We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent setting - extensive grounds, right on the sea front”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Croatia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Croatia
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent setting - extensive grounds, right on the sea front”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

A lovely hotel. Very spacious grounds and facilities. Lots of sitting areas on the gardens, which run down to the sea front. The location could hardly be better. a 15 minute pleasant stroll (past some raucous bars) along the sea front took you to Hvar town. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good. We stayed half board and the evening meals were good, but a limited choice and having to order the night before detracted somewhat from the dining experience of choosing from the menu at the table.
We rented a boat for a day to go out to the islands and were able to get it from right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the front - though they are a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    61
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
14
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel Croatia is a beautiful, comfortable hotel at reasonable rates by Hvar standards. The room we got was not so big but very comfortable and impeccably clean. We got stellar service from reception and were able to leave our luggage AND take a shower on our last day, which allowed us to enjoy the beach longer. It is a 10 minutes walk to the center of Hvar city but for the difference in price, we didn't mind the walk. Breakfast was much better than most other lodgings we had in Croatia. It was one of the few places where we had fresh fruits and sweet options like pancakes and hazelnut spread. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karine_en_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I agree with india_holland - Hotel Croatia is nice quiet hotel, in stark contrast to the mega-complex you have to walk past on the way into Hvar (10-15 minutes along a coastal path). The other guests when we stayed were families and married couples, all very civilized. Our room had obviously been recently refurbished. Staff were friendly and helpful, beach is at the bottom of the hotel grounds, gets a little quieter if you turn right and walk further away from Hvar town. Shower, air con, free wifi all worked fine. Breakfast had a full spread of everything you can think of, shame the juice & coffee was concentrate/instant, but that seems to be the norm in mid-priced places in Croatia. Lunch/evening menu looked great, but didn't try it. They have guest showers so you can head to the beach and come back and freshen up even after checking out. A lovely place, would return.

Room Tip: Sea view cost an extra GBP10-15 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Croatia for three nights. Arrived late on Friday into Stari Grad and took the bus over for 27 kunas. It drops you off in the heart of town and approximately 15 to 20 minute walk.

Rooms are clean and modern. Our room was on the second floor and faced the "garden". If your looking to stay at Amfora save your money and come here.

Hotel offers the lounge chairs on the water for 25 kunas versus the 40 kunas for non guests. The hotel lets you take an umbrella to the beach saving you 40 kunas.

The hula hula bar is right next door and is a good day bar with lounge chairs for rent (100 kunas for a double). The scene is intense around 8pm w tons of people jam packed in the bar. It has a great view of the sunset, stunning.

Breakfast at the hotel is so so. Buffet style w cereals, eggs, breads, jams, coffee, teas, cheese creeps.

There's a market about a 100 meters up the hill. I recommend buying your beers and beverages there to drink while sunbathing. The little drink stand has beers but they're smaller than normal!

Overall, I recommend staying at hotel Croatia or around this hotel. I debated staying in the harbor but its good to head into town for dinner and drinks. It's quite at night but lively during the day as people come for the lounge chairs and beach. Oh, fitness room is a bust. Don't book this hotel based on that.

Watch out for sea urchins. Bring your touristy beach shoes!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA_Travel_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This lovely hotel is about a 15 min. walk by the sea to Hvar. The food for breakfast or any other meal is great & the people very friendly & helpful.
The rooms were not big, but had all you need. Ours had a patio which was great except for the mosquitos. [Rainy season & should have had repellant.]

Room Tip: As for a garden view or patio, depending on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBob41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. It was just perfect for us as a couple who likes to be near the action, but not in it. So it was just perfect to have this 10 minute coastal romantic walk to take us into and out of the Hvar Town. The setting is beautiful, and it is one of very few hotels that has its own little pebble beach. It was a great value for the price.
I want to provide an update to some of the previous reviews - they must have renovated their rooms since last year, because we did NOT have any orange or brown in our room - it was a fairly modern decor. The bathroom was absolutely brand new and wonderful. The wifi worked flawlessly in our room and was free.
We would absolutely return here and highly recommend it. We traveled without our young children this time, but I would not hesitate to bring them here as well - the hotel has play structures on its grounds (and their are even more on the walk into town on the promenade).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank india_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This review is rather late but me and my bf stayed in Hvar last August and stayed at this hotel which we absolutely loved. The rooms are very basic but with lots of air con so exactly what we needed for the trip! We barely spent much time in there so it was just right. The hotel is quite a close walk to nearby beach bars and places where people sunbathe so no bother at all. It was a nice 15 minute walk at night along the edge of the sea into the centre, so a very good location for the hotel. The centre is very busy so you'd definitely want to stay a bit further out unlike many hotels like the adriana in the centre which must be quite noisy!
As many people have said hvar is very expensive so you have to be prepared to pay. We ate out quite a few times in the centre but i must say the best food we had there was at hotel croatia- it was absolutely AMAZING!! we couldnt believe it and was very surprised to learn it had not even earnt a michelin star because no joke it was that good. I had the most amazing lamb there and my bf couldnt get over their saltimbocca. From then on we must have eaten there a further 3 times and the food in the centre didnt compare at all- the hotel restaurant was always busy as we see why! definitely recommend this!
Furthermore to add to this the hotel staff were absolutely lovely! The Waiter Josip was such a nice guy and couldnt do enough for us..he s such a great waiter and genuinely nice guy it made things so much more enjoyable. In addition a lady on the reception- Josepha i think her name was (or Josephena) was absolutely lovely aswell- she even let me go into the laundry room and iron some clothes before a night out which was a life saver as we all know how creased clothes are once they come out of your suitcase.
Overall great rooms, wonderful staff, awesome location and unbelievable food and amazing island! would definitely recommend this hotel and Hvar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia

Property: Hotel Croatia
Address: Ulica Vlade Avelinija 7 | (Majerovica b.b.), Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croatia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is located in the city of Hvar at the so-called island, only about ten minutes walk from the old city centre and city port. It is situated by the sea in the beautiful park of pine trees at one of the most beautiful locations of the city of Hvar. It is built in 1936 and reconstructed in 1997. With its architecture, hotel is ideally set in the vegetation of Majerovica bay, reached by a beautiful walking area by the sea. Hotel Croatia is the smallest one in the city of Hvar, it is an intimate and very comfortable place for holiday throughout the year. Hotel Croatia is family runned hotel.distancefrom beach is: 10mdistance of hotel from the sea is: 30mdistance of hotel from city center is: 1200mpebble beach, paved beach, rocky beachbuffet breakfast, lunch - choice of menus, dinner - choice of menushotel parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Hvar
Croatia Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing