We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Makarska”
Review of Restaurant Ivo

Restaurant Ivo
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Makarska
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Makarska”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ivo has an excellent reputation among the locals and that's for a reason. It's simply the best restaurant in Makarska and one of the best fish restaurants in Dalmatia. The ambient does not do justice to the quality of food served there. Fish dishes are simply amazing and everyone in Makarska must go here. The worst thing about the restaurant is it's placement next to the main street. I don't recommend the premade dishes usually served during lunch time. If you are here grab a menu and enjoy in a wide variety of fish dishes, you certainly won't go wrong with anything!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marko E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    150
    59
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great food compared to everywhere else we went. I wouldn't say it's out of town but a 10 min walk from centre. Had lobster bruschetta for starters which was amazing & the scallops for main. Was to full for dessert. Great restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frosty_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Years”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I were both thrilled with Restaurant Ivo. It was refreshing, in a tourist town, to finally find a place that paid appropriate attention to their guests. For my meal, I had the Chicken "Argentino", which I can truthfully say was probably my best meal in years. Their pancakes with ice cream were out of this world.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Little out of town about a 10 minute walk but worth it. Best meal thtat we had in the resort and a little different than the rest of the restaurants in the town

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants in Makarska”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Nice atmosphere, excelletn and plenty of good food, little noicy environment but here you'll find the locals

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ivo also viewed

Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Restaurant Ivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing