We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a View and a Pool”
Review of Hotel Kastel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kastel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very nice hotel at the top of picturesque Motovun. Modern amenities include a pool in the basement of which we took advantage. The management kept the pool open late for our group. Breakfast was nice in a room toward the back of the main floor. Our room was in the front and if your window is open there is a little chatter from the outdoor restaurant seating, but it was not troublesome. The benefit is that you may hear klapa singers practicing in their 2nd floor room in the neighboring church courtyard, or even better you may hear the guys after their evening practice giving in impromptu concert under the gate facing the hotel in the dark with wine glasses in their hands and a very lucky audience. Overall, the hike up the hill is worth it. Oh, and the post office is directly in front of the hotel door, but even with three people working there, expect to spend 10 to 15 minutes getting postage for your postcard. The hotel is in the center of a 20 minute evening stroll around the wall that surrounds the village.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kastel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 214 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Our room smelled like an ashtray when we entered. When we conplained and kindly requested another room the receptionist told us that the entire hotel was smokefree and fully booked, so he could not help us. Finally he gave us An airfreshner to soften the pain. During our entire stay the room smelled like a bar. We booked a room with A/C and all we got was a fan. The staff was unfriendly. Breakfast was ok (still unfriendly staff). Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The Kastel is one of those rare places that is unique. Sitting on top of a hill in Istria with amazing views all round, this place remains to be discovered by the tourist hoards. The hotel seems to be family run and the staff reflect that in their friendly service. Food is good, try the chunk of steak covered in red wine and onion sauce...delicious! Swimming pool is fun and attractive.

Only downside...there was no air con in our rooms which on a hot night made things rather sweaty!

Overall. Go! This place, both hotel and village have CHARACTER!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin2011186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ultimately, recommending this hotel - as I would - is about recommending Motovun itself, as this is really the only hotel in town. We stayed here as part of a cycling holiday (although cycling up to the town is certainly not for the faint-hearted!) and would certainly recommend it. The hotel room that we had was rather dated in decor but was reasonably sized and perfectly clean. What made the hotel great for a stay was the setting in the centre of town (but quiet) and the gardns with superb views out over the walls and over the stunning surrounding countryside. The breakfasts were very good (both in choice and quality) and the staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel is well set for the choice of very good restaurants in town, we did eat in the hotel one night and the food was good and reasonably priced. Overall, a very nice hotel but the town is simply stunning - if it was in Italy it would be overrun by touists and tacky gift shops, so take advantage of its unspoiltness while you can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFCWNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here on our way down to Dubrovnik. We didn't use the spa (although everyone was very complimentary about it), but did try the pool (very welcome after a day exploring the area on our bikes)
From our arrival we were made to feel at home and the food was excellent (especially the local wild asparagus) . A great place to visit for a few days.

Room Tip: try to get one of the rooms overlooking the courtyard
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wow! This hotel is really special. It is situated in the castle walls of Motovun, perched high on the hill of this beautiful and scenic town. It is very well appointed and comfortable. Our room was quite large and overlooked the courtyard but it was quiet. We didn't take advantage of the spa and new pool but it looked lovely. The staff were very friendly and didn't mind that we were arriving late from Pula. They were very accommodating.

Breakfast is included and it was delicious. They had the most delicious and fresh eggs with amazing croissants and other fresh breads. They also had yogurts, granola, fresh fruits and different cured meats.

Be prepared to carry your luggage up a steep, cobblestone hill to reach the hotel. there is parking down the hill and the roads are very narrow. This was an adventure driving up the steep, cobblestone hill. It's worth the effort.

There is a really nice outdoor seating area overlooking the valley and hills. It really is an idyllic location. The hotel also has free wifi but it only seems to work if you are situated right outside the front door or in the sitting area off the main hall.

I really loved this property. It felt more like a boutique hotel and it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May.
Compared to some of the other places we stayed in Istria, this hotel has all the comforts. The room was bright, clean and comfortable, but small. Lots of hot water in the shower.
We slept well with the window open to let in the lovely breeze. There are a lot of barking dogs in Motovun and they bark at night, so bring earplugs if that is likely to bother you.
The hotel pool is a bonus and we swam twice. Both times we had the pool to ourselves.
The hotel breakfast provides lots of delicious choices (eggs, cheese, fruit, pastries, meats, even a salad!) and we were very happy with it. We also ate our dinners at the hotel and the food was tasty and well-prepared.
The location cannot be beat. We walked the town walls (just steps from the hotel entrance) in the evening and the morning, to enjoy the amazing views of the Mirna River Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coralbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motovun
8.3 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#2 of 3 in Buzet
61 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
264 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Vela Vrata
Hotel Vela Vrata
#1 of 3 in Buzet
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#7 of 23 in Rovinj
163 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
789 reviews
20.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastel

Address: Trg Andrea Antico 7, Motovun 52424, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Motovun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Price Range: $75 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaštel is a small exclusive hotel, situated in a 17th century old palace, on the very top of ancient medieval little town Motovun, in the heart of Istria.Almost every window of this fairytale hotel gives a marvelous view of central Istria’s scenery, the Mirna River valley and the famous Motovun vineyards. From dawn to dusk, a family atmosphere and a perfect view will comfort you. A Wellness experience filled with Istria's energy, its land, herbs, aromas, and tastes. Business meetings in an incredible ambience, with relaxation or activities in nature after work. Renowned Istrian cuisine in an authentic restaurant, in a magical garden, or on terraces with Istrian scenery. Hotel Kaštel offers accommodation in 33 rooms (Standard double rooms, Superior double rooms, Exclusive double rooms with balcony, hotel Suites) and we are able to accommodate up to 70 persons, 1 self standing Apartment house "Poli Kaštela", modern, fully equipped meeting rooms for organizing incentive and recreational activities in nature… Hotel is proud on his a là cartè restaurant and his creative kitchen based on istrian traditions and Istrian specialties, and will tell you the story about Teran and Malvazija wines from famous Motovun's wine yards, olive oil, truffles from the Motovun woods, and the unique istrian beef specialties (Boškarin) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kastel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastel Hotel Motovun
Kastel Spa Motovun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing