We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real country gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Konoba Mate

Konoba Mate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A real country gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We especially sought out this restaurant after reading all the reviews & were not disappointed. Called in early & though they were closed & having family time, the chef/owner was so pleasant & informative.

Our meal from starter to coffee was just delicious. Our starters of small omelette with wild asparagus & local cured ham drizzled with local olive oil was sublime. For main courses we had a Sea Field Home Made Pasta dish & a special Beef with Homemade Pasta dish. The first dish had prawns, dill, saffron & wafer thin courgettes in a creamy sauce. Seriously I could have licked the dish clean. The other main course had such a deep rich sauce & the beef was slow cooked & just fell off the fork it was so tender. An amazing array of flavours from the dishes.

The service was helpful but discreet at all times. We ordered the local red wine, a litre. The waiter suggested 500ml to start with & he was correct, it was enough. A lovely wine, slightly dry with a hint of cherries. Wish we could have bought some.

All in all a really pleasurable meal, friendly ambience & love the decor. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    37
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place great countryside food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Went in family ate 2 starters, 2 main(ravioli) and 1 dessert. All was great also the wine. Bill 265Kn. Very reasonable and great service. Surely will come back if on that road.

Helpful?
Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We went to this lovely restaurant today. It was like calling into a locals house for lunch. Beautiful home made food. The pasta dishes drunk with homegrown wine were delicious. Definitely worth the visit. We missed the bus back and the owners friend gave us a left back to Korcula Town. You couldn't ask for anything more!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Must visit" place on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

If you want to taste great local food this is the place to go to. Nice family owned restaurant offers interesting combination of some simple and basic ingredients prepared in such a way it makes you want more and more ;)

Helpful?
Thank Milena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novigrad, Croatia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Harmony foods from the island on their way.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

For the special atmosphere that provides a tavern Mate is largely credited small village Pupnat. Before dinner I recommend walking the narrow streets with gardens full of ripe and aromatic vegetables. A good meal is guaranteed, the desire for food is at its peak. Fish, meat or homemade pasta all perfectly harmonious and tasteful. The portions are just right with meat dishes. We ate pasta and portions are often too small. Prices are normal. During the summer, table reservation required. I can not wait to come back! lamb with peas is my favorite dish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArsenMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Mate also viewed

Zrnovo, Korcula Town
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 

Been to Konoba Mate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing