We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Green Lizard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Lizard
Ranked #102 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Reviewed June 29, 2012

6 of us shared a dorm in green lizard and it was excellent. The faceilities were good, the staff were very helpful and really nice. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for The Green Lizard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Myself and five other boys recently stayed at The Green Lizard on Hvar Island in mid-June. The hostel itself is located a short walk from the Pier and main town (5 minutes) perched on the side of a hill providing the excellent outdoor facilities with stunning views of the ocean and nearby islands. The staff were knowledgable, approachable and very friendly. I would like to particularly thank Brittany and Marinko who were kind enough to help one of my friends get home after having a few too many drinks. It's a very relaxed hostel with beautiful outdoor facilities perfect for sharing a few drinks with fellow travellers before heading down into Hvar to experience it's incredible night life.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobPearson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The staff at Green Lizard were awesome. Our room was very clean, and we were given clean sheets and towels upon arrival. My only complaint was that the wifi came in and out which was very frustrating. However, the staff tried to help as much as possible, and even let my friend use their ethernet cord when he had an interview.

Room Tip: we had the balcony room and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our stay there was short but sweet. The staff was always ready to help and also a lot of fun to hang out with. But dudes, fix your router! :D

Room Tip: Book in advance and get a room upstairs if you want a quieter stay.
Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank MFPimenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Amazing staff, lovely hostel with an outdoor kitchen and parties in town every night if you want which was great as we went for the island party, definitely recommended!
Aidan, Niall and Mike

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidanlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Green Lizard, although a nice hostel to stay at, didn't once clean our room/bathroom, or change our towels or sheets for the 5 days we were there. The female event coordinator that works there's is the rudest person ever!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmB.Euro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenlizardhvar, Owner at The Green Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. We value our guests' opinions, and we are always available to address any issues should they arise.

We have received nothing but positive feedback about the girl who is in charge of events, so this review comes as a great surprise to us. The event co- ordinatar is perceived as a positive, outgoing and welcoming person, who goes out of her way to make people feel welcome. We are sorry if you had an alternative experience.

To further address your concerns, we assure you that our private toilets are checked daily, and our common toilets are cleaned multiple times daily. We change the sheets and towels after each guests, although we are more than happy to replace them upon requests, or should the guest be staying on a long-term basis.

Again, this comes as a great surprise to us. We are sorry that you had a less than favorable experience at Green Lizard.

Green Lizard staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I loved green lizard. It was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. It had an outdoor kitchen. It's close to town if you want to party, and it has bean bags if you just want to relax. the only issue was the wifi. It would cut out all the time and it was slow. Hopefully they replace the router soon. 10/10 if the Internet worked. Definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesmcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Skansi
Villa Skansi
#4 of 169 in Hvar
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Youth Hostel Villa Marija
0.3 mi away
The White Rabbit Hostel
The White Rabbit Hostel
#14 of 169 in Hvar
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Marinero
Hostel Marinero
#34 of 169 in Hvar
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Milton Hvar
Villa Milton Hvar
#19 of 51 in Hvar
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
House Kokolo
House Kokolo
#21 of 51 in Hvar
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Lizard

Address: Ulica Domovinskog Rata 13, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range: $27 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Lizard is a truly relaxed hostel, with outdoor kitchen & sea view terrace, garden with bean bags, hammocks and chill-out music. It's a modern hostel with central location, fun and friendly staff and free Wi-Fi in rooms and communal areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Lizard Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing