We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but stunning location”
Review of Hotel Kastel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kastel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely old building but has not been sympathetically converted which is a shame. However, the location of Motovun with its medieval feel and fabulous views is superb. We spent one evening having a drink at the edge of the walls, enjoying the views during a gorgeous sunset when suddenly we heard a male voice choir practicing madrigals in a room above a restaurant......magic !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandlindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 215 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

It is the only hotel in town, placed in the middle of this gorgeous medieval town-hill, it´s also the perfect place to be. The restaurant is very good, the staff more than friendly. The pool should be used while staying there, it offers nice relaxation, especially during the winter months. The reservation is easy, by mail. In the summer though You have to make reservations on time, Istria is always "full" in the summer! Try the local cuisine, there are several nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TintiZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Kastel Hotel says most of it's rooms have views..and it's true..but most of them do not have distant views of the countryside..which is what was implied on the website. 2 couples travelling together, we had booked in for 2 nights and had 2 rooms here.. one standard and one superior. The hotel was fully booked the first night we were there with a tour group organized by a local so i think the best rooms had been reserved for this group. The standard room had a fan and the superior had aircon.. as it was quite warm at the time of our stay this was a big difference. As well the standard room had a carpet which seemed to trigger an allergic reaction while the superior room had wood floors and throw rugs. The second night the tour had moved on and the couple in the standard room moved to a different standard..which was of a higher quality and had a fabulous view.
Our superioir room overlooked the front courtyard and had large trees outside the windows..the aircon was extremely quiet.. you could barely hear it, the room was spacious, well furnished and there was nothing to complain about BUT I had been expecting those distant views over the Istrian countryside..which is why I've titled this review "mixed feelings" ! Breakfast at the hotel was served in a sunny good sized room with an adjoining outdoor terrace that seemed to be for the smokers. There was a good range of hot and cold food, varied fresh fruit and sweet buns and breads.
While we didn't eat a meal at the hotel we did use the back terrace (which was deserted) to have our own "picnic" of wine,fruit and cheese that we'd purchased at a local market before our arrival. Waitstaff at the Kastel were very helpful and brought us ice and wine glasses. We did order one of their "olive oil tastings" which was one of the best values on our trip. A platter of bread cubes, cheese cubes and three different olive oils.. for the equivalent of under $5 CDN. The hotel charged for wifi but they did hahve a free computer in the small lobby area fro checking email.
When we arrived the parking for the hotel was full so we parked below ( there is actually a person who directs traffic and parking) and the hotel van was called to pick us and our luggage up and ferry us to the hotel. later we were able to get a parking pass and drive up the hill and park just below the hotel.The desk staff were also very helpful in dealing with the standard room change. Overall I'd give the hotel 4 out of 5 stars for the setting and service but I'd give them a 3* for their advertising. We loved Motovun and found it an excellent base for visiting Rovinj and Pula. if we returned I'd consider staying at one of the sobe in Motovun. The Kastel was the most expensive of our hotels on this trip and while it was certainly not outrageous I think a sobe like teh Bella Vista could be a better value. You're really paying for the wonderful location and it was really pleasant having a glass of wine on the back terrace under the stars or sitting in the leafy courtyard in front of the Kastel late in the evening with an ice cream.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel is in a very old building, while the construction of the common areas tastefully modern. The hotel overlooks a courtyard and is in the middle of a delightful hilltown with stunning views of the valley. reception staff seem a little preoccupied when asked basic questions, but nevertheless, pleasant. Rooms are cozy with modern bathrooms. WiFi is available at 5K for 24 hours. OK breakfast with a liquid beverage identified as orange juice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Not many choices in motovun. Had a suite since it was all that was available. Room was only average. Great location at the top of motovun. Service was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Motovun is well worth the trip, walk around the walls early evening, the views are well worth the very small effort!
Hotel Kastel is the best place in town (maybe the only place).
Room pleasant, staff friendly & food good & wine (a bit pricey but then it really is a tourist destination)
Probably best avoided in the high season but very nice out of season.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

this hotel is at the central square of the village, you get out and enjoy the walk around.

square is beautiful, with large trees offering good shade (and wifi can be bought), but square facing rooms can be noisy due to tourists passing by or having dinner. Motovun offers itself for day trips around Istria, being central.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motovun
8.3 mi away
Hotel Vela Vrata
Hotel Vela Vrata
#1 of 3 in Buzet
150 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#2 of 3 in Buzet
61 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#7 of 23 in Rovinj
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
277 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Borgo
Villa Borgo
#1 of 6 in Motovun
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastel

Address: Trg Andrea Antico 7, Motovun 52424, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Motovun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Price Range: $74 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaštel is a small exclusive hotel, situated in a 17th century old palace, on the very top of ancient medieval little town Motovun, in the heart of Istria.Almost every window of this fairytale hotel gives a marvelous view of central Istria’s scenery, the Mirna River valley and the famous Motovun vineyards. From dawn to dusk, a family atmosphere and a perfect view will comfort you. A Wellness experience filled with Istria's energy, its land, herbs, aromas, and tastes. Business meetings in an incredible ambience, with relaxation or activities in nature after work. Renowned Istrian cuisine in an authentic restaurant, in a magical garden, or on terraces with Istrian scenery. Hotel Kaštel offers accommodation in 33 rooms (Standard double rooms, Superior double rooms, Exclusive double rooms with balcony, hotel Suites) and we are able to accommodate up to 70 persons, 1 self standing Apartment house "Poli Kaštela", modern, fully equipped meeting rooms for organizing incentive and recreational activities in nature… Hotel is proud on his a là cartè restaurant and his creative kitchen based on istrian traditions and Istrian specialties, and will tell you the story about Teran and Malvazija wines from famous Motovun's wine yards, olive oil, truffles from the Motovun woods, and the unique istrian beef specialties (Boškarin) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kastel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastel Hotel Motovun
Kastel Spa Motovun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing