We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Korcula Island
Post
Inbox
Search

“Chef deserves compliments for the food... Service awful”
Review of Konoba Adio Mare

Konoba Adio Mare
Ranked #28 of 209 Restaurants in Korcula Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the family tavern, which in 1974 founded our grandpa Cvijo. Adio Mare has been awarded in 2018 by Gault&Millau with two tocques! The dishes you will taste are prepared with lot of love, effort and experience. Our chef asks for your patience while you wait for your meal as it is prepared with fresh Korčula ingredients and is cooked on the authentic barbecue. The first section of our restaurant is the central part of the tavern with kitchen with six tables from 1974. In the second section there are two large tables suitable for 14 guests each, and they are placed in the beautiful setting of an old shipbuilding workshop. The tools used in this workshop can still be seen today on the taverns inner walls. The third section is the terrace which was refurbished and opened for the public in 2007, with fantastic view at the oldest church in Korčula St.Peters and St. Marks cathedral or Mark Polos birth house. A unique location for a unique gastronomy experience from 1974!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was lovely, prepared in an open kitchen would recommend the meals however had just as nice in other restaurants for a better price however often more expensive in castle grounds.
Service however was a big disappointment, the waiter who served us was rude, unwilling to explain the fish of the day and served tables with double standards based on the client.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I ate here recently and the fresh fish is incredible! Besides other entrees, the menu offers fresh white fish of the day, and you receive whichever size white fish fits your order. The fish came to the table whole and it took us 3 cuts to debone it ourselves, but we watched the waitstaff debone a huge fish for a large table nearby. Don’t let that intimidate you, ask for help if you wish. Delicious fresh fish with crispy skin and veggies to match with a local wine..wish I was there right now!
Reservations are a must as this place is busy.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ReenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food, do not worry about eating on the terrace upstairs,try to grab a table downstairs where the open kitchen is.
They work like clockwork it’s just like a show.
What a team

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank matchoftheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our guide recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. The fish was caught that day and grilled over coals. We had the fish and grilled vegetables accompanied by a crisp white wine from the island. Absolutely delicious. We chose the chocolate orange cake for dessert and it was devine. Our waiter, Mateo, was exceptional, explaining the Croatian words and traditions and providing prompt service. It was lovely sitting on the terrace overlooking Mario Polo’s home. Such a wonderful experience and such delicious fresh fish.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank DebbieBest1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I dined here on the second night of a nine stay on Korcula Island.We sampled the local cheese and ham for our starters with some good bread followed by a 400g Seabass for my wife and prawn risotto for myself.We shared a delicious dessert and a very good bottle of white wine and for this we paid 889kn(£111).
We dined outside on heir roof terrace watching the light fade and the illumination of the cathedral tower increase as the night drew on,all very charming.Couldn't fault it but as with all the up market restaurants in the old town you don't quite feel that you got value for money!!My wife thinks I'm Victor Meldrew and maybe I am!!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Adio Mare also viewed

Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Zrnovo, Korcula Town
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 

Been to Konoba Adio Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing