We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous convenient setting next beach”
Review of Hotel Meteor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Meteor
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Makarska
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous convenient setting next beach”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Lovely setting, next to a lovely shingle beach and beautiful clear blue sea, which could possibly get very crowded in peak season. Lovely views across to the many islands. The hotel is a short walk along the pedestrianised promenade to the lovely town which has a South of France/Italian feel.

The hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable. Shower was a bit weak and tended to go hot and cold.

Food was good most of the time but limited. Fruit and some desserts ran out and were not replaced eg strawberries, cherries and melon. We were slightly annoyed when the waiting staff were turning off the lights at 8.55pm even though dining was up till 9. They were overly quick to clear up and we felt rushed.

Some of the bar staff are a bit unfriendly. The coffee was poor and there are no diet soft drinks.

The gardens would be improved by more attention.

We were disappointed by the lack of evening entertainment. On the whole we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and Makarska/Croatia are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    205
    67
    22
    10
See reviews for
78
208
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

What a location for a hotel right on wide bay with a dramatic mountain backdrop clear Adriatic sea looking across to the islands. First time in this hotel and first time in Croatia will I go back sure thing I will.
Hotel staff friendly and helpful everywhere clean and tidy not just in the hotel but everywhere we roamed in this beautiful country.
Bedroom not particularly large but it had all the comforts with a good view of the sea and passing boats from the 5th floor.
Food not the best selection of menu but personally I found something I liked for every breakfast. lunch and dinner for two weeks.
Animation team lively and worked hard to entertain without being a nuisance with evening entertainment provided each evening until 11pm. Late enough for a good nights rest.
The hotel is close to the town of Makarska with boat trips to the islands and a good bus service to the coastal villages and the historic town of Split.
Lots of local walks along flat stretches of prom or hill climbs to the mountain village.

Room Tip: Partial sea view rooms on the higher floors are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vuepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived to a lovely friendly reception with complementary wine, happy smiling reception and a beautiful room. We were just on the first floor but the view was good from the balcony. The location is very quiet,hotel extremely well kept and lovely walks either direction.

Excellent restaurants nearby (we enjoyed the Berlin and Lido especially) and spent very little thanks to keen local prices. Food quality in the hotel at breakfast was good.

I am surprised at the disparaging remarks made by others as we couldn't really fault the place. We would categorise as 4 star easily.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Have returned to this hotel year on year for several years now. Each time have been more than happy with our stay. The rooms are spotless and the staff can't do enough to help. We stay on a B&B basis simply because we like the local restaurants which are cheap and plentiful. Food at breakfast is nothing special for our palate but is healthy and plentiful. Weather is always great when we have been but on the very occasional wet day the indoor pool and other facilities at the Meteor are excellent.
The hotel leases their beachside restaurant/bar called Lido. The food there is brilliant however the welcome from their staff team is what brings us back year on year. 10 metres from the sea and attached to the hotel there is no better location if you want to spend time on the beach. The resort is safe with a relaxed atmosphere throughout.
3 local restaurants worthy of at least one visit: Panorama up in the mountains offers breathtaking views of the coast. The provide a free shuttle bus and the food and prices are very good.
Il Golfo located just below the Hotel Dalmatia is such a romantic place to eat, indeed when we were last in one guest got down on one knee and proposed to his sweetheart just as the incredible sunset lit up the horizon. The food is top notch and the vine excellent too. The restaurant offers very good value at around £40 or so for a meal for two including drinks.
Mala Barka is the third restaurant worth a trip to. It is located at the far south end of the promenade at Tucepi a short bus or taxi ride south of Makarska. The food there is to die for and wouldn't be out of place in a top city restaurant in the UK. Again it is very reasonably priced and the welcome you receive from the owners Luka and Maladin makes the visit all the more special.
Makarska is a beautiful place unspoilt by the hoards of tourists and noisy drunken idiots you might find in some resorts. Prices are keen and the quality of just about everything is right up there with the best

Room Tip: Rooms high up on either side of the two towers with a north facing outlook are best in our view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good clean hotel in great location, with Saga for a week picking it on its location and strength of its reviews. Sadly the 'food reviews' we're wholly inaccurate. It was a poor selection of luke warm repetitive basic 'canteen' type fodder, it was poorly laid out so that you were walking all over the place to fill your plate - they did have the best 'House Wine' I've had on an AI holiday ! Hardly any fresh fruit and no use of herbs or spices in the food. Eating out was so cheap that I would recommend going B&B, on our last night we had a meal out with friends it was superb ! Would maybe go back but would eat dinner out of hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c46Dakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in good location and clean and tidy. Older staff were very surly and unhelpful, a late night local graduate party went on till 3 am, and the clean up started at 5.45 am, without warning or apology.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the meteor hotel in Makarska. My friend and i travelled with saga holidays her first time with them my second as i had a three centre in croatia last year with my husband. The hotel was very good, clean and plenty of areas to sit (inside or out ) bedrooms were lovely and if you are lucky like we were had a superb view. Towels were changed every day ( not that we asked for them) which was nice. Our only disappointment was the quality of food. Breakfast was fine but lunch and dinner was very uninspiring. We ate out at lunch time on one occasion and it was so nice a group of us went for our last night in the evening for dinner. A good time was has by all.The restaurant was called Kalafatic five minutes stroll away turn right out of the hotel along the promenade.Do take a mosquito repellent with you.

Room Tip: We were in room 220. Others we met were in 319 320 322 all had good views noice was never a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonraker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makarska hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 16 in Makarska
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dalmacija
Hotel Dalmacija
#5 of 16 in Makarska
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Maritimo Hotel
The Maritimo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Makarska
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rosina Hotel
Rosina Hotel
#10 of 16 in Makarska
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osejava
Hotel Osejava
#3 of 16 in Makarska
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biokovo
Hotel Biokovo
#8 of 16 in Makarska
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meteor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meteor

Property: Hotel Meteor
Address: Kralja Petra Kresimira iv. bb, Makarska 21300, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Makarska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makarska
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makarska
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makarska
#5 Family Hotel in Makarska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meteor 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Meteor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meteor Hotel Makarska
Hotel Meteor Makarska
Hotel Meteor Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing