We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy romantic getaway”
Review of Hotel Kastel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kastel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were here for a weekend in November and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was clean, with high ceilings, overlooking a small town square and equipped with worlds smallest TV set. It was so small we had to put it on the coffee table near the bed to watch it. But keep in mind this is a 3 star hotel after all.
The spa/pool area was wonderful, warm water, fresh towels, beautiful to say the least even in winter time, we swam for an hour or two, enjoying the peaceful surrounding and music, very relaxing.
People at the reservation desk where very helpful and polite.
We had one dinner there and breakfast, everything was superb, surprisingly that, like I said, this is a 3star hotel. Breakfast was buffet style, but with solid variety.
Town of Porec is not so far away and I would recommend a visit.
Overall, the town is charming and the hotel very nice, especially during off season when there are not many guests, perfect for a weekend getaway with a loved one.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LejlaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 220 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

very nice and beautifully hotel. That girl in bar section was amazing. If u ever go in Motovun u should talk to her. (I think is call Nikolina) Absolutely stunning. Motovun is great city to stay and enjoy. Nothing like that ever seen.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_from-_newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I spent one night in Kastel Hotel, it was clean, peaceful and cozy. The hotel has a car service that picks you up at the bottom of the hill and takes you to the hotel and vice-versa. Although the service was unpredictable, it was a very nice touch. I could not image driving those steep roads myself.
The hotel reflected the humble charm of this beautiful little town. Motovun is a must see in your Croatia travels and Kastel Hotel is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NapoletanaFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location, the only "hotel" around and they know it. Uncivil behavior is the status quo. Where else would you go? What a black mark on an otherwise breathtaking little hill town. All the other business people were a joy and super friendly and helpful. Too bad it could be so great. Noisy stairwells and uncomfortable beds and pillows. But very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonesmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our second stay in Motovun and the Kastel Hotel. Excellent, well appointed and comfortable rooms, efficient, helpful, friendly staff, stunning location. Would recommend to anyone. Easy drive from both the eastern and western side of Istrian Peninsula. Excellent cuisine can be found in Motovun itself. Quiet, relaxing, beautiful place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were here third time and every time we spend lovely time at hotel Kaštel. Food is excellent; sauna is homely, nice and comfortable. Pool is small but nice entertainment for young children. Hotel has a good location and many of surrounding countryside to discover as Buzet, Groznjan, Hum and very close to the coast Umag, Porec, Rovinj, Pula.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice, clean, quiet. Easy to access, they have elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Motovan is that genuine hilltop Medieval village that you have always dreamt of visiting
...stepped in history with stunning views over the surrounding countryside, one of the 'must go' locations in Istria..BUT ....with such a reputation and easy access from the Coast and even from Italy there are crowds of tourists, guides shouting in various languages and lots of those delightful 'souvenir shops'... so perhaps you may now be thinking.. lets give Motovan a miss.. yes...an understandable attitude...but the crowds are only there during the day.... by 4.00pm the tourists leave, the buses head down the hill and the village takes on a charm of it own, it becomes peaceful and tranquil. You really need to stay at the top of the village to appreciate the 'real Motovon'... sadly the choices of accommodation are therefore limited.. the best (and most expensive) is the Kastel Hotel. Little to fault but nothing totally exceptional.. staff we found to be polite but I couldn't honestly say they were overally friendly (too long a season and dealing with too many tourists ??) suggest you don't automatically book to eat in the hotel restaurant perhaps look around for one of the many smaller venues dotted around the village

Remember you are in Motovan to experience the location, to remember and absorb the history and cultural, so a comfortable bed, a clean room and all facilities is really all you need and this hotel provides all of those more than adequately.. don't forget to try both White and Brown Truffles its what Motovan is famous for!! Finally... we had our first night in Croatia at the Kastel Hotel, and returned back to the same hotel for our last night some 3 weeks later... did we return for the hotel or for the experience.. why not go and find out yourself !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motovun
20.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,020 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
833 reviews
20 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
21.6 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,043 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Vela Vrata
Hotel Vela Vrata
#1 of 3 in Buzet
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastel

Address: Trg Andrea Antico 7, Motovun 52424, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Motovun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Price Range: $74 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaštel is a small exclusive hotel, situated in a 17th century old palace, on the very top of ancient medieval little town Motovun, in the heart of Istria.Almost every window of this fairytale hotel gives a marvelous view of central Istria’s scenery, the Mirna River valley and the famous Motovun vineyards. From dawn to dusk, a family atmosphere and a perfect view will comfort you. A Wellness experience filled with Istria's energy, its land, herbs, aromas, and tastes. Business meetings in an incredible ambience, with relaxation or activities in nature after work. Renowned Istrian cuisine in an authentic restaurant, in a magical garden, or on terraces with Istrian scenery. Hotel Kaštel offers accommodation in 33 rooms (Standard double rooms, Superior double rooms, Exclusive double rooms with balcony, hotel Suites) and we are able to accommodate up to 70 persons, 1 self standing Apartment house "Poli Kaštela", modern, fully equipped meeting rooms for organizing incentive and recreational activities in nature… Hotel is proud on his a là cartè restaurant and his creative kitchen based on istrian traditions and Istrian specialties, and will tell you the story about Teran and Malvazija wines from famous Motovun's wine yards, olive oil, truffles from the Motovun woods, and the unique istrian beef specialties (Boškarin) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kastel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastel Hotel Motovun
Kastel Spa Motovun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing