We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$412
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$302
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pansion Dela(Hvar)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Villa Zorana(Hvar)(Great Value!)
$55
$34
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of $70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$338
$219
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
62
22
8
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
22
8
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxiwhite villapine treescrystal clear waterkitchen facilitiesamazing viewscactusesyachtislandboataccommodationretreatterracetaxisprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 112 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I have only just taken my responsibility as a contributor to Trip advisor seriously enough to register, so I can not share my experiences.

We booked this place for a week two years ago, and we still refer to it as disaster island.

The concept sounds great, but my memories are of miserable times on the rocks (rather than beach), of being chased by swarms of wasps everywhere from sun up to sun down, of actually quite good food. Of boiling heat in our room (not one with airconditioning) of the gardens being just scubby undergrowth and cactuses, of everything just being quite expensive "because it is on the island".

The staff were happy and friendly, but just seemed to take it all in their stride, and not actually care that much about what the guests were experiencing.

Much of the advice they gave us didn't actually work out .... "don't worry, you can catch a ferry"... "our boat will be there to pick you up".... " yes you can rent a sailing boat, when you are here" ....

Sadly a huge disapointment - even if it has taken me two years to get around to saying it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CrecentMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Spent 6 nights staying here as part of a longer trip to Croatia, and while we didn't have any major issues with any aspects of Palmizana, it just wasn't remarkable enough to warrant the fairly hefty bill.

Our accommodation was individual and comfortable, although more rustic than plush - with local art on the walls and quirky features. We stayed in Villa 'Red', which was spacious - with a decent sized living area, small bathroom, mezzanine bedroom and large shady terrace. It's not self-catering, so no kitchen facilities apart from sink and kettle. It was cleaned thoroughly every day - usually by the time we had returned from breakfast.

The villas are all nestled amongst trees on the estate, and very well placed so that most are not overlooked - and without feeling too 'resort-y', which we liked. The restaurants are all close by, but again nicely tucked away within the trees. We were quite surprised (possibly by not reading up properly beforehand) by the fact that the island of S. Klement actually has a sizeable Marina and a good 7 or 8 independent restaurants - which offered good choice - although didn't help to keep prices low!

Service was great - Romina and her staff are always present, very friendly and helpful and very laid back. Whether breakfast, dinner or ad-hoc enquiries, there was always someone on hand to help. We rented a little motor boat for the day, and paid about £60 for the day - which seemed quite expensive.

We ate twice in the Palmizana restaurant - food was fresh, local, home cooked & very tasty - but quite pricey (although no more so than anywhere else on this island). Our meal at the sister restaurant 'Toto's' was equally good food but service was laughably slow - luckily we weren't too concerned and were recompensed with some extra wine. Breakfast at the Palmizana restaurant was always good with a decent selection of bread, jams, yoghurts, fruit & eggs every morning.

The private beach isn't great, but there are others you can wander to within a couple of kms. It's all pebble/ rock, which we were expecting, good tips on here to take shoes you can wear into the sea to avoid the sea urchins & spiky rocks. It definitely feels like an island that is best explored by boat, as you're a little limited on foot - a couple of paths taking you to the village of Vlaka where there are 2 restaurants, and another leading down to another bay, but otherwise fairly limited for a week's stay. It's definitely missing a swimming pool!

As we were staying slightly out of high season, we were caught out a couple of times trying to catch the taxi boat over to Hvar Island because it didn't turn up as advertised. The private taxi boats take a minimum of 4 people so we often had to wait until another 2 people turned up to make up the numbers - not greatly flexible, and pretty expensive at about £10 each for a return ticket, which mounts up when you're popping back and forwards a couple of times in the week.

Hvar Island is definitely where the action is, and in hindsight we would probably have stayed here instead and used as base for exploring - we ended up spending a fair amount just getting off the island. Unless you literally want to do nothing in fairly average surroundings, there's not enough to do here for a week - and it's not as pretty as some of the places we found in Croatia (of which there are lots!). We stayed at 5-star hotels in Split and Dubrovnik and paid roughly the same as we did here - we were looking for something different, and although it had some good bits, it just didn't feel like good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheGetawayGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at Palmižana on the Island of St Klement for 10 days in July 2009. We were 3 couples and 1 single ranging from 25 to 66 years old. We all thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it to anyone wanting a truly unique getaway!

First of all, the island is part of the Paklina archipelago and has no cars so it's very peaceful and you are completely surrounded by nature. The harbour is a 5 min walk from the resort and has a shop and a cool cocktail bar which we often frequented for late night drinks. You can get a water taxi to the Island of Hvar which takes just 10 minutes and being the most bustling and touristy island, you have the best of both worlds.

The accommodation is quirky and unique. We stayed in the Yellow, Green and Violet bungalows which were tastefully decorated in their said colours. Our accommodation was comfortable and clean but do not expect luxury - the amenities are basic and simple which suited us fine. Hot water can run out quickly so we got used to having quick showers but this wasn't a problem for us. The paths leading to the villas could do with more lighting and some fixing but again, when you are in such beautiful surroundings, little things like that didn't get to us.

Breakfast is served at Dagmar's - a beautiful art inspired building overlooking the marina. They offer a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and cooked eggs and ham done how you like. We had amazing dinners at Dagmar's and Toto's. The seafood and fresh fish was delicious and service was always good. Dagmar's do a delicious fish stew on the fire which my family couldn't have enough of. There is also meat and vegetarian options if you don't fancy seafood. We had drinks before dinner on our patio - we took our own and they provided ice and glasses with no problem and we would move onto dinner around 9pm.

The main beach of the resort is nothing special - it's small and busy so we didn't spend any time there but this wasn't a problem to us as we explored the island by foot and by boat and stumbled across beautiful excluded bays and beaches. They are all pebbled beaches so don't expect sand (anywhere on the Dalmatian coast for that matter). I advise you wear booties at all times to avoid the sea urchins. There is the small problem of litter thanks for the boats using the ocean as a litter bin but the beaches are cleaned up after every season apparently. We had super weather with clear skies and baking sunshine every day. It didn't rain once and the evenings were a pleasant temperature.

One day, we did a 1.5 hour hike to the fishing village of Vlaka. The paths aren't proper paths as such but are colour marked. It was very hot so we armed ourselves with water and wore suitable clothing and walking shoes. The island is full of aloe and rosemary so the scent is wonderful. We came across a magnificent crystal clear bay where we stopped for a swim to cool down. We then headed into the village and were amazed at the quaint houses and serenity of this sleepy little place. We visited the church and stopped for lunch at restaurant in the middle of nowhere called "Pansion". It is owned by a family who grow their own fruit and vegetables, run their own winery and the man of the house is a fisherman who catches the seafood daily. We shared the likes of octopus salad, seafood dip and cheeses with homemade bread and sampled their home made wine. No exaggeration, this was the best meal we had on the entire holiday - and the cheapest funny enough! The daughter who runs the restaurant spoke good English and was delightful to talk to. We didn't fancy walking back in the mid afternoon heat so she organised us a water taxi back to the resort. This definitely worth a visit!

We did two private boat tours while staying on the island. First one was to the Island of Brac where the town of Bol and the longest beach in Croatia were great to visit. The other was to Vis with stops at the Green Cave and the world famous Blue Cave on the Island of Biševo - all worth seeing. Just take sea sickness tablets if you suffer like me :)

Palmižana has been run by the Meneghello family for over 100 years so their passion and enthusiasm is definitely a warming attribute. All the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The one daughter, Tarin deals with the bookings and PR and was excellent in answering my e-mails efficiently. The other daughter, Romina runs the show and sorted out every request within minutes. Eva, the secretary was very good in organising our day excursions and answering all our questions. The waiters, Igor and Eva were fantastic and loads of fun and Mario was helpful too. The rooms are cleaned while you are at breakfast and fresh beach towels were provided when we asked.

After Palmižana, we went to Dubrovnik for a few days and we all just kept on saying - "We want to go back to Palmižana!". At first you may think it's a bit rough around the edges but once you get into the island way of life and take everything in, you won't regret this unforgettable and truly relaxing place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandstyle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

just got back from this hell hole on the first boat out!

only stayed 2 hours. i would solemnly advise that NO ONE go to this island.
its smelly, old and run down,
staff are rude. the beach is the size of a peanut and covered in rubbish and people.
the crickets gave me a headache after 2minutes and the accomadation looked like a health hazard.. i would have rather stayed in a mud hut in the sahara,
thankfully back in hvar, never to return!! hvar is amazing! palmizana is a big pile of steamy poop and a waste of money that you will never see again.
if u think this review is a joke.. go see for yourself...actually dont!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucyloo7Hvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

My husband booked a week in Palmizana as the second stop of our spectacular three week honeymoon. He figured it would make for a relaxing and somewhat restful break between Paris and Istanbul. He figured right. We had done a lot of research prior to arriving in Palmizana so we would know what to expect during our visit - expectations that were definitely exceeded. We stayed in Villa Orange and couldn't have been more pleased with the beautiful, comfortable accomodations that were made complete by an amazing terrace with a view of Palmizana Bay. Aside from a couple of day drips to Hvar (which I would highly recommend), we stayed on island. We enjoyed one incredible fresh meal after another. Romina, the owner, was always present and available to assist in any way she could. We rented a boat one day and found several private coves to swim and relax. Most of our time was spent at the beach sunning and swimming, eating and drinking fabulous Croatian wine. A kilo of fresh grilled shrimp for lunch became our daily ritual while sitting on the terrace at Toto's taking in the view of the Adriatic. I only hope that one day we can return to Palmizana -- one week wasn't enough!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ESRinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews