We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and wine”
Review of Konoba Kalalarga

Konoba Kalalarga
Ranked #8 of 86 Restaurants in Makarska
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Brilliantly simple Dalmatian tavern as it should be! Many locals eat here throughout the year so it’s a perfect place to hear about local politics and gossips. Daily menu changes according to the season and local offer. Fresh, tasty and uncomplicated food. For lunch (or brunch –
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food and wine”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We found this restaurant on Tripadvisor and chose it because it was near where our boat was moored and my walking is limited. The restaurant was busy and most tables were outside. It was not the most scenic street but plenty of people passing and I could watch the swifts flying past. We ordered the red house wine and this was the best and cheapest we had drunk in Croatia. The food was also the best we had had in Croatia, I had the grilled calamares which came with potatoes, grilled vegetables, risotto, salad and lovely home baked bread. My husband had the shrimps in tomato sauce. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    120
    42
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good sensible local food at a good price. The staff are really good and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 201WilliamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We went twice”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great little place, with really friendly and helpful service. I was very impressed when we asked for the menu and the waiter enthusiastically answered "I am your menu!". Also it's not every day you get a handshake on the way out. We went twice it was so good. The first time we had the fish platter which was lovely. The second time we had the local dish 'peka' which you have to order the day in advance but I'd recommend it, it's delicious. The atmosphere is cosy and good for small groups or couples. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Makarska.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewDavidFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere&food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great local food. We went there for a dinner, very attentive staff, great food, good value. Atmosphere was so relaxing. Location is in old town, in a street, it's not hard to find.
I highly recomended this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BrankoKusovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cosy and lical in Kalalarga”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Small and cosy restaurant in old town. Very good fish. Good wine. Attentive staff. Great fun in March/april when once a week there is a big party/cooking competition. Very crowded with local people. Met lots of nice people there. Great end to a perfect evening, was joining that once a week party.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Kalalarga also viewed

Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Kalalarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing