We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of ''FOR'' Bistro - CLOSED

''FOR'' Bistro
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
el cerrito, california
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

For all its attractiveness, Hvar is not easy to get to, because the place is on an island and one needs a boat to get there. This imparts somehow the cachet of exclusivity on this town. So the restaurants are all on the expensive side, as we found out as we scoped around. The average entree is usually over Kuna 100, even in the simplest looking eating establishments.

Surprisingly, we just stumbled on the “For” Bistro, in an alley one block away from the harbor walk, and well away from the main town square. They had outside seating in the narrow alleyway in front of the restaurant. Prices were about 20 - 30 % less than in the other places and both the food and the service were pretty good. We had a seafood pasta, a broiled squid dish (two large squids), a broiled seafood platter, salad, bread. For Kuna 150, we had a bottle of Bogdanusa white wine, which was a bit thin, very dry, and reasonably good, whatever that meant. The bill was a total of 430 Kunas or US$ 78 for the 4 of us, admittedly all small eaters. That place was a good find, and we'll be back there if we were ever to be in Hvar again.

For more information on Hvar, please go to http://travelswithhok.com/On_a_Slow_Boat_on_the_Adriatic/Entries/2014/6/17_II__Ports_of_Call.html

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    66
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just avarage”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The service was very good, and it all started well. We got a table outdoor and were placed in a bush extreamly close to the kitchen and heat pump. It was also quite claustrophobic, but i guess it was more comfortable inside.

It was the regular menu that you can find many places on Hvar.. and the prices was ok. The food had good quality, but had too much salt, so it was difficult to eat. It was also quite boring. Just a piece of meat, and you had to pay 20-30kn each for fries, sauce or other things.

Despite the good service, I will not visit this place again. It was not bad, but it is so many better places to go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good service”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Good food, OK wine. You get more than what you pay for

Service was excellent, very friendly and kind.

The mixed seafood plat was really good, strongly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Ida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a nice meal - veal escalopes with "For" potatoes - 75kn each. Good value and service compared to the more expensive "chic" restaurants..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cedartrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“No worth of money!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Risotto was not risotto. It was made of long rice. Cuttlefish was taken from freezer. home made noodles with prawns, well someone can live in noodle factory in asia. Prawns were also from freezer. Waitress agreed all these.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aatu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ''FOR'' Bistro also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing