We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful - stay here if you like rude staff, a VERY noisy location and urine on the bedsheets” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Nora Hvar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Nora Hvar
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Dreadful – stay here if you like rude staff, a VERY noisy location and urine on the bedsheets”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was a disaster from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. I think it must have come under new ownership since last year.

We had problems finding the hotel on arrival. The “location” section of their website is not very detailed and doesn’t tell you how to reach the hotel once you arrive in the old town. The phone number on their website is a phone/fax number so we had to ring a couple of times before anyone decided it wasn’t a fax and to pick up the phone. When we did manage to speak to someone, they came to collect us – 15 minutes later, after heading off in completely the wrong direction, even though we told her where we were (actually only about 30 seconds away from the hotel!)

When we did finally arrive, the hotel owner’s daughter (as we later found out) showed us to our room, with a quick wave of her hand towards the dining room and a fleeting “breakfast is through there”. We had to ask the serving times and no other aspects of the hotel were explained to us, we didn’t know who this woman was and she simply left us in the room, which also contained no written information about the hotel. The air conditioning unit had been left on a high heat setting, so the room was boiling hot. We had to open all of the windows and after 15 minutes of trying to work out how to get cool air, we gave up and turned the unit off altogether. We then tried to get the satellite tv to work – again spending a substantial amount of time on this, trying to work out how to switch between digital and analogue and which tv channels were which, before giving up. Inside the mini bar was one mini bottle of red wine and one of white. I had to go to find the owner’s daughter (in the basement kitchen) at around midnight to ask for some water.

The next morning, we woke up at 5.45am to the sound of the church bells (the church is next door to the hotel). It was not just a few rings – they went on for some time. At the same time. Every morning. It also didn’t help that one of the windows inexplicably did not have a blind. We then spent yet more time trying to work the shower contraption (see photos from previous reviews!). The water pressure was terrible so the only part of the contraption which was of any use was the normal shower head, the jets did not work at all. The shower itself was practically hanging of the wall, as was the shelf. There was one pair of slippers in the cupboard. There was no hairdryer. There was no coffee maker or phone. The bedding was old and cheap - throughout our stay we had anchors, stripes and animals on our duvet covers. It was bobbled and very old and faded – think 12 year old child’s bedroom in the 1970s.

As a previous reviewer said, there was not wi-fi in every room and the “guest internet” did not work. We reported this but they didn’t do anything about it so we had no access to the internet throughout our stay. We weren’t able to eat in the restaurant as it was full of the owner’s friends chain-smoking.

After breakfast (which is very good – probably the only saving grace of this hotel), we asked to move rooms. We also by chance found the receptionist and asked for some maps and information about the town/island (the receptionist is there from 1pm onwards, we found out later. But again, no-one gave us this information. We didn't know who to go to for help and had to go to the tourist office in town a few days later, when we couldn't find anyone at the hotel to speak with about our ferry home).

Our second room was better, although (like the first room) dark, and two of our lights didn’t work (we mentioned this but nothing was done about it). There was a socket for a second main light in the ceiling, but they hadn’t ftted one. Bits of the skirting board were falling off but at least the shower wasn’t coming away from the wall. We asked for drinks in our mini bar, and instructions on the air conditioning and tv. There were no slippers, soap or shower gel so we moved these across from the first room ourselves, along with the rest of our luggage.

The next night I also got very little sleep. Every time I turned over I smelt urine on the edge of the bedsheets on my side. We were later told there were no animals at the hotel and they couldn't understand what had happened, but the owner’s daughter had collected us the night before with a Rhodesian Ridgeback dog, which came with us into the hotel and tried to come with us into our bedroom. I suspect the dog either accessed the room and urinated on the bedsheets, or it/another animal had done so perhaps when the washing was hanging out to dry. We asked that our bedding was changed.

The next day we returned to the hotel around 5.30pm. Our bed had been stripped and clean sheets left in the room. So we made the bed ourselves although the duvet was still missing. We went to find the owner’s daughter, who said that the washing machines had been busy all day (although it was off-season and we were the only guests, so I’m not sure why we couldn’t have had another room’s duvet). I am 6 months pregnant and so we asked for some blankets in the meantime so we could have a nap. These were provided and we were told that she would bring a duvet to the room later. This never happened and we ended up sleeping the night under a small blanket – we were both cold and uncomfortable all night.

We spoke to the receptionist about our problems the next day and said that we weren’t happy to pay full price. I think we were offered 30 Euros off. We said this wasn’t good enough and we were offered 100 Euros off the total cost of our 5 night stay.

On the fourth night we were kept awake by a guest continually slamming the door to the kitchen/restaurant at around 11pm/midnight. The hotel really is very noisy and you can hear everything, although this incident actually wasn't directly the hotel's fault.

On the last night the owner was entertaining some of his friends in the restaurant right below our room all evening. We waited until about 11pm which we thought was a reasonable time for things to wind down, considering it is a hotel with paying guests. My partner then went downstairs into the restaurant to ask the owner if he would mind keeping the noise down (there was lots of laughing/talking, banging fists on tables and throwing things around in the kitchen). The owner shrugged his shoulders and asked what he was meant to do, he had “guests”! This really was the last straw. We gave them another 30 minutes to quieten down/leave, at which point I walked out onto our balcony in my pyjamas and screamed at them that I was 6 months pregnant and hadn't slept all holiday, we had asked them once politely and I would be calling the police unless they kept the noise down. One of them asked who I was (very odd, considering I was in my night gear hollering out of a guest room's balcony in English in the middle of the night). Funnily enough, this seemed to work and they all left the premises without any further ado!

We left the next day at 7am. We were meant to be met by someone to help us with our luggage and so we didn’t have to walk across town from the hotel’s car park to return the key. No-one turned up.

All in all, a terrible stay. Very noisy and disorganised. No care or attention is given to guests. The price they are charging for the rooms which are falling apart is a joke. The breakfast was great although the bedsheets with urine on them make me question the hotel and kitchen’s overall hygiene standards.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    54
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
130
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Absolutely loved this charming little hotel...highly recommend it and we would definitely stay again.
All staff were happy, friendly and very helpful, nothing was a problem.
Free internet...computer for guests to use in reception area

It was once a 14th Century Palace..Bazzari Family, now simply converted into a 12 room 4*Hotel.

Just up a few steps off the main large square, (Sv.Stjepan) very quiet...
..nice not being right where the ferry's dock and all the large pleasure boats....though, lovely to sit and have coffee and watch the world go by, but we were happy not to be staying right on the water front

Villa Nora..We stayed in room #12 it was huge...king size bed,1 1/2 bathrooms,toiletries, shower, hairdryer... very comfortable and extremely, sparkling clean..had a sweet little balcony..2nd floor...no lifts.

Wonderful delicious breakfast, cooked, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, pasteries plus cold meats etc..and good coffee !

Excellent restaurants nearby: e.g.
Restaurant Luna ...sit up on the roof terrace

Park Restaurant... there is a wonderful young waiter called David who works there during the off season..

DVA Ribara.... great night view of Hvar Town..looking back across the harbour.

  • Liked — Location and the huge room #12
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

We stayed at the Villa Nora for two nights in early October, the beginning of the off-season in Hvar.

We selected Villa Nora after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly, and our room -- a junior suite with balcony -- was amazing and a good value for Hvar, which tended to be expensive in comparison to other cities along the Croatian coast.

As other reviewers have said, breakfast was simply amazing. It is served in the restaurant at the table -- no icky buffets here -- and includes rolls, bread, jam, meats, yogurt, juice, fresh fruits, coffee, tea and even eggs are offered.

We also ate dinner in the restaurant one evening, and while it was expensive, the prices were comparable to elsewhere on the island. Being on the coast, seafood was of course the specialty and we were offered a tray displaying that day's catch to select our fish from. The appetizers and salads were nothing notable, but the fresh fish was delectable and worth the price. Service was wonderful, although we were among only one or two tables in the restaurant during our long meal. (Most restaurants appeared to empty or close to it at night during the time we were there, with the exception of a few cafes on the main square. Some bars had also closed the previous night for the season.)

Our room was modern and enormous, with a comfortable bed, couch and desk, a tv and stereo system and mini-bar. There was a large balcony outside our door which overlooked the restaurant courtyard. It was quiet while we were there, but again it was the low-season.

The hotel was very easy to find and very convenient coming from the bus drop off for the ferry line.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Hotel Villa Nora is a small hotel just a few steps away from the center of attractions in the historic section of Hvar Town. It is close by the activity but in a quiet area. Our room was spacious and newly remodeled and furnished. It had premium linens in sunny colors, a wide flat screen TV, nice bathroom albeit with one of those tiny corner plastic walled showers, which often leak onto the floors as this one did.

The staff was very helpful, especially Mila. The hotel provides a free laptop computer in the lobby with fast Internet, which was very helpful except it routinely lost connectivity. The manager was a bit indifferent to that and another small issue but it did not spoil our enjoyment. The breakfasts were among the best we had anywhere and Mila went out of her way to make sure all was just right. She even offered to cook eggs, etc if we wanted more than the sumptuous spread that was standard. I would highly recommend the Hotel Villa Nora to others.

We, however, were very disappointed with the hotel’s Restaurant Lucullus, which occupies the ground floor. The hotel website waxes enthusiastic about its owner-chef and the excellent dinners served featuring traditional specialties: goat with potatoes cooked in brick oven, cheese with cappers and olive oil, carpaccio with fish, soup of langouste, shells. Unfortunately what is not mentioned is the chef is not cooking all year long. We were served a mediocre and very over-salted meals, from a confusing but limited menu. Nothing remotely approximated the web site description of an upscale experience. The food was over-priced considering its mediocre quality. Moreover, the restaurant has a TV on constantly on which the idle and off-duty staff watch their favorite shows while smoking up a storm. Think loud TV and lots of second hand smoke in a rather small place.

Maybe the food is great when the chef is cooking, but one would think some remnant of that cuisine would remain when he was absent. But not so. Unfortunately, we had been enticed by the management to accept a package, which included two dinners, but outrageously they neglected to inform us the chef would be absent and the food’s quality would be poor, or maybe it is just that poor all the time.

Avoid Lucullus restaurant like the plague. Hvar has many truly excellent restaurants which fulfill their promise of good dining, especially the highly creative, delicious gourmet food at the beautiful Yaska restaurant just a few doors away from the hotel on the same narrow walkway.

  • Liked — Quality furnishings, location and staff
  • Disliked — Sold a package with gourmet meals yet the chef was gone and food was poor.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights in early October 2008. Hvar and Villa Nora were the highlight of our 10 days in Croatia. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were super large. The showers with the 4 head body sprays were also a delight. The breakfast is AMAZING and the dinners were among the best we had in all of Croatia. Book with confidence. The hotel offers amazing value for the money.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff & quality of food
  • Disliked — the property smelled like smoke often because they allow it in the rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

Set right in the middle of the old town, this recently restored palace is a true gem. No penny was pinched in its renovation, from the terracota tiles to hardwood floors to nickel-and-brass bathroom fixtures. The rooms are enormous, many with balconies (alas, no sea views!). Breakfast is more than you can eat, including yoghurt, eggs as you like them, salami and other meats, fresh fruit, and endless coffee and juice. And, as if all that was not enough, the staff are truly lovely. A gem.

  • Liked — Aesthetics, charm, quality of restoration, beauty
  • Disliked — That I had to leave.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WolaWola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

The service in helping organising our dates was exceptional (we changed dates a few times) and we were promptly picked up at Stari Grad by a jubilant Stepjko for the drive to Hvar Town.

Our luggage was seamlessly transferred to the hotel, amidst the alleyways of the old town, and we followed.

Our room was to accommodate 4 of us - 2 adults and our 2 children (ages 13 and 6) . It was spacious enough, a little dark but clean. The shower contraption was interesting - very sensitive and very precarious - unfortuntely there was no bath.

The hotel felt like a house - charming in someways, but it did lack some basic amenities such as town maps and general information.

Breakfast was fabulous - with fruit, eggs, breads, cheeses and meats brought to the table by the friendly Mila.

The aligned restaurant Luccilus - is very popular and is managed by a character chef - a big man, who wanders around in a night shift and nightcap, talking to his dinner guests. Great food - we ate in the restaurant one of the nights. The service wasn't good, and any attention is focussed towards the locals and italians . However, worth a visit - for the atmosphere and the excellent food.

Unfortunately our room was directly above the restaurant terrace, and the noise levels went on to well early in the morning. Somehow , we did sleep well enough.

Villa Nora is charming, although lacks the "boutique" type hotel that we were hoping, considering the cost per night. Perhaps not ideal for a family , but great if you are one of the late night owls. Villa Nora isn't a secluded quiet hotel. Hvar wasn't our favourite place in Croatia - very touristic, and a touch commerial and overpriced in a lot of places compared with some of Croatia's other islands which are quiter, and less commercial.

However , Villa Nora was a good find.

  • Disliked — The room above the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaCBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#5 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nora Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nora Hvar

Property: Villa Nora Hvar
Address: Petra Hektorovica, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nora Hvar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nora Hvar is a new hotel situated in the middle of Hvar old town. The ancient Palace, built in the 14th century, once the rich and magnificent residence of the aristocratic family Gazzari, has been now completely restored as the elegant and refined Hotel Villa Nora, one of the most beautiful in Dalmatia. Villa Nora is located in the city center, next to the main square - the largest square in Dalmatia, a 2 minute walk from the harbor and the bus station, close to famous restaurants, shops, vibrant nightlife and all major attractions and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Nora Hvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nora Hvar Hotel Hvar
Hotel Nora Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing