We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful situation and good size rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kastel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kastel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful situation and good size rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel Kastel's situation is hard to beat - at the very top of the medieval hilltop town of Motovun and fronting the square which also acts as an outside restaurant with terrific views from the tables at the far left from the hotel door. It is a lovely town in which to walk around the walls and explore the steep cobbles down to the lower town gate.
The room that we were allocated was very large and well equipped with airconditioning, which was needed in June, and a bath and shower. The room had good views over the square. There were comprehensive shutters which nullified any noise from below.
We found the reception arrangements not particularly helpful. Each time we went to the desk there was a different member of staff on duty and there did not seem to be much continuity.
The food, served in the attractive setting was good without being special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    88
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
111
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This place is really fantastic. This is a three star hotel but feels like more. They are right in the center of Motovun, with a nice pool, SPA services and staff that makes a great impression. We enjoyed staying there. Call the hotel to help you get there if you have heavy bags. Decent breakfast as well, not all things were fantastic, but kept us and the kids well fed. The location is the best in Motovun. I would certainly recommend the place if you are staying in Motovun or exploring the area - there are plenty good restaurants walking distance from the hotel and if you are into truffles, this is the place to be ...
Note: Motovun might be challenging with a small portable stroller.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaxun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in June in a standard double.
We had a few problems here. The room was too hot, there was no air con and the fan provided was loud and ineffective. Having the window open meant that we were then subjected to noise from outside. For example during the night we heard an electronic beeping noise. Reversing vehicle maybe?
There were also problems with the WiFi. When mentioned to reception this was quickly sorted though. In fact staff here were very helpful and friendly.
I personally think that you could give Motovun a miss. I just didn't get it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BestTravels2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisak, Croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent weekend here and have only good impresions. The location is great - the view is just beautiful, the staff is excellent - helpful and always smiling, the food was delicious, pool and terrace with loungers are made for relaxation. The hotel is located on the top of the hill and we had free parking place slightly lower but the hotel provided us with luggage transport from the parking to the hotel. we experienced just the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelalalaPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

If person is looking for a quite place, excellent food, great choice of wine, very friendly and knowledge staff this is the place where you will be coming back, always. Once you are there you will the best position to visit the rest of Istra, or you can enjoy their swimming pool and wellness facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved everything about the Kastel Hotel. I highly recommend it to people traveling to Motovun or Croatia for the first time. We had an outdoor lunch and it was delicious. The staff is great, and there's an overall great vibe throughout the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sai Malena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are travelling along Adriatic sea and stoped in Motovun hill town. This proplerty is the best in the town. Well kept even though the room is small. The surranding of the property is very scenic because it is on the top of the town and was a castle before.

If you need to stay in Motovun, it is the property you should stay at. But you need to prepare for a long uphill walk as other reviewer mentioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motovun
16.3 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
18.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
10.3 mi away
San Rocco Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastel

Property: Hotel Kastel
Address: Trg Andrea Antico 7, Motovun 52424, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Motovun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaštel is a small exclusive hotel, situated in a 17th century old palace, on the very top of ancient medieval little town Motovun, in the heart of Istria.Almost every window of this fairytale hotel gives a marvelous view of central Istria’s scenery, the Mirna River valley and the famous Motovun vineyards. From dawn to dusk, a family atmosphere and a perfect view will comfort you. A Wellness experience filled with Istria's energy, its land, herbs, aromas, and tastes. Business meetings in an incredible ambience, with relaxation or activities in nature after work. Renowned Istrian cuisine in an authentic restaurant, in a magical garden, or on terraces with Istrian scenery. Hotel Kaštel offers accommodation in 33 rooms (Standard double rooms, Superior double rooms, Exclusive double rooms with balcony, hotel Suites) and we are able to accommodate up to 70 persons, 1 self standing Apartment house "Poli Kaštela", modern, fully equipped meeting rooms for organizing incentive and recreational activities in nature… Hotel is proud on his a là cartè restaurant and his creative kitchen based on istrian traditions and Istrian specialties, and will tell you the story about Teran and Malvazija wines from famous Motovun's wine yards, olive oil, truffles from the Motovun woods, and the unique istrian beef specialties (Boškarin) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kastel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastel Hotel Motovun
Kastel Spa Motovun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing