We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle Vista Apartmani Motovun
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We took two rooms. The first with the terrace was spacious and without fault. The other that we had booked had been utilised by mistake. We were therefore accommodated in a room at the top of the stairs and was a little smaller, had very little water pressure in the shower and a bed that had a tendency to collapse. The establishment is located just outside of the old city gates and is very close to everything. If you are using a Garmin GPS you might do well to turn it off when approaching Motovun. Ours took us up a very difficult road (even a 4 wheel drive would not have enjoyed it) that we were told no one ever used. It would have been most interesting if we had met someone coming down. We would have had to reverse down. The staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Get the room with the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Based upon having read some of the other reviews, there must be quite a difference in the types of rooms available at Belle Vista apartments. We chose to pay a little extra and stay in the 1 bedroom apartment with the terrace. We were very pleased with the apartment. Although it included a small kitchen we ate most of our meals at the local restaurants. It was very nice to have a refrigerator for cold drinks, our restaurant leftovers, etc. Our unit's view was accessible from the living room windows and the bedroom window. But the best view was from the private terrace reached through a door from the bedroom. The terrace included a bench, two chairs, and a table big enough for the two of us to sit and look out over the valley. Staying two nights, we thought we would race off to somewhere in the car on our second day. Instead, we decided to stay and just wander around, read books, watch the paragliders (who take off from just below the wall next to the Belle Vista Apartments), enjoy the sun, wander around the cemetery, and walk out on the city wall. Additional info? Meals are fairly expensive in Motovun. Also, most of the stores carry the same products (wine, olive oil, and truffle oil) so it doesn't take much time to wander around town --- perfect for relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 411Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It is right in the old town. Spectacular view from balcony. Lovely appartment which was well appointed except no washing machine but had clothes line so could hand wash and dry clothes which was good for us. As other reviewers have said, if you are not confident with driving on narrow steep streets this might not be for you (this didnt phase my husband but i would hate to do it). Once you drop your luggage you park a little down from the appartment. We enjoyed our two days here and used it as a base to explore Istra.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustardbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here in August and was very surprised at how beautiful and big the room was. Very comfortable room that had a kitchenette, bedroom and a living room. I was with my family and my daughters were able to stay on the sleeper sofa in the living room, and allowing my wife and I to have privacy in our own bedroom. Our bedroom also had a walk out terrace.

Our room was below ground so there was a limited "Belle Vista," but still beautiful enough. Location was great. At the top of the hill in Motovun, it is close to all of the towns shops and restaurants. All of the places specialized in dishes that included truffles from the region.

Only challenging thing with this hotel is getting there. The road to the hotel is mid-evil, steep and paved with Cobble stones. Many tourists are in the road walking so you have to deal with that as well. Once you get to the hotel, you will have to put on the safety break, unpack and then go back down the hill where there are a few parking spots for the town.

Overall, very nice. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCulotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a very nice convenient place to stay. The city is difficult to drive into and out of but the hotel has a system that works quite well. The room was huge with a bedroom and a pull out couch for my daughters. We loved it and the balcony was a cute addition too. The place doesn't have views outside the windows but from our balcony we had a bit of a view. The place is terraced so although we were 2 floors down from street level, we still had outside space facing the hills. We had some hot water problems that were fixed immediately. There's a nice shop attached to the hotel too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaforadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We drove here from outstanding Plitvice National Park (see separate review for Hotel Jezero)via Opatija, nice art nouveau villas, stayed overnite in this apartment on the second floor above an olive oil store-there is a side entrance down a flight of stairs for daily coming and going. The apartment was clean and comfortable,had a separate bedroom and living/kitchen area, modern ensuite facilities, small balcony with valley views in this fortified very small hilltop village, which can be viewed in its entirety in 5 minutes, location of which is its charm. Hardest part was driving up a steep partially gravelly road to the top to reach the parking area just outside the walled village. Owner speaks English. There are several konobas, including Montana steps above with nice pizza , pasta, salad, etc, .
We then explored nearby Istrian villages included fortified Buje, artists colony at Grozdnan where I would s tay if doing this another time, Porec, which is skippable, Vrsrar, and much more charming Rovinj which was our base for two nights (see separate review for Apt Cvek)

Room Tip: Motovon is worth a visit but stay instead in Grodznan, an hilltop artists colony, which is nearby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopron, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We would like to explore the inland of Istria this is the reason why we have choosen this accomodation in the heart of the peninsula, in the medieval city of Motovun.
The hotel located on the top of the hill, we thought we will have an amazing view from our flat to the surrounding hills, vineyards, we would have spent 3 nights there. But when we got our room we had to realize that our small room is on the loft (!) with two tiny windows. We had any air conditioner (the summer is very hot there!), no air, no breeze, and the TV was for extra charge. The reality was totally different what we could see on the internet earlier. Plus our two very small windows faced the other buildings, stood in front of us. We had any view in the hotel with the name "Belle Vista"! At night we tried to sleep but there was too hot to sleep. I could not to make a blast because of the small windows I had to open our door and keep open whole night till morning. Of course I couldn't sleep like this.
Morning I was fed up, I wanted to escape from here because we had chosen not a room like this on the web. We felt they let us down.
Early morning we looked up the owner, payed for one night and immediatelly we drived to the seaside where we could find a very good, spacious apartement with big space, balkony, breeze and nice view to the Adriatic sea.

Room Tip: You have to stand upon the room with balkony, normal size windows and the view before you pay for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macska_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motovun
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kastel
Hotel Kastel
#1 of 1 in Motovun
199 reviews
10.4 mi away
San Rocco Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Villa Borgo
Villa Borgo
#1 of 6 in Motovun
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Antico
Hostel Antico
#1 of 4 in Motovun
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
House Of Gold
House Of Gold
#3 of 6 in Motovun
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guest House Nena
Guest House Nena
#3 of 4 in Motovun
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vista Apartmani Motovun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vista Apartmani Motovun

Property: Belle Vista Apartmani Motovun
Address: Gradiziol 1 | Istria, Motovun 52424, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Motovun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Motovun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Belle Vista Apartmani Motovun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing