We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We had some difficulty finding the hotel in our car. You have to park at a sister hotel (Bodul) and then walk to the Riva and we did not know this. Also, it happened to be raining. They transported our luggage but it took a long time due to the rain. We contacted the manager and they made amends. Problems happen when you travel - but the staff and management here went out of their way to rectify the situation. They gave us a free dinner and bottle of wine.

The hotel is very trendy and in the absolute best place on the island.

If you are driving there, be sure to get specific instructions on where to park and how to get to the hotel.

Truly a first rate experience - all things considered.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunkyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 495 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2009

This hotel is very stylish, the staff is very friendly, thee food at the breakfast is good and there is a great choice. The bars and restaurants are worth visiting as they are the hot spot of the city. The rooms are very very small, but offer everything you need incl. free internet. Be aware that you are at the hotspot of the place. It might get loud outside, because the jet-set assembles there.... The gym is in the sister hotel Amfora, a ten minute walk away. But the gym has not got a great variety of machines and there is no shower. The spa is also in a sister hotel, Adriana, a five minute walk away. This is worth seeing. Ask you Ksenjia. Best treatment in years. I would book it again and again. If you have kids or want something silent. I'd recommend Amfora, but this will never reach the quality and style of riva.
We were unfortunate, it rained more or less the whole. Check weather before you book.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Only stayed one night here in early May,as we'd stayed at its sister hotel Amfora,we got a free upgrade to a sea view room,which was i nice gesture.Having stayed at Amfora for 3 nights,this couldnt be any more different,truley a boutique.Loved the style of the hotel,our room again abit on the small side was one of the funkiest hotel rooms ive ever had,with a large picture of James Dean above the bed.You cant really get a better locaion than this hotel,and the hotel bar and terrace at night where really cool,can only imagine how busy this place would get in peak seasons,but it was nice to chill with a cold bottle of Kalovacho.Overall this hotel takes some beating,and id advise anyone staying here to use Amfora and Adrianas facilities,so you get the best of both worlds,uber cool hotel,and a pool to use round the bay.Hopefully i ll be back in September!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snozzledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Having just come back from a four-night stay at the Riva, I would caution that whilst it's supposedly "Croatia's only boutique hotel" and has managed (although I'm not sure how) to get entry into Small Luxury Hotels of the World (I'll be taking their list with a pinch of salt in the future) you'll need to adjust your expectations (although not your wallet) in comparison to hotels in Europe if you decide to book here.

There are a few good things about the Riva:
1) Front of house staff are excellent
2) The view from the rooms is pretty
3) Breakfast is very nice
4) The free wireless is a very fast connection

Unfortunately, there are many more negative things:
1) The restaurant food is diabolical. We ate in the club one night (never again). My partner ordered the club burger, I had the salmon and shrimp tagliatelle. Both dishes arrived stone cold. We sent them back, only for them to arrive cold, again. My food was utterly tasteless and I sent it back (for a second time) uneaten. My partner's burger was of dubious quality. Despite the fact that we were the only people eating in the restaurant that evening (perhaps we should have taken that as a hint), the staff ignored us all evening, instead chatting amongst themselves. When we checked out I refused to pay for the meal; we were offered a 10% discount, and a rather tedious round of bargaining began until finally the hotel agreed to give us a 50% discount on the meal.
2) Whilst the room was perfectly nicely designed (if you haven't been to New York for the past fifteen years, you might even think it was of interesting design), it was absolutely tiny; so much so that the windows couldn't even be opened fully because they banged into the bed. The shower room was equally small - nowhere even to hang towels, so if you wanted a shower in the evening and the next morning, you'd be drying yourself with wet towels.
3) Housekeeping was of very average standard; on the first day our room wasn't touched, and it took two phone calls to reception, and nearly an hour, for anyone to materialise.
4) Decent coffee with breakfast was of extra charge at breakfast, which I find completely unacceptable for a supposedly four star hotel. We weren't told this, and when, on our first morning in a very busy breakfast room, we were presented with a bill for two lattes, our waiter then proceeded to have a rather loud and embarrassing conversation with us about how it took him a long time to make proper coffee and therefore we were expected to pay for it. We didn't, obviously.
5) For a four-star hotel there are scant additional amenities; beyond the bar and breakfast room, there is only the bar on the promenade at the front of the hotel.
6) The rooms have none of the extras one would expect of a boutique hotel anywhere in Europe - no stereo or ipod dock, no dvd player, no complimentary water.
7) The hotel is on the main thoroughfare on the harbour front, meaning that although it wasn't high-season, we were woken up in the middle of the night by drunken youths screeching outside the hotel. On one occasion, I phoned the front of house to ask them to request the people keep the noise down, only to find that he went out merely to laugh and joke with them rather than move them on. Additionally, all the rooms which face the harbour (ie with a decent view) are directly above the hotel's terrace bar, meaning that in high season, when the hotel and the bar were busy, guests would be kept awake by the noise. If you're planning to be out clubbing all night, that's fine, but if you want a decent night's sleep, you probably won't get one!
8) The whole place is overpriced; it has pretensions of being a world-class hotel, and the prices to go with it, but unfortunately not the service nor the style.

I am bemused as to how the Riva made it into the SLHW. By Croatian standards, it's probably one of the better hotels, but I certainly wouldn't pay to stay there again, or recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Room had a nice modern design, appealing to the eye but not functional. Had no privacy while using the toilet since the walls are glass. Windows must be shut to ensure passers by don’t get an eye full. Room was very small. Seating at the outside bar use modern designed furniture but there is no room to put feet except on the coffee table top. Pricing is high end scale but the employees lack an equivalent amount of attention to detail. Our servers did not frequent the table very often to ensure we were doing well. For dinner and breakfast, we experienced poor service. Meal prices are ridiculously expensive - average at a local restaurant is $50 for 2 while Riva was $190 for a similar meal. Free parking is a mile away or $20 local. Don’t expect help with the suitcases to the hotel front door. Riva does provide free wireless Internet. Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again. They are a high end want-a-be with low end service and poor room design. Stay away - there are better places for high end travels and definitely better values.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We arrived wearing backpacks and were given an upgrade - sea view with balcony. It was low season so they gave us a very late checkout too. We could use their sister hotel's pool too. The rooms are small, stylish and hilariously impractical but this is a wonderfully cool, must stay in hotel! Note - we stayed low season when the downstairs club wasn't open - I suspect it may be a little noisier in July and August when you probably wouldn't want that sea view...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank City_TripperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed at the Riva for 5 nights (was meant to be 4 but we extended because we loved it so much). As it was out of season we got a fantastic deal that included a meal in the restaurant and some spa treatments at the Adriana hotel - their sister hotel. On check-in we were upgraded to a junior suite which is always a big plus! The suite had two large windows over looking the harbour which meant that we could have breakfast watching the boats coming into dock.
All the staff that we had contact with were really nice; very friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. I even got given a blanket by the barman when I was sat outside and it was starting to get a bit chilly in the evening! The hotel itself was a lovely building which had been beautifully restored, and it was in a prime location - as the name suggests it is right on the harbour front.
I understand that Hvar gets very busy in peak season, but whilst we were there it was idyllic and we are already hoping to go back next year. I strongly recommend hiring yourself a little boat and exploring the islands just off Hvar - take a picnic and find a little cove all of your own!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Love_my_jollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel

Address: Obala Riva 27, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: $187 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the waterfront promenade in the heart of the medieval Hvar town, Riva, one of Croatia's trendiest boutique hotels, offers you the finest in Adriatic ambiance. Incorporating a beautiful 100-year-old building, Riva brings together the best of both worlds: old world charm and state of the art luxury. You'll find yourself at home in one of Riva's rooms featuring uniquely designed interiors, contemporary furnishings and an exceptional view of sunsets over the Paklinski Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hvar Yacht Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing