We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and central”
Review of Maria's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maria's Place
Ranked #7 of 39 Korcula Island B&B and Inns
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious and central”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

In the heart of Korcula, just 5-minutes walk from the Dubrovnik ferry stop is Maria's Place. We were welcomed with open arms to a good size double room and made to feel very welcome. All very clean and comfy.
The only slight negative is that you are above a street with a restaurant so it can be noisy if you head to bed early but otherwise perfect. Wifi, fridge, air con, kettle and complimentary large bottle of water all supplied.
Very happy with our stay here and it's perfect to really feel part of Korcula

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were travelling across Croatia at the end of September / beginning of October and booking our accommodation very late. I booked Maria's Place the day before we ended up in Korcula and didn't really know what to expect but liked the look of the price.

I phoned the number provided on my booking to let Maria know that we would be arriving late as we were coming in from Hvar. Maria came and met us at the catamaran, which was definitely a bonus and a lovely touch. We were also provided with a cup of tea and some biscuits whilst we sorted out the money for the room.

We were only staying one night but wish we were there for longer or that Maria's place was available everywhere we went in Croatia. This was the cheapest room we stayed in but one of the best. The rooms are located right in the old town of Korcula, basically next to the Cathedral. To some people the rooms may be considered basic but it had everything you needed and with the rooms all being very clean and the fact that they had free wifi and air conditioning, this was a huge bonus and not what I would expect for the price we paid. The rooms are located up a flight of stairs but they are well lit and there is no need to walk too far in the day if you don't want to as you are right in the old town.

I recommend this place to everyone I can and if I ever go back to Korcula, I will definitely stay here again. Maria was so helpful and pleasant and the location was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location is perfect, in the middle of the old town, close to everything. The owner was so sweet and helpfull! The rooms were simple but had everything we needed. Overall: a great stay, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, england
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We put this accommodation very late and, consequently, got an excellent price. The location is fantastic – right in the heart of the old town, a short walk from a couple of excellent swimming spots and very close to the departure point of the Krilo Jet to Hvar. The room was extremely comfortable, light and airy with a small balcony overlooking one of the old town alleys. Maria was a bundle of energy and made us feel very much at home. She offered us beer, juice or water on arrival… a welcoming touch. Some of the prices quoted online look very high, around 4 times what we paid but, with the right deal, this would definitely be my choice again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stopped over in Korcula for one night on the way from Hvar to Dubrovnik. Maria's Place is right in the heart of the old town, a two minute walk from the cathedral. The room was clean, relatively spacious and had a big bathroom attached to it. We had booked a larger room with a seating area but Maria had given this away to a family who had arrived earlier the same day. We ended up staying in a smaller room at a lower rate which was fine for us but would have been a nuisance had we required the bigger room. The free wifi only worked in the common area and not in the room. Korcula has a pleasant old town but is quite compact and only kept us occupied for about half a day.

We had difficulty locating the place but the manager of a cafe near the cathedral called Maria for us who then came to collect us a few minutes later.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Marias place is on the 2nd floor (no lift) right at the heart of korcula's old town. It's run by a lovely lady called Maria.

There is Internet access and very strong A/C in the rooms.

We felt like we got what we paid for, though I guess there will be a premium for living in the centre of town, hence the average rating for price. Overall pretty good, definetly met our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by Maria who was very welcoming.
Our room was light and airy with a balcony overlooking the narrow old town streets.
Ideally situated as you were right in the heart of korcula old town, a few minutes walk away from the nearest beach and a few minutes walk from the krilo jet departure point, very useful as our one to hvar left at 6 am!!
Restaurant tables spilling out into the narrow streets could have been a little noisy in the evening, but with the balcony door closed and the air conditioning on, I didn't hear anything.
Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIAKLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Korcula Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Korcula
Hotel Korcula
#5 of 30 in Korcula Island
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Aminess Lume Hotel
Aminess Lume Hotel
#1 of 1 in Smokvica
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guest House Korunic'
Guest House Korunic'
#4 of 21 in Korcula Town
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
M & J Central Suites
M & J Central Suites
#5 of 21 in Korcula Town
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Place

Property: Maria's Place
Address: Ul. Antuna Rozanovica, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Korcula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guesthouse is family run and we offer three ensuite double rooms in the old town. We are close to Marco Polo street, the main cathedral and we are right in the heart of the Korcula Town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Maria's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing