We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
45
94
38
19
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
94
38
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gardens leading grounds are beautiful hula hula hvar town charming hotel overlooking the garden taking into account on a half board basis pine trees pleasant stroll breakfast spread minute walk water shoes within easy walking distance a great sea view an update three star
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 212 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night. Had a lovely room with a bit of a view (blocked by trees). Enjoyed time in the hot tub. Quite noisy as you could hear music from a local beach. About a 20 minute walk into town. Food lovely but expensive. Good breakfast options. Good size modern room. Nice touches - like offering postcards to post home. Very nice and good to be away from main sectino of Hvar town.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

Because of the refugee situation, we had a difficult time making it out to Hvar. The hotel worked with us to switch the nights we stayed there without charing us extra for the change.
The rooms themselves were not anything special but they were fine for two nights. The view on the walk down to the beach is completely amazing. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and it smells very nice outside. The hot tub outside is not warm or cleaned very often.
It is a tough 15 minute walk to get to the hotel from the city center but they did offer us a ride down on a complementary shuttle when we had to get to the ferry very early with all of our bags.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank amberv41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Hotel Croatia
Car arrival easy by GPS, it is very well located.
For those who are driving, parking is available in the gardens of hotel entrance.
A pleasant 15-minute walk takes you to the city center with everything that is most important as trade in general, charming restaurants and various taxi-boats to other islands.
Hotel back entrance grants the gardens and is just next to the Hula Hula important "point" of the waterfront for drinks and sunset viewing.
The hotel is old. One sees this in the doors, locks, the bathroom and windows. But conservation is good and everything works. Free Wi-Fi, password provided at checkin, works well throughout the hotel.
A lift would help to heavy suitcases, but the staircase is wide.
Richly wooded, it offers a magnificent look of the Adriatic Sea from any point, especially the rooms terrace.
Staff kind and efficient. Breakfast included in the rate, complete with hot and cold dishes, fruit, cereals, yogurt and machine for coffee and cappuccinos. Finally, I do not understand the complaints of a few guests. It is served in the hotel's own restaurant (a la Pjat) which, in turn, has great food at dinner.
We occupy a quadruple room for two rooms, very good, good mattress, good pillows and bedding. Bathroom good, clean and complete. The shower had a broken piece fixing the time, but it was great anyway. Air conditioning (one in each room) is quiet and efficient (both split type), but the temperature is set at 22 ° C, which was comfortable. If you want to change the temperature you need to ask for by front desk.
There are in-room refrigerator (mini-bar) and flat screen TV.
In short, an excellent choice in exceptional location.
Worth what you pay.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank MauricioB159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia-Hvar, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2015

Thank you for your review:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2015

We had a wonderful 2 nights at this hotel. The hotel was perfectly situated for the local beach bar Hula Hula which was great fun if you want to party! The rooms were well furnished and the air conditioning was very good. The hotel was always very cool. The view from our balcony was stunning and this was a highlight of our tour of Croatia.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lemtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia-Hvar, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you very much :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2015

I'm sure that in its heyday this hotel would have been completely amazing. It is still a beautiful building located within gorgeous gardens just 15 steps away from a lovely beach.
The interior, however, is in need of some serious renovation. The bedrooms are quite small ( no issue with this) but there is a need to invest in re decoration. There are dusty pots of artificial flowers, an antiquated TV set, and very 1970's bathrooms.
The air conditioner spits water at you :-) and there is seriously dodgy wi fi connections.
There isn't a lift and when we arrived ( room wasn't ready for 2 hours) there was no-one available to help us with luggage.
The hotel is quite close to a beach bar called Hula Hula, and unfortunately this bar ramped up the music between lunchtime and approximately 11pm. Not the best environment for relaxation on the beach, unless you enjoy house music being blasted out whilst you try to chill with your book. The music is clearly audible from the rooms at the front of the hotel. A real shame, I feel sorry for the locals who have to put up
with this racket!!
Breakfast is very average, though eating on the outdoor terrace with that lovely view makes up for this.
I'm afraid we didn't find the receptionist very friendly, especially on arrival. She was fairly unhelpful and surly. She did cheer up as the week went along!
No safety deposit box in room, so valuables have to be left in the safe at Reception.
This could be SUCH a fabulous hotel, just needs some TLC and some investment to bring it up to date. ( and what a shame about the noise from local beach bars)

Room tip: Maybe a room at the back of the hotel would be quieter.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews