We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People are exetarating, it's lovely”
Review of Hotel Sirena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sirena
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“People are exetarating, it's lovely”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Okay the hotel is old and okay it's quite out of town. But the place is really calm and relaxing. There are peddleboats and with nice weather it is no problem to stay here. Really blue water. A supermarket is 10 min walk. There is no bus. A taxi is 100kn and walking to the center is 25 minutes. So bad location. But amazing hotel. Nice beds. Clean towels. Very good breakfast with eggs and bratwurst. We loved it and the price is also very good. We payed 25€ per person per night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Rianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    14
    16
    13
    24
See reviews for
7
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

No wifi in room. Wifi at bar and lobby spotty at best. No phone in room, so if you need something you have to walk uphill to the office. Bar stops serving food at 8 pm. Free shuttle only runs to town once (at 2:30 pm) and come back only once (at 9:30 pm). Bed more like a cot. Very trashed and dilapidated everywhere. Way overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hvar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Basic rooms and no a/c or fans. Good self-service breakfast with hot & cold options. Beach is plus point but gets very crowded and noisy. Location is the main issue- it's a 25min walk through some treacherous paths and tunnels to the old town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellebtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I just came back from a stay at Sirena hotel, Hvar.
Positives - so much cheaper than other hotels, not a little, quite a lot, which is why we stayed here.
-breakfast included and is pretty decent in my opinion, Hvar was quite expensive and it was nice to have one less meal to budget for.
- beautiful view of the private cove from a sea view balcony room
- friendly, helpful and attentive staff
- gorgeous cove for private relaxing by the beach
- relaxed and comfortable bar and restaurant.

Negatives
- I knew there was no air conditioning and this is why the room was so cheap, however, I found it so difficult to handle and sleep through. Not comfortable at all and could not find anywhere to buy a fan in Hvar.
- the walk was way too far for us, we are mid twenties wanting to enjoy the night life of Hvar, half an hour walk, fifteen minutes to nearest shop... Felt a little out of the way at times. The walk back was very dark at night and taxis were too expensive.
- I liked having a bar and restaurant on site and would have happily spent one of my evenings there, but unfortunately it closed at 8 and this meant there was no food or beer available for at least fifteen minutes walk to the shop (which closed at ten)
- the sun beds surrounding the hotels privates beach cost 25 kuna per hour to lie on. Absolutely awful in my opinion when your staying at the hotel and a completely unreasonable price per hour. What's worse is most were empty all day. If they'd charged a flat price for the day I would have been more inclined to pay it.

The terrible ratings on. Trip advisor are uncalled for in my opinion. You know it has no air conditioning, you know it's hot in Croatia, that's why it's sooooo much cheaper than other hotels. So deal with it or pay quadruple the price per night for a luxury hotel like Amfora.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

So we arrived at this hotel and got told our booking didn't exist even though we had paid for it and got the confirmation email so we had to be put in separate rooms and then the rooms were boiling hot and you couldn't not have the door open so you would get eaten by Mosquitos, we went to breakfast 10 minutes before it finished and there was nothing lefted I then asked for a bowl and the lady screamed at me and I wasn't aloud to even get a bowl, the only good thing about this hotel is the private beach but that's where it ends if you can avoid staying here do it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biancak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

After getting used to the inflated prices in Hvar in summer it is a welcome surprise to find an accommodation bargain like this. It was a luxury hotel by communist standards. Now it is decaying and crumbling. However, location right on two coves of the Adriatic is simply superb. If the 150 rooms had air conditioning or even fans it would be worth twice as much. There is a huge banner on the balcony proclaiming "Youth Hotel". No idea why. It is much better suited to families and old people. It gas free internet in the lobby and restaurant that works. The food is good and breakfast included in the already cut rate price. There are 2 buildings of rooms that face the afternoon sun. They must bake in there. Ours faces north over the boating inlet and is surprisingly cool even in this sweltering August heat.well at least in the morning thr balcony is cool! !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here as part of 2 weeks in Croatia and it was the only hotel which disappointed us. The walls were paper-thin in the rooms and our noisy neighbours who smoked and talked late into the night disrupted us. The room was okay, basic but didn't have amenities such as a fridge or a TV, or even a clock, which are pretty standard. The location is great, tucked away from the town and right on the beach. The view from our room was gorgeous. There was a small playground which our 2.5 year old enjoyed. The breakfast was very, very basic. All of this would have not been so bad had we not paid 90 Euro a night for the room - for that price (and compared to other places we stayed in Croatia for the same cost) we expected a little more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KKDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
1.0 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Croatia
Hotel Croatia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sirena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirena

Property: Hotel Sirena
Address: Ulica Dr. Oresta Zhunkovica 1, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sirena 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sirena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirena Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing