case towels and bed linen were not changed this often.
- Concerning Wi-Fi, 2 h daily are free of charge.
- There are some facilities that are charged extra (bike rental, tennis, diving school) but we also have facilities that are included in the price (animation, swimming pools, football, basketball, volleyball, archery...)
- All our evening programs are finished until midnight. For all those willing to continue with the entertainment there is a large disco inside the resort. The disco is placed further away from the accommodations in order to avoid the noise.

We hope that this answer at least partly explains the problems you experienced during your stay. In case you require further information please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards
Zaton Holiday Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

we were with our camper in camp site. it was fully booked so we need to change our Pitch twice :(
it is very clean, a sanitary blocks are very well equiped.

Sea is about 50-60 cm deep and it is ideal for family with small kids (7 years + twins 2 years) but it is not for couples who like to swimm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azra_Ata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Back from a 10 night stay at Zaton Holiday Resort, which we very much enjoyed. 4th time in Croatia and had never tried a holiday park place before, but thought we’d give it a try with two small kids in tow, who are now old enough to get bored.

The accommodation was basic but clean and sufficient. We had a 3* apartment with a twin room and sofa bed. You get a fridge, sink, gas hob with 2 burners on (bring matches or a lighter for day 1), plus decent pans and cutlery. Satellite TV (no DVD player), bathroom and patio or balcony (depending on what floor you are on – the apartments are all maisonettes). They restocked the towels twice in 10 days and collected the bins everyday. You can also get free WiFi if you ask at reception for a code. It was pretty similar to Centre Parcs in the UK in terms of the standard, but a little smaller. You can pay more for air conditioning and with hindsight, probably would have done as it was ridiculously hot in the night as well as the day.

The pools are free (though its 20kn for an umbrella or a sun lounger for the day) and kept the kids well entertained. The kids pool has a slide and several small pools and fountains. The adult pool is massive with various steps and podiums to jump off. It could get a bit crowded but not to the point where swimming was difficult. Bit of a battle for space (opens 10:00 – 19:00) and umbrellas go quite quickly (you need to see the really miserable looking man in the yellow t-shirt to pay for one).

There’s a fairly comprehensive supermarket on site, which is reasonably priced – bit more expensive than the likes of Spar or Mercator, but not a massive difference.

The cafes at the pool were reasonable value but the restaurants were not of a very high standard. I had a vegetable pizza from Pizzeria More on the sea front, which consisted of a pizza with some frozen mixed veg poured onto it before cooking. You could also count the strands of cheese. We went into Zadar a few times and there are infinitely better restaurants there.

The evening entertainment seemed to be split between several types - acts on the stage by the beach, which were pretty cheesy bands / traditional acts but kept various middle aged Germans happy, Butlin’s type games and disco by the pool and the bars and shops in the village square. We went to the latter a few times, which was a reasonable atmosphere. There is some noise at night from the discos, but didn’t affect my sleep.

Other than the pool there is mini golf, go karts and various sea activities. All of which you pay for, but not expensive. We went into Zadar several times and there’s plenty to see and do and get more of a proper taste of Croatia. It’s about 20 mins in the car and is a pretty easy town to navigate round. As well as the old town there are a couple of shopping centres – the City Galleria (which was half empty and pretty rubbish) and Supernova, which was much better. There are also some big hypermarkets like Spar and Mercator to stock up at. One tip for Zadar is to make sure you save up your coins for parking – 10kn an hour and they don’t take notes. None of the stalls or shops near the car parks will change notes for you and get very annoyed if you ask.

Didn’t meet a single person from the UK (which suits me), though all the staff speak English. My efforts at Croatian after a 10 week course were much appreciated by the staff I tried it on. The other guests were mainly Croats and Germans, with quite large numbers of Dutch, Danes, Slovaks, Czechs and a few Italians and Poles. I would definitely go back again as it balances a “family” holiday that keeps the kids entertained and provides a good base to explore Dalmatia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy_WFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I recently spent five days in the resort and I was quite disapointed.
The bright side is that the rooms are nice and comfortable for the price paid and you can have an amazing dinner in Nin (if you happen to go don't pay the €3 mini train, it's like 15 min walk or less).
The not so nice side is that the beach is muddy and loud (they have the aerobics instructor with the most anoing voice and a sound system to be sure that EVERYONE in the beach hears her), the internet doesn't work, the cleaning lady who pick the garbage doesn't knock the door before coming in and the staff at the reception seems completly uninterested in your questions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in the 3 star apartment, which was well equipped with a nice balcony. Our trip was in July and in hindsight we should have splurged on the 4 star apartment for the airconditioning. On breezy days, the heat was bearable in the apt, but without the breeze it was uncomfortable to sleep.
The resort has something for everyone. Pools were fantastic, the kids were very happy to go there every day. Beach was also great, with slides right in the water, and paddle boats to rent, Pony rides, trampoline, bouncy castles all onsite for an extra fee to use but all prices were reasonable, especially since this was a resort. We tried the Sailing school, bike rentals, excursions, and all of them did not dissapoint. Good dining options. We took the half pension option which meant dining was restricted to the cafeteria, self service restaurant. If I were to go again, I would just take breakfast and enjoy the variety of restaurants in the resort for dinner.
The little train to Nin was very handy, Nin was a lovely spot to visit.
Overall a very enjoyable vacation. The people of Croatia were lovely, relaxed and friendly. A good family bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Li11eramuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Very good prices for quality! Good, clean apartment ! You can find any kind of food at those resort! Good family vacation with good location ( if you have a car )

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shrubmakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Keep in mind, I gave 1 extra star for the great price. We did 1/2 board and it was good enough. Buffet style. This is Europe after all and we were 4 adults and one child. 2 bedroom apartment with extra bed and kitchenette bathroom and great view with a back terrace with chairs and table... Nice and relaxing. If you go in the summer and don't get an air conditioned unit, take one on the bottom floor. It boarders between a camping style facility/ 3 star. However we expected that. Next time we will book earlier and go for the air conditioned units with 2 floors because July was hot hot hot... Coming from Copenhagen.. Wow. Really hot. Those are the newer ones. We loved the locale, the beaches, the nightly events, the pool, the kids club.. Even in another language it was great.. We did the nails and facial and hair services. Alright for what u pay. It didn't bother me too much it was not a 5 star as this is Eu and many places are worse. This place has camping and trailers to rent and villa style. Go for the villa style or get a trailer that is closer to the compound area or you will have a looooong hike everyday. U can take a car to Dubrovnik or even to Zadar.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to beach..bottom floor or rent early and get the best villa with 2 floors and ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank huandersens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nin
7.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
2.8 mi away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
2.8 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pinija Hotel
Pinija Hotel
#2 of 9 in Petrcane
388 reviews
7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
7.1 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#4 of 22 in Zadar
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaton Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaton Holiday Resort

Address: Drazhnikova Ulica 76T, Nin 23232, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Nin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nin
Price Range: $43 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaton Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaton Holiday Resort is the ideal place for a memorable family getaway. This paradise is within easy reach and boasts a great location in the heart of the beautiful Adriatic. A blend of calm spots in the shadow of pine trees, the seductive delights of a long sandy beach, and an endless list of fun-filled activities are the keys to Zaton's charm. Set into the Mediterranean landscape, the apartments are built in a traditional Dalmatian architectural style. -4-star air-conditioned apartments -3-star apartments. Zaton camp stretches along the beautiful bay in the shadow of natural pine forest. Many prestigious awards confirm the excellent service offered to our guests and put it among the very top of European camps. -1300 pitches, 90-100 m2, equipped with electricity/water hook-ups and sewage -200 free camping spots with electrical hook-ups modern sanitary facilities (specially adapted for the handicapped) -250 air-conditioned mobile homes with microwave oven and SAT TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Zaton Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaton Holiday Hotel Nin
Zaton Holiday Village Nin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing