We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location in a natural environment with a history background”
Review of Villa Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Borgo
Ranked #1 of 6 Motovun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location in a natural environment with a history background”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed overnight with our bikes in Motuvun. The accommodation arranged was very good and the breakfast was simple and very good at the same time.
The nature is at the top in Motovun and everyone can enjoy a very relaxing atmosphere.
I could spend more words for this place but I would like to highlight the kindness of the nice lady at the Villa Borgo. I am not sure about the name, but I think is Melita (?).
She made the difference, showing passion for her job. She helped me with a little problem of my phone. She offered us an extra unexpected tip during our breakfast. Really well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genghini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
62
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful views from balcony. Room very clean and comfortable though quite basic. A lovely welcome and breakfast was perfectly adequate and fresh. there is a car park at the top of the hill to unload bags, but there is still a short walk over cobbles to the bed and breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We ended up there because we made a mistake at the apartment we originally booked, but I have to say that we did not regret one minute of our choice even though, as a family of four, we got split in two-by-two and we had to share toilet and bathroom with other rooms at the floor.
Superb welcome, superb view from the terrace, fair breakfast. What do you ask more?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlv31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

me and my partner stayed there for 2 nights. superb! the location is magnificent, and Slaven is an exceptional host. he treated us as a friend, gave us great tips and asked us to join for a glass of wine when we met him with his friends in the streets of the village. love you, man!

Room Tip: we had an old dear and a little deaf lady just across the street, with a very loud radio or tv. anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michal t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband, young son, and I spent three nights in Motovun at Villa Borgo in the apartment unit. Slaven & his colleague Dzana are truly what make this b&b special. We spent an evening on the terrace, which had absolutely spectacular views, chatting over a drink with Slaven. He recommended very unique experiences which will stand out as the highlight of our trip. Motovun is a stunning hill top town, very conveniently connected to most anywhere you'd want to visit in Istria by a very new, modern toll highway. The apartment was very spacious and although it was not exceptionally modern, it was a great value for the money. Istria, Motovun & Villa Borgo all exceeded our expectations. We would gladly recommend any of our friends to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandjoe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just had a terrific 2 night stay at Villa Borgo. Great location at the top of the hill on the terrace wall with incredible views across the valley all the way to the Adriatic Sea. The hotel is located just at the base of the castle door so you can't get too much higher! Slaven, the owner, could not have been more delightful even joining us on the patio for drinks and some local fare one evening. When his mother brought us her homemade (and just freshly made that day!) ricotta and Slaven brought out her home brewed lemonchello, we knew we were in for one of the best nights we would spend in Istria. And it was!

The rooms were small, but clean and well managed. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast, which is included, had good variety. Slavin gave us a great recommendation for truffle tasting as well as for dinner. Konodo Mondo is a don't miss culinary experience. They are not open on Tuesday so plan around this.

We enjoyed a wonderful day trip over to Rovinj, a beautiful seaside town about 30 minutes east of Motovun. We did some wine tasting at Tomaz on the way back to Motovun. Klaudio Tomaz, the winemaker, graciously opened the winery after hours to let us in. All in all, one fantastic stopover in Motovun!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTErving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Borgo_M, Manager at Villa Borgo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you Kristine!! It's been a pleasure to welcome you all. Hope to see you soon. Maybe during famous truffle season in Motovun so you can experience truffle hunting as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pag, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our first time in Motovun, first time in Villa Borgo. What to say? Everything was really nice, especialy Slaven - we got everything we asked and all we needed. So, go there, you won't regret!
Villa Borgo is sourraunded with other things that you eventually need - caffeteria, konoba, hotel, restaurants.

Room Tip: Room no.1 has kind of terrace with beautiful view. Friends from room no.4 were also satisfied with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonitripadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motovun
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kastel
Hotel Kastel
#1 of 1 in Motovun
202 reviews
10.4 mi away
San Rocco Hotel and Restaurant
20.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Vela Vrata
Hotel Vela Vrata
#1 of 3 in Buzet
143 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Stefanija
0.0 mi away
Belle Vista Apartmani Motovun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Borgo

Property: Villa Borgo
Address: Borgo 4, Motovun 52424, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Motovun
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Motovun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Borgo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the picturesque Istrian village of Motovun, Villa Borgo B&B features panoramic views of the valley. Just few steps from the ancient City Gates, Villa Borgo is fitted with a spacious terrace overlooking the surrounding area and Mirna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing