We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Good not great”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The only highlight of this hotel is location and the fact that there really aren't many other option in Hvar. If you get a room facing the water you get a great view but be aware that there is a popular outside bar right under the hotel so you will hear noise all night. This is easy to fix though because if you stay on the opposite side you won't hear any noise.

The biggest let down of the hotel is their concierge. They couldn't help me with one thing so don't rely on them for anything. Their only answer was "I don't know" so just be aware that this hotel is conveniently located but that's about it.

Room Tip: If you don't want to deal with noise ask to be in a room that does not face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melito820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience during your stay at Riva Hvar Yacht Harbour Hotel on TripAdvisor. Even though you rated our location and great views from the room with a high score, your opinion differs when evaluating our concierge services as well as the close proximity of the main Hvar promenade which is known worldwide for its rich variety of clubs and nightclub venues.
We were glad to have you as our guest and appreciate your comments which help us to improve continuously. It is indeed regretful to hear that these negative aspects of your vacation tarnished your overall experience.
We will investigate thoroughly with our staff your complaint about our concierge services but rest assured that our dedicated concierge team is constantly trained to provide nothing but the best customer service with the sole aim of propitiating everlasting memorable vacations.

We regret not being able to rectify your experience whilst staying with us. Once again, please accept our sincere apology as our main pillar is to make all of our customers happy. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to provide you with our best experience.

Warm regards, Riva Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    160
    98
    43
    39
See reviews for
25
265
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a short stay at this hotel but were quite satisfied. First of all, location of the hotel is great it is very central, close to dining places and all attractions at hvar. On the otherhand breakfast, room facilities common terrace everything was quite good. Rooms and the hotel was modernly decorated and we were sleeping with the huge painting of Audrey Hepburn on top of our bed. We definately would stay at there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SrcnPrtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, Hvar. It seems that you really liked our interior decor and sleeping under the timeless and authentic beauty of Audrey Hepburn we are as well very glad to learn that you also did enjoy our breakfast, ideal location and room facilities. Service is also one of our top priorities and we are delighted to read that our team managed to deliver a high quality of service.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards, Riva Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is right on the harbour where the boats from Split arrive. The rooms are very nice and modern. We had a sea-view room which had a beautiful view of the harbour. Unfortunately, our room was right above the bar which turns into a dance club at night. My husband and I had a hard time sleeping at night because the music was extremely loud, and you could hear people talking and yelling all night. If we return to Hvar, we will definitely choose a different hotel. If you are planning to stay up late and be part of the party crowd then this hotel may be perfect for you. It just wasn't what we were expecting. We enjoy going out for drinks and listening to music, but would still like to be able to return to a quiet room at night. If it wasn't for the noise, I definitely would have given this hotel a 4 or 5 rating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water have a beautiful view, but the noise from the bar is extremely loud. A room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel. We are happy to read that you found the room to be comfortable but would like to apologize for the noise level. Even though you highlighted we have an excellent location right in the centre of Hvar, the pulsating heart of the city can sometimes represent a challenge with keeping low noise levels.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Best regards, Riva Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel met our expectations and is very nice/chic, but it's important to point out that the reviews mentioning the noise are ABSOLUTELY NOT EXAGGERATIONS. I had thought 'surely they're exaggerating...' and since we're a younger couple who aren't in a hurry to go to bed early most nights, it was fine for us.

If you're looking for a quiet hotel, though, this is NOT for you. It caters to a nightlife-centric crowd.

The rooms themselves have unusual layouts but it was kind of nice to have a departure from the typical. Ambiance is clubby/chic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side will sound as though you're actually inside a dance club until 2am. Real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lll-T-R-A-V-E-L-lll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel for your stay and for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that our hotel met your expectation on service and facilities.
We have noted your concern about the noise and we are working on the matter by implementing new technologies for noise isolation since we are situated at the center of the city's pulsating heart.
We believe in a value for money proposition for our guests and always strive to walk that extra mile to ensure a comfortable and relaxed stay.

We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit and assure you of our best service at all times.

Kind regards, Riva Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location of the hotel is top notch and I imagine the views from a water facing room would be awesome as well. We had a room in the rear of the building with a charming view of a stone staircase meandering through some of the old back streets....it was a bit disconcerting that folks walking down those stairs could see right into your room, but when we took a stroll on the stairs it wasn't the case and privacy prevailed. However, bathroom privacy inside the room is not to be found. With only a glass door separating the toilet area from the rest of the room, you can easily "see and be seen", when perhaps you'd prefer not to. To make matters worse, the heavy glass door made an extremely loud and horrific sound upon opening and closing and we feared the whole thing was about to shatter. Aside from the bathroom situation and the difficulty in finding the lot for the rental car, our stay was otherwise lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you that you have honored our hotel for your stay at the most beautiful island in the Mediterranean.
We were delighted to read your wonderful feedback acknowledging our services and the location of the hotel right in the heart of Hvar enabling our guests to further explore the authentic and fascinating aspects of our beautiful city.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused by the bathroom glass door. There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and we are grateful for your comments.

Best regards,
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

It's better to say it on beginning. If you think to have decent and relaxed stay in this hotel you’re wrong. Location of this hotel is excellent, but I can't understand Hotel management who persists to everyday open-air dance club on ground floor just below room 114. There is no any possibility to sleep until 2:30 AM. Is this something that you can expect from 300 EUR/night room? The whole room with too tiny LCD TV shook from the bass vibrations. Not even with the almost maximum sound on TV you can hear nothing. I have a luck to get street view after my complaint. In the room with the Hvar view, when you open windows it's just a view to the chillers and airconditioning units that runs all night on 100 %. But in this situation you can close windows and sleep under AC.
Concept of hotel is nice (something like boutique hotel with movie stars), but architects gets something wrong. It's a little bit wird concept of toilet without decent door between WC and room so some privacy is doubtful.
If you are interesting for a party until late night and you can afford this hotel it’s could be for you, otherwise run away.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view only if you're vising Hvar outside of summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanStimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and for staying with us at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel. We are glad you liked the interior design with display of iconic movie legends across the hotel. We are happy to read that you found the room to be comfortable but would like to apologize for the noise level. Your remarks will be surely taken in consideration on our management meetings to ensure a better service.

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely, Riva Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hvar hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

At first we were hustled into a jail like room 310 with no windows, appropriately called the "attic" room. After protesting, they gave us a tiny tiny room on 2nd floor forewarned us on the noisy disco that would keep us awake into the early hours of the am. The hotel was "fully" booked. They were right it was impossible to get any rest. So we requested the night manager if there were any others rooms available & magically a vacant room appears. So we moved the 3rd time in the middle of the night. The room was bigger and faced the back so we could catch some sleep. The next day no hot water in the shower of this room. Again we protested & again magically another room appears in this so called sold out hotel is assigned to us. Go figure on how these hoteliers stay in business. They tried to appease us with a complimentary dinner. The next am on the morning of our departure the measly breakfast was further depleted with insects/bugs in the fruit section... Ugh. Go to this hotel at your own peril!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NKLAa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor.
The issues you kindly highlighted will be discussed on our management meetings to furtherly enhance our services. We are sorry we weren't able to deliver our product at its fullest and your suggestions will surely help us when proceeding with updates to our room product in the very near future. We are working towards providing the most modern and "guest friendly" spaces.

Again, thank you for staying with us at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, Riva Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel

Property: Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Address: Obala Riva 27, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the waterfront promenade in the heart of the medieval Hvar town, Riva, one of Croatia's trendiest boutique hotels, offers you the finest in Adriatic ambiance. Incorporating a beautiful 100-year-old building, Riva brings together the best of both worlds: old world charm and state of the art luxury. You'll find yourself at home in one of Riva's rooms featuring uniquely designed interiors, contemporary furnishings and an exceptional view of sunsets over the Paklinski Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hvar Yacht Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing