We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of The Green Lizard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Lizard
Ranked #44 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Been here two nights in August 2009.

It is a very neat hostel, with very friendly staff. A hostel in the true sense of it without the, sometimes, nasty and dirty surprises.

Nevertheless, you shall not forget that it is a hostel in one of the most classy islands of Croatia. Bottom line, it's worth the while if you want to keep tour budget low.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCN_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenlizardhvar, Owner at The Green Lizard, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hi MCN_1, thanks for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and that our staff was friendly. Hope to see you here again, so you can enjoy "the most classy island of Croatia" as you said. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
14
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

really fun hostel with lots of young travellers - mainly aussies! - all up for a good night out.
the fan didnt provide much air conditioning, but the rooms were clean and nice enough, good showers although they did run out of hot water most days if you were last to shower.
the cooking areas a bit simple and when busy isnt really enough for everyone to use but it was still a great place to meet lots of people so not really a problem. definitely a good place to stay if your up for meeting people and going out!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylucy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We promised when we left that we would translate our enjoyment there into a goodreview so here it is- the atmosphere of the place was great, there was a simple outdoor cooking area, two chill out sections (very comfortable bean bags and hammock one side) the rooms were clean and standard dorms. there were lockers. Diane was fantastic and made everyone welcome and included all people (if they wanted) ingoing out which was particuarly good for small groups and lone travellers. We named the dog Doris whilst we were there- so go say hi!
A brilliant hostel, and hvar- a beautiful place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Green lizard hostel is clean, fun and has an excellent atmosphere. Really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee_daniel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar Island, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Green Lizard is the best hostel we have stayed at in our month of travelling. The ladies who run the hostel are super friendly and helpful, and may even go out on the town with you! There is an outdoor kitchen that makes you feel that going out for food would be utterly stupid, since the kitchen, with its terrace, overlooks the harbour, and there are great sunsets. Socializing, meeting other travellers, and partying are all very easy and fun to do here! GREAT hostel!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha_overduin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2011

this is one of the best hostels I stayed in. The owner Vanessa is so friendly. The rooms are clean. You can cook and eat outside, different cozy places to sit and enjoy the sea view. It's also a good place to meet other travellers. You really feel welcome here, I think the best place to stay if you visit Hvar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loontje34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I'm really surprised at some of the negative comments as we LOVED our 2 night stay here. Understandably we came in a quite time but we had amazing weather and the owner of the hotel spent a long time with us, telling us about the island, where to go, recommendations of local restaurants (Dalmatina's = best meal in Croatia). She was clearly busy setting up the hostel for summer and you could tell she was working to the bone to make it a great place.
The room was quiet and clean and while it is a little way to walk back to the hostel, it was agreat way to walk off all the great seafood and icecream!
A great little place and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luibren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
0.1 mi away
Villa Skansi
Villa Skansi
#2 of 164 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Youth Hostel Villa Marija
0.3 mi away
The White Rabbit Hostel
The White Rabbit Hostel
#12 of 164 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teo Petric
Teo Petric
#5 of 49 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Lizard

Property: The Green Lizard
Address: Ulica Domovinskog Rata 13, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Lizard is a truly relaxed hostel, with outdoor kitchen & sea view terrace, garden with bean bags, hammocks and chill-out music. It's a modern hostel with central location, fun and friendly staff and free Wi-Fi in rooms and communal areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Green Lizard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Lizard Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing