We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makarska's newest 4-star hotel”
Review of Hotel Osejava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Osejava
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Makarska
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Makarska's newest 4-star hotel”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Located at the water's edge on the southern end of the harbor promenade, the Osejava Hotel is easily found and limited free parking is available in front, or in the hotel garage for a fee. It is a super modern facility, only two years old, and marble is everywhere. Front rooms have a view over the comings and goings in the harbor. With the promenade starting in front of the hotel, ferries, excursion boats or any of the restaurants lining the waterfront are only a short walk away.

Arriving without a reservation we were warmly welcomed by receptionist Draga who advised us all 45 rooms were filled with a German bus tour group. However, she offered us suite #205 at an affordable rate, and in no time were we at our quarters. The suite with a living room, separate bedroom, bathroom, plus a sauna room was quite spacious, super modern and was an interior designer's dream come true. However, with all the favorable reviews, I am somewhat reluctant to note some negatives as they apply to the suite. Digital light switch panels require an electronics engineer to operate, and are modern technology gone overboard. Except for a wicker covered 5 foot tall pear shaped something with a dim bulb inside, there was no light over or near any of the living room seating. Seating included a rocking chair, couch and a chair, all very nice to look at but ergonomically wrong and anything but comfortable to sit on. Room amenities included a 48" plasma TV with many international channels plus radio channels in living room and in the bedroom, laminate wood flooring, a true king size bed, A/C, safe, and a stocked mini bar/fridge. The super modern spacious bath with a deep, high sided tub/shower combo, rain shower head, and the latest in sparkling chrome fixtures was spotless as was the rest of the suite. A comfortable bed and absolute quietness made for a good night of sleep.

Looking forward to a quiet dinner, we found the hotel dining room solidly in the hands of the German tour group, being entertained with oompha music and singing along loudly. Thus, we wandered along the waterfront and settled on the Restaurant Marina were we enjoyed a delicious Italian meal. Returning to the hotel lobby, we found a PC station with Internet access free for guest use. All in all, the Osejava is a beautiful hotel in a great location, and we would happily stay there again but not in suite #205.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    77
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
41
166
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tacoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

THis is by far the best place to stay on the Makarska Riveria and in my opinion (other than Zadar) it is my favorite place in all of Croatia! It would not bother me to never see Split again or Dubrovnik for that matter as I have been several times and it is very busy during peak season and full of tourists. Hotel Osejava has one of the best locations in Makarska. Close to everything~! It sits on a bluff with the best swimming beach right out in front. There is an incredible terraced area that you can lay out in the sun on and there is a cave bar built right into the rocks there as well. The rooms are ultra pluch modern and extremely clean as this hotel is new. THe breakfast was very nice something right off a cruise ship!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakebrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

we have just returned from the hotel Osejava, we found everything to be of a high standard and the staff were helpful and friendly you colud not fault this hotel it has to be one of the best that we have used in croatia.
Hotel rooms very comfortable, and the whole hotel spotlessly clean, food excellent even though we only had b/b as so many places to eat in the area.
lovley places to walk, swim and the veiws amazing, breakfast overlooking the adriatic sea.
i would use it again and recommend it to other people.

Room Tip: rooms over looking pool very quiet on third floor. only did b/b as we found so many nice places to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaturner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel has absolutely the best location in Makarska, in much more quiet part of the town. It has beautiful area for swimming right in front - beach/small dock if you prefer Adriatic or very nice pool if you prefer silence for a nice book or just like being solo.
Brekafast is great (offers plenty of choices) while hotel restaurant offers anything else you need. I stayed with my family this summer, in the midst of the busiest season and hotel and staff were absolutely amazing.
My son has food allergies and I thought in that part of the world (even though I am born and raised in Croatia) we could have some serious issues considering his age combined with summer heat and of course change of the location (coming from North America).
Not only they took care of us, but staff (and the owner) made sure, on daily basis, we are happy while providing us with meals and snacks that my son can handle. It was absolutely amazing considering that we didnt have anything pre-arranged and considering we didn't even know we would end up in Makarska (long story).
Junior suite was abolutely amazing, overlooking the bay. I told my wife we should have been here for our Honeymoon, actually perfect for romantic trip when I think about.
Pebble beach is maybe 10 min away (easy stroll), while there is plenty of restaurants and ice cream places while walking towards that, much busier part of Makarska.

All together, great Hotel, maybe the most comfortable place (combo of staff, amenities and all around enviroment) I have ever been to.....and that speaks a lot, coming from a father of two little kids that works on a Wall Street. I have been around, and seen a lot, but also need (as we all know) a lot while traveling with a little ones, which is not easy traveling in the busy season.

Before I leave, place is all marble indoors and everything is digital. It is perfect combo of white Mediterranean romantic quiet colors and marble with 21st century digital technique when press of the button needed.

I just want to thank again for this great experience and I can hardly wait for another chance to be back there.

Great weather that week, definitely was a plus.
Thanks Osejava

Room Tip: Make sure you get room that looks at Bay even though the one that looks at Pool with get a good glim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amerikanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel has been decorated to a high standard and has a lovely nautical feel to it. It is only 3 years old and is very modern in style. I loved the muted colours of the rooms and the clean lines. It stands all alone looking out over the harbour of Makarska and looks quite imposing from the water's edge. It faces the mountains which are covered in beautiful white-washed house with terracotta rooves, a lovely view! My only negative is that we decided to go half board and the half board menu was fairly basic and on some days we were quite disappointed with the standard of food. However, those who were eating from the A La Carte menu appeared to be having really nice food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScattybattyBurnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bucks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is situated at the end of the bay area in a quieter spot , except for when people come out of the nightclub ( almost next door ) in the early hours of the morning,so best to get a room if possible at the other end of the hotel as we did but even then you can hear them with balcony doors closed.Did not happen every night though.....
That was the only down side really to this hotel.
The rooms as well as the public areas of the hotel are very clean and staff very pleasant and helpful. When we asked about the air con in our room ( about 40deg.outside ) at reception,we were told that they operate it from there. I was a bit sceptical about this but we asked for it to be set for 18deg,the lowest they could do but they said that it would probably not get down to that but they made a note to keep our air con on at all times. I am so glad to say that it worked brilliantly. There were times we came in and it seemed a bit chilly at first, but we cannot sleep unless the bedroom is cool/cold so for us it was very good.
We were at the hotel for five nights and in the end ate there each night. The first time in the more expensive restaurant, Solo or something, which was very good with excellent service, but the the other restaurant was good enough so ate there for the remainder of our stay. You must book to eat in that one as it gets very busy as it is in a lovely location and non residents seem to eat there a lot. The service is obviously not as good as the other one because of this and they do get a bit stressed at times, but on the whole, a good experience and lovely views while you eat.
Breakfast becomes a bit boring and they charge extra for cappuccino and espresso .......!
There are plenty of other places to eat within a 5/10 minute stroll along ' the prom ' otherwise.
There is parking available ouside the hotel free of charge but very difficult to find a space. In the end we opted to use their underground car park for 10 euros a day. At least the car was cool when we used it.
Lots of boat trips from this area and ferries to Brac. You can also drive about 15-20 miles south and catch a ferry to Hvar. This for us was a big mistake as you arrive at a port that is around 80k away from Hvar Town etc. and the roads are very narrow and treacherous. My husband loves driving but even he decided in the end to cut our stay short, we didn't even get to Hvar itself and we had been driving for about 2hrs, following the stream of traffic from the ferry. There is nothing at the northern side so I would suggest getting to Hvar Town by boat from elsewhere, maybe Split,even though it's a bit of a drive.
The pool area of the hotel is quite small but even getting there after 10am it was easy to get a sunbed etc. Most people seemed to pay for the area at the front of the hotel.
Worth paying more for a room at the front of the hotel for the views rather than have a balcony overlooking the pool at the back of the hotel in my mind.

Room Tip: Best views from front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDSouthBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Hotel located in the quieter end of Makarska. The hotel has a small pool with loungers. It is never very full so on the whole no problem to get a lounger. Hotel is situated next to the sea so it is possible to hop over the wall and swim in the sea.Very close to town and a short

walk( 10 minutes) to the prom and pebbly beach the other side of town. Hotel is very clean and rooms modern and spacious.Reception staff very helpful. Breakfast good and it was lovely to be able to sit outside with a spectacular view. Not knowing anything about the area and restaurants we booked three nights half board (we stayed 10 nights). There was a limited choice for half board but we felt that we were treated as second class citizens.Food was rushed with main meal appearing before we finished soup on one occasion. However
there was a vast choice of rstauants in town and on the sea front. One waitress in particular was unpleasant.Having said that we would definitely return there if we visited Makarska but would not take half board as there are plenty of places to eat.

Room Tip: We had a balcony and sea view, our daughter balcony overlooking pool. Both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeithiwrMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makarska hotels
1.0 mi away
The Maritimo Hotel
The Maritimo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Makarska
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 16 in Makarska
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meteor
Hotel Meteor
#4 of 16 in Makarska
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dalmacija
Hotel Dalmacija
#5 of 16 in Makarska
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Miramare
Aparthotel Miramare
#7 of 16 in Makarska
70 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milenij Hotel
Milenij Hotel
#6 of 16 in Makarska
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Osejava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osejava

Property: Hotel Osejava
Address: Shet.Dr Fra Jure Radica 3, Makarska 21300, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Makarska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Makarska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Osejava 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Osejava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing