We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The One Place We Didn't Plan Turned Out To Be The Best”
Review of Apartments Nina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartments Nina
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The One Place We Didn't Plan Turned Out To Be The Best”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As two other reviewers shared it's Nina that makes the difference. What an incredibly lovely lady with no more concern that your complete enjoyment of her home and the beautiful island of Korcula (KOR-chula). My wife and I made a decision to hit this island after two nights in Split and on our way down the coast to Dubrovnik. It was a long drive coming back up around Pejelsic, but with no end to stunning scenery worth every one of those 15 hours en route from San Francisco. And then to stumble onto this little island of Korcula with no tourists, a very manageable little walled city, great restaurants (two of our best meals were here...at Arsenal and a little seafood place inside the walls) and then Nina. If no one is there to meet you walk along the southern wall until you see the giant wooden chair outside a shop called Marco Polo. Her place is just to the right and has no signage until you get inside the building. Her place is very clean, well stocked, has a lovely little crepe breakfast included and giant smiles. We wish we had traded two nights in Dubrovnik for another one here and another in Trogir. Dubrovnik is sheer beauty itself but simply overrun with cruise ship tourists and almost unbearable after two days. Next time we go back Nina will have to put up with us for at least 4 nights. Prices were extremely reasonable (about $120 for two nights in April).

Room Tip: If the place is empty you may get the "suite" at regular room prices. We weren't htre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogavante67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My partner and I have the most amazing holiday in Croatia and a lot of that was down to the hospitality shown at Nina. Both Nina and Martin were fantastic hosts, who were happy to give advise about where to go and not to go.

Nina even gave us samples of her home made wine from the vineyard that she owns on the other side of the island, which was just lovely of her. We took some home for our parents to sample!

Beautifully large room, with a private kitchen and dining area. This meant that we didn't have to eat out every night and had a chance to cook our own food which we bought from the local market.

Amazing views and only a bus ride away from the beaches. Although we tended to swim in the sea directly from the rock wall outside the hotel. Many locals doing this.

Perfect stay, would absolutely come here again!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe apartment, you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have enjoyed staying at Apt. Nina. There are a variety of rooms in the apartment each with different features. We stayed at a room on the third floor with sea view. The room was clean, well decorated and contained everything one may need. The hotel owner was very friendly and helpful. He met us at the ferry port and help escorted us to the hotel. The price was also reasonable.

Room Tip: I suggest you take a look at the available rooms when you arrive, you may find a better room than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haluk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Nina for 3 days. The owner and his mother are pleasant. They offer crape pancakes for breakfast along with coffee. I was in need of washing some clothes and the mother offered at no charge to do my laundry. She was more interested that we have a great time while on our visit.
The room is well appointed and above the main promenade that goes around the old town. The view is out to the sea and the sea breeze comes in to refresh the room.
.
It will take you some 2-3 hours to see all the streets in the town but well worth your time.
.
We had our best and least expensive meal of our trip here. Ask the owner's for their recommendations. They know the food and where to go. Ask them where to go for the octopus salad. It is fantastic.
.
A very pleasant stay that I will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nina and her son made us feel very welcome. She even made pancakes for us for breakfast. The apartments are spotless and superbly located in the old town. Her son explained some interesting places to go and eat during our stay, and this was very helpful to us.

Location was great and easy to find, highly recommend!

Thanks Nina!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CanadaJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just got back from staying on Korcula for two nights.
What a great experience we've had by staying with Nina!

1. It is very easy to find and the apartment is is close proximity to everything.

2. Nina and her son Mate are just great people who care about their guests. Mate made sure we have a map of the town with the highlights of where to go and some recommended restaurants (they turned out to be great). He even offered to arrange some tickets for us, which was even extra Guest Services.
Even though Nina does not speak much English, she was so nice and expressed herself in the happiest way. Her crepes with chocolate in the morning on a terrace overlooking the town were a nice touch to our stay.

3. Price was very reasonable

4. We probably had the smallest apartment in the house, but it was spotless, very cosy and had all necessary amenities. We really enjoyed it and would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What made it a great stay-

Location - tucked away but right in the heart of the old town with an amazing view
Spacious apartment and well equipped
Martin's helpful advice in what to see, where to go and where to eat
The pancakes as everyone has mentioned
Korcula itself - we thought Korcula was a beautiful place and surpassed our expectations. Plenty of character not as touristy and hectic as Dubrovnik and we found the people friendly
We hired bikes and cycled through the wine groves, Lombardo and to the beaches at the other end side of the island

Some tips you may fine helpful

In the apartment we were in there is a switch you have to flick to turn the water boiler on to get hot water. We didn't realise at first and attempted a luke warm bath :-(

We arrived by bus from Dubrovnik. If going at peak season and wanting to come back on the afternoon bus, I would suggest not waiting until the day of your return to buy a ticket. We were travelling in September so not peak season but the bus was just about full so I imagine it will get busy in peak season. On the day we travelled back people were able to buy tickets on the bus so probably recommending this from a piece of mind point of view more than anything.

Find out where and when you can check out and settle up. We weren't able to find Martin (or his Mum) on the morning we wanted to leave so we had to hang about. This meant we weren't able to make the most of our last morning in Korcula.

We found the directions given with the booking confusing (we are not normally too bad with following directions). They mention a Marco Polo shop. But be aware there is more than one. We eventually got directions from the small tourist information centre but you might find it useful to look up where it is on a map rather than just relying on the directions.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smiley-Caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Korcula Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Korcula
Hotel Korcula
#6 of 30 in Korcula Island
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
M & J Central Suites
M & J Central Suites
#5 of 21 in Korcula Town
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drasko Accommodation
Drasko Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Korcula Town
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Nina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Nina

Property: Apartments Nina
Address: Shetalishte Petra Kanavelica No. 3 | Stari Grad, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Korcula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Apartments Nina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing