We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
63
23
8
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
23
8
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxiwhite villapine treescrystal clear waterkitchen facilitiesamazing viewscactusesyachtislandboataccommodationretreatterracetaxisprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 114 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We had our wedding reception and ceremony at Palmizana this September. The owners and staff did everything they could to make it a wonderful evening for us and our 50 guests. They took care of all the details, allowing us to relax and enjoy the day! The food was excellent - top quality ingredients, lovely dishes and generous portions! Beautiful location, amazing views, lovely gardens & decorations.

We can't recommend Palmizana highly enough to anyone looking for a location for a wedding in Croatia. All of our guests had a great week in Hvar in the lead up to the wedding. Such an easy place to relax and unwind. We stayed at Villa Meneghello (owned by the same family who run Palmizana) - a luxury villa which sleeps 12 and is much better value for money than any hotel - plenty of communal and private space, pool, outdoor entertaining areas, BBQ, excellent decor & artworks.

Some of our guests did stay in the accommodation over at Palmizana and said they loved it there and had a great time.

I don't usually get around to writing reviews but wanted to give credit where due!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ElspethSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I booked an 8 night stay at Palmizana for some much-needed relaxation, and we weren't disappointed in the slightest. The island on which the resort is built is absolutely beautiful, with pine forests, rocky shores and crystal clear seas all around. We had a fantastic stay here, exploring the island, relaxing on the beach and indulging in some of the freshest, tastiest meals we have ever found.

We were picked up by Tarin from Hvar (we had to ring the resort as he wasn't there at the alloted time, but Romina chased him up and he arrived shortly afterwards), and then Mario took us in his Land Rover to the resort - along a very narrow road!

We stayed in the Yellow bungalow, which, with a double room, bathroom and single room was ample for our needs. This bungalow also benefits from air con and a very large terrace, and although it is quite near the main restaurant, was quiet most of the time. We were supplied with plenty of towels and the room was cleaned regularly. There is no bath, just a shower, and this only has a bracket at about waist height. The flush on the loo is a little violent too, so it's best to put the lid down before flushing! Overall, the fittings and finish of the bungalow was not quite as perfect as they appeared on the website photos, but everything worked and was adequate and/or comfortable. Don't expect sea views though - although we were up on the hill above the bay, there were too many trees in front of us to see much.

Palmizana is by no means totally isolated - besides the two restaurants of the resort, there are another three strung around the cove, with the one next to Toto's on the beach making a fair amount of noise on the odd occasion. The marina is just a few minutes' walk away, on the other side of the island; there is another bar here, plus a shop and restaurant by the marina reception. None of this detracts from the relaxed atmosphere, but it did come as a bit of a surprise to us.

Palmizana beach is not very big and is a mixture of shingle and sand. It's best to get a sunbed (40 kuna a day) as there isn't much room to lay a towel down. Alternatively, you can walk around the cove to quieter spots on the rocks. If you're feeling more adventurous, there are other coves around the island that can be reached via rocky tracks (put your trainers on, it's tricky in flip flops) or by hiring a little motor boat or kayak. It's worth following the path to the village at the other end of the island (Vlaka) - follow the signs to Dioniz restaurant, which is also well worth popping into for lovely views from a rustic barn over olive groves and vineyards to the sea and the mountains on Vis beyond.

The island is visited by a lot of the yachty crowd, and many of these weigh anchor in Palmizana's bay instead of mooring up at the marina. The restaurant is therefore reguarly busy, but Romina will reserve a table for you unless you tell her otherwise. The food in the Palmizana restaurants is excellent, and we didn't feel the need to go elsewhere very much. The compulsory (but not included in the price) breakfast is a simple affair, with bread, croissants, fruit and yoghurt on offer, along with eggs, ham and cheese if you wish. Fruit juice and tea or coffee are also provided. We did find the local wasps to be a bit of a nuisance at breakfast and lunch, but they disappeared by sundown. The waiting staff were all very helpful and polite, and we felt gave excellent service.

We took a day trip to Hvar - we had planned to get the ferry from the marina, but ran into Mario who arranged for us to get a lift with a friend of his. We had some difficulty finding a boat to take us back though - the ferries didn't seem to be running at the times they said they would, and we ended up teaming up with another couple to get a water taxi back. They had bought a return ticket from a water taxi, but had no way of finding the same taxi to take them back, so ended up paying twice. Hvar is worth a visit, mainly for the citadel and a few good restaurants (Maconodo's was very good, closes at 2pm at lunchtime), but the shops are mainly full of touristy tat.

Overall, we were impressed with Palmizana - Romina clearly runs a tight ship, and was always available to answer queries (she was also able to get our ferry tickets back to Split for us). The island is truly enchanting, and teeming with a wide variety of plant and animal life - we spotted lizards, millipedes, a stick insect, sea urchins and heard many cicadas - and it's the only time I've ever been woken up by peacocks thudding about on the roof! I came away feeling that I had had a proper break from reality, a feeling that has intensified now that normal service has resumed.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kninki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

after a few days on the main island of hvar, it was great to be able to escape to the peaceful island of palmizana. bring shoes to swim with, as there are sea urchins everywhere. if you are lucky, you get to spot the yacht of one of the national team football players :).
the bungalows all have a unique design, are very clean and only stone throw away from the beach.
got to try out the restaurant toto's, run by the brother of Romina, who owns the hotel. It has excellent food and super-friendly waiting staff, that happily give out a run-down of life in croatia.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mostarbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We returned from Palmizana last week. I cannot say enough about the resort and would recommend it to anyone.

Highlights:

•Beautiful resort located on a stunning island off the bigger island of Hvar. What makes it unique is that the villas are not your garden variety classic euro bungalows but individual structures designed with care, and all tucked away among a gorgeous botanical garden.
•Villas are not flashy but very comfortable, well decorated, and with all the essentials – we did not have any problems with electricity or running water
•The resort is just above a little beach that was not crowded, it is very small but considering all of Croatia is very rocky we were just pleased to have some sand.
•The sea is a lovely temperature and crystal clear, I spent a lot of the days in the water! The resort hires out boats and has kayaks so you can explore the island from land or sea.
•The family that runs the resort is just lovely, and the staff could not be friendlier.
•Not sure if words can describe the quality of the food especially at Toto’s (the beach side restaurant); truly the freshest fish I have ever eaten. The current manager of Toto’s is a food fanatic and if you are prepared to let him choose your dinner you are onto a winner. The local red wine is also very good.

To summarize this is a perfect location for those who are looking for a villa like holiday but with hotel style service. If it is just sun, sea and sand that you are after with some good food thrown in Palmizana is the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SO7129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

You really have to visit it to fully understand how beautiful this island is. We stayed in the Menghello, Green Bungalow and it couldn't have suited us more. Basic but very clean and it had everything we needed. The beaches are perfect, the water is the colour of some sort of precious gem, the staff are excellent, laid back but very helpful and friendly. The food came in huge portions and was delicious, I had never tasted fish so fresh. It's so simple, easy going and peaceful on the island. I recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews