We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Nora..Fantastic Find”
Review of Villa Nora Hvar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Nora Hvar
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Villa Nora..Fantastic Find”
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Absolutely loved this charming little hotel...highly recommend it and we would definitely stay again.
All staff were happy, friendly and very helpful, nothing was a problem.
Free internet...computer for guests to use in reception area

It was once a 14th Century Palace..Bazzari Family, now simply converted into a 12 room 4*Hotel.

Just up a few steps off the main large square, (Sv.Stjepan) very quiet...
..nice not being right where the ferry's dock and all the large pleasure boats....though, lovely to sit and have coffee and watch the world go by, but we were happy not to be staying right on the water front

Villa Nora..We stayed in room #12 it was huge...king size bed,1 1/2 bathrooms,toiletries, shower, hairdryer... very comfortable and extremely, sparkling clean..had a sweet little balcony..2nd floor...no lifts.

Wonderful delicious breakfast, cooked, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, pasteries plus cold meats etc..and good coffee !

Excellent restaurants nearby: e.g.
Restaurant Luna ...sit up on the roof terrace

Park Restaurant... there is a wonderful young waiter called David who works there during the off season..

DVA Ribara.... great night view of Hvar Town..looking back across the harbour.

  • Liked — Location and the huge room #12
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    56
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
147
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We stayed at the Villa Nora for two nights in early October, the beginning of the off-season in Hvar.

We selected Villa Nora after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly, and our room -- a junior suite with balcony -- was amazing and a good value for Hvar, which tended to be expensive in comparison to other cities along the Croatian coast.

As other reviewers have said, breakfast was simply amazing. It is served in the restaurant at the table -- no icky buffets here -- and includes rolls, bread, jam, meats, yogurt, juice, fresh fruits, coffee, tea and even eggs are offered.

We also ate dinner in the restaurant one evening, and while it was expensive, the prices were comparable to elsewhere on the island. Being on the coast, seafood was of course the specialty and we were offered a tray displaying that day's catch to select our fish from. The appetizers and salads were nothing notable, but the fresh fish was delectable and worth the price. Service was wonderful, although we were among only one or two tables in the restaurant during our long meal. (Most restaurants appeared to empty or close to it at night during the time we were there, with the exception of a few cafes on the main square. Some bars had also closed the previous night for the season.)

Our room was modern and enormous, with a comfortable bed, couch and desk, a tv and stereo system and mini-bar. There was a large balcony outside our door which overlooked the restaurant courtyard. It was quiet while we were there, but again it was the low-season.

The hotel was very easy to find and very convenient coming from the bus drop off for the ferry line.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Hotel Villa Nora is a small hotel just a few steps away from the center of attractions in the historic section of Hvar Town. It is close by the activity but in a quiet area. Our room was spacious and newly remodeled and furnished. It had premium linens in sunny colors, a wide flat screen TV, nice bathroom albeit with one of those tiny corner plastic walled showers, which often leak onto the floors as this one did.

The staff was very helpful, especially Mila. The hotel provides a free laptop computer in the lobby with fast Internet, which was very helpful except it routinely lost connectivity. The manager was a bit indifferent to that and another small issue but it did not spoil our enjoyment. The breakfasts were among the best we had anywhere and Mila went out of her way to make sure all was just right. She even offered to cook eggs, etc if we wanted more than the sumptuous spread that was standard. I would highly recommend the Hotel Villa Nora to others.

We, however, were very disappointed with the hotel’s Restaurant Lucullus, which occupies the ground floor. The hotel website waxes enthusiastic about its owner-chef and the excellent dinners served featuring traditional specialties: goat with potatoes cooked in brick oven, cheese with cappers and olive oil, carpaccio with fish, soup of langouste, shells. Unfortunately what is not mentioned is the chef is not cooking all year long. We were served a mediocre and very over-salted meals, from a confusing but limited menu. Nothing remotely approximated the web site description of an upscale experience. The food was over-priced considering its mediocre quality. Moreover, the restaurant has a TV on constantly on which the idle and off-duty staff watch their favorite shows while smoking up a storm. Think loud TV and lots of second hand smoke in a rather small place.

Maybe the food is great when the chef is cooking, but one would think some remnant of that cuisine would remain when he was absent. But not so. Unfortunately, we had been enticed by the management to accept a package, which included two dinners, but outrageously they neglected to inform us the chef would be absent and the food’s quality would be poor, or maybe it is just that poor all the time.

Avoid Lucullus restaurant like the plague. Hvar has many truly excellent restaurants which fulfill their promise of good dining, especially the highly creative, delicious gourmet food at the beautiful Yaska restaurant just a few doors away from the hotel on the same narrow walkway.

  • Liked — Quality furnishings, location and staff
  • Disliked — Sold a package with gourmet meals yet the chef was gone and food was poor.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights in early October 2008. Hvar and Villa Nora were the highlight of our 10 days in Croatia. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were super large. The showers with the 4 head body sprays were also a delight. The breakfast is AMAZING and the dinners were among the best we had in all of Croatia. Book with confidence. The hotel offers amazing value for the money.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff & quality of food
  • Disliked — the property smelled like smoke often because they allow it in the rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Set right in the middle of the old town, this recently restored palace is a true gem. No penny was pinched in its renovation, from the terracota tiles to hardwood floors to nickel-and-brass bathroom fixtures. The rooms are enormous, many with balconies (alas, no sea views!). Breakfast is more than you can eat, including yoghurt, eggs as you like them, salami and other meats, fresh fruit, and endless coffee and juice. And, as if all that was not enough, the staff are truly lovely. A gem.

  • Liked — Aesthetics, charm, quality of restoration, beauty
  • Disliked — That I had to leave.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WolaWola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The service in helping organising our dates was exceptional (we changed dates a few times) and we were promptly picked up at Stari Grad by a jubilant Stepjko for the drive to Hvar Town.

Our luggage was seamlessly transferred to the hotel, amidst the alleyways of the old town, and we followed.

Our room was to accommodate 4 of us - 2 adults and our 2 children (ages 13 and 6) . It was spacious enough, a little dark but clean. The shower contraption was interesting - very sensitive and very precarious - unfortuntely there was no bath.

The hotel felt like a house - charming in someways, but it did lack some basic amenities such as town maps and general information.

Breakfast was fabulous - with fruit, eggs, breads, cheeses and meats brought to the table by the friendly Mila.

The aligned restaurant Luccilus - is very popular and is managed by a character chef - a big man, who wanders around in a night shift and nightcap, talking to his dinner guests. Great food - we ate in the restaurant one of the nights. The service wasn't good, and any attention is focussed towards the locals and italians . However, worth a visit - for the atmosphere and the excellent food.

Unfortunately our room was directly above the restaurant terrace, and the noise levels went on to well early in the morning. Somehow , we did sleep well enough.

Villa Nora is charming, although lacks the "boutique" type hotel that we were hoping, considering the cost per night. Perhaps not ideal for a family , but great if you are one of the late night owls. Villa Nora isn't a secluded quiet hotel. Hvar wasn't our favourite place in Croatia - very touristic, and a touch commerial and overpriced in a lot of places compared with some of Croatia's other islands which are quiter, and less commercial.

However , Villa Nora was a good find.

  • Disliked — The room above the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaCBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We have just returned from a family holiday in Croatia with two nights in the Villa Nora. It is a beautiful old building right in the centre of Hvar Town with slightly dark, old fashioned decor but immaculately clean and comfortable with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. We had two rooms, one suite at the top and a double on the first floor which was very attractive but you needed to keep the windows shut at night if you did not want to hear every passing conversation in the beautiful cobbled street below. The upstairs room was much quieter. Breakfast was fantastic, fresh fruit, cheese and local meats and eggs if required. The staff were faultlessly helpful and friendly - very efficient and always willing to help with any queries. Hvar appealed completely to everyone from the cocktail bar seeking teenagers to the monument seeking parents. We would absolutely return - sadly will probably have to wait until next year.

  • Liked — Lovely location, comfortable room and excellent staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Widecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nora Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nora Hvar

Property: Villa Nora Hvar
Address: Petra Hektorovica, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nora Hvar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nora Hvar is a new hotel situated in the middle of Hvar old town. The ancient Palace, built in the 14th century, once the rich and magnificent residence of the aristocratic family Gazzari, has been now completely restored as the elegant and refined Hotel Villa Nora, one of the most beautiful in Dalmatia. Villa Nora is located in the city center, next to the main square - the largest square in Dalmatia, a 2 minute walk from the harbor and the bus station, close to famous restaurants, shops, vibrant nightlife and all major attractions and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Nora Hvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nora Hvar Hotel Hvar
Hotel Nora Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing