We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
Review of Hotel Odisej Mljet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Odisej Mljet
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in May. The island felt really quiet as it was before the full season ferry timetable started. This was great for walking around but a bit strange when we were the only guests in the restaurants!

The room had everything we needed inclduing a fridge. We requested a room with a sea view which I would defintiely recommend. We woke to sun on our balcony and a fab view of the village of Pomena.

The buffet breakfast was definitely better earlier on in the morning as the hot food started to get a bit cool towards the end of service. However there was a good selection of food and drinks and the restuarant it relaxed and a table in the shade on the balcony was a lovely place to start the day.

The hotel has an outdoor cocktail bar and an area to swim and sunbathe which was fab after a long walk in the park.

The hotel have the departure times for the bus for the early crossing to Dubrovnik (the bus is at 5am!) and don't forget to order a lunch bag if you're going to miss breakfast.

Would recommend the pasta and pizza restaurant a few buildings along from the hotel. It's up some stairs above a little shop.

Room Tip: Sea view balcony room is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaily1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marijo J, General Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Gaily1978,

thank you very much for your review.
we are very happy that You enjoyed your stay in Pomena, exploring the island, sunbathing and swimming, as well as the breakfast on our terrace.

We will be happy to welcome You again at Hotel Odisej.

Best regards from Pomena,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    122
    104
    55
    30
See reviews for
67
230
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A basic 3 star hotel with staff who work hard to make your stay enjoyable.

The abilities are limited and the rooms are probably due for a refurb, but the staff keep the place clean and tidy and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel advised on ferry bookings and provided transport to and from the ferry port. They also advised on cycle hire and other amenities. We had to leave very early on the day of departure (05:15am) but they had still taken the trouble to prepare a packed lunch type breakfast for our onwards journey.

Mljet is very small and very quiet - a 3 or 4 day stay is sufficient in order to visit the National Park, the lakes, the monastery, and see the rest of the island. Activities like cycling and kayaking are recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a balcony overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnersP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marijo J, General Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear JonnersP,

thank You for visiting Hotel Odisej on the beautiful Island of Mljet.
Our staff is our most valuable asset, and we are very happy that our team made your stay enjoyable.
Our rooms have been partly renovated over the last years, and we are constantly improving rooms and public areas of our hotel, in order to meet and exceed today's guests' requirements.

With my very best regards from Mljet,

Marijo Japarić
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The long journey to the island is well worth the effort though the 3 hour journey from Dubrovnik, including an hours ferry crossing, is tiring. The island is pristine and entry to the National Park is included in the hotel price. The hotel is well equipt, though our lovely double bedroom with big balcony smelled a little damp, but it was early in the season. The staff are very helpful and multi lingual. Not many English guests, lots of jolly Slovenes and healthy Germans.
Food is well prepared and presented and exceeds the three star rating.
The resort of Pomena is on the Dalmatian coast sailing map and is a haven for yachts that moor for the night. Lots of docking activity to watch in the harbour
Go prepared with insect repellant and antihistamine cream in case you get bitten on a woodland walk. The nearest pharmacy is 20k away

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marijo J, General Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear 30Jen,

thank you very much for the nice review.
We are constantly working hard on offering the best service to our guests - and we are very happy that You liked our breakfast and dinner offer at the Restaurant.
We hope to welcome You again next year.

Best regards from Pomena,
Marijo Japaric
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddieCambridge
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is no clone hotel. It was probably built during the Tito era for Party apparatchiks and still has a slightly East Berlin feel, with mirrored ceilings, beige fittings and seventies furnishings. You can imagine the rooms still have bugging devices. But it is comfortable, the WiFi works most of the time, the breakfasts are good and the staff are helpful. Plus it is set in paradise, with wonderful views across the harbour, a range of good restaurants and a couple of mini markets nearby. The salt lakes are a ten minute walk away and you can hire bikes, kayaks, scuba gear etc. I would come back.

,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marijo J, General Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Eddie,

thank you very much for the time taken to write a review.
We are very happy that You enjoyed your stay at Hotel Odisej, and hope to welcome you again on the beautiful Island of Mljet.

Best regards,
Marijo Japaric
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at a double room with balcony. The view from the balcony was relaxing and fantastic. The staff was friendly, giving us some advices, helping with the bicycles rent and keeping our luggage after the check-out.
Although room could receive a refitment, it was OK for our stay and it hadn't any bad smell.
It isn't a modern and new hotel. However, the island should be the main atraction from this place and not the hotel. So the room is an enough place to take a rest.

Room Tip: There are many bad reviews from this hotel. I hadn't any problem with the double room with balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank riaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

After a torturous journey we arrived very late at 1am at the hotel, we had not been expecting any food but the receptionist went out of her way to provide us with a meal which had been put aside for us .
We were allocated our rooms which turned out to be standard size ones , we did not notice this till next morning, on the way to breakfast we pointed out we had requested a sea view room and a upgrade size for the other, as soon as we had finished breakfast we were re-allocated the correct rooms with a sincere apology. The sea view was by far the best we had ever had on our many travels, room size adequate for two, fridge in room, bathroom looked liked it was recently refurbished.
The other upgraded room also has a partial sea view, but was alot bigger having the benefit of a sofa which suited our teenagers perfectly..
both rooms also had a balcony, if your room is at the front of the hotel you were able to pick up wifi from the balcony...
Food was half board and we found the variety and quality of food excellent, waitresses went out of their way to be helpful but not pushy.
maid service discrete and effective .
The staff were very helpful with organising tours for us and advise on local attractions, bearing in mind it is an island and has limited excursions ! The staff were even happy to open bottles of wine for us we had brought in the local store !! we did take it back to our room though.
We made the most of the National park, hiring bikes and canoes, taking picnics with us, the trip to the island and monestary is worth while.
The hotel was very quiet at night as regards entertainment, this may not suit some, no discos, bars closed at 11.00 ish. Some evenings there was a bit of noise from the recently moored cruisers and yachts but this always came to an abrupt end at midnight.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view, there was a lift in hotel but it was staggered, so if mobility is a problem m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by our tour as a feature hotel. When we arrived we were told they had overbooked the hotel and we would have to stay in the annex, a long torturous route out the back, up stairs with no lift, into a room with burn holes in the bedspread, cracks in the basin, mould in the ice tray and a broken safety handle in the bath! And no views of the iconic bay out front.

We complained and were finally moved to the front but it took some effort. The front rooms were pleasent with a balcony on ours. Restaurant was nice with good views.

The area of Miljet is great and we enjoyed the activities on the island.

Room Tip: Insist on a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimN451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mljet National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mljet National Park
15.5 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
451 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
179 reviews
15.8 mi away
Aminess Grand Azur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pansion Pomena
Pansion Pomena
#1 of 2 in Pomena
13 reviews
21.0 mi away
Boutique Pine Tree Apartments
Boutique Pine Tree Apartments
#2 of 13 in Mljet Island
26 reviews
2.4 mi away
Guest House Pikala
Guest House Pikala
#4 of 6 in Govedari
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odisej Mljet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odisej Mljet

Property: Hotel Odisej Mljet
Address: Pomena bb, Mljet National Park 20266, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mljet National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mljet National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Odisej Mljet 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odisej is located in the Mljet National Park on the Island of Mljet and is the perfect destination of nature lovers and recreation enthusiasts. A short boat ride from Dubrovnik, Mljet has a few settlements and one hotel, Odisej. A full three-stars, Odisej offers breathtaking views from its terraces, a range of fitness and spa activities, and excellent dining options. Guests enjoy hiking, walking, swimming, sunbathing, kayaking and snorkeling on the mostly undeveloped coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Odisej Mljet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odisej Hotel Mljet National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing