We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
198
174
80
24
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
174
80
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach hvar town sea view hot water swimming area sun loungers diving school shuttle service minute walk reception staff quiet bay cocktail bar superior room coastal path sea front ferry tickets our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 487 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Those who have never been to Hvar have yet to experience one of the most beautiful places in Europe. The Hotel Podstine sits high on a hillside with a dramatic view of the Adriatic. The rooms are of good size, clean and comfortable. It is about a half hour walk to the main part of the village, but it is a beautiful walk along a promenade lined with small boats. The plaza will take you back hundreds of years in history. The hotel has a wellness center and a private location near the water.The staff is very helpful and the breakfast and espressos are delicious. A special “shout out to Ivena and Dragan”.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

The rooms and facilities are very good. The view is fantastic. Beatiful beach access with enough room for all guests. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Only the food at the restaurant was not that great and a bit overpriced for that. Internet did not work at our room but worked well at the beach.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank livingonajetplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

I have to echo previous reviews. Although the hotel has a six star out of five view of the sea, the room and food quality are more in keeping with an upscale hostel.

Hotel takes advantage of the lack of comparative standards in Hvar to trust that customers will see the $300 a night rooms, get distracted by the spectacular sea views and ignore the pictures of the rooms.

LOOK at them. Really is a joke. This should be a two to three star hotel. Everything written (cold water, poor food) is true.

We did have a good experience w the staff, though that hardly justifies the scam pricing.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank SanjaySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podstine H, Manager at Hotel Podstine, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Sanjay,
thank you for your review. We are so sorry to read you are dissapointed with the hotel, there was no intention on our part for you to feel scammed. A vast majority of our Guests is satisfied and do not share your views. We do appreciate your feedback and will try to make sure we improve. We are glad you enjoyed our service and hope you liked Croatia overall.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Its a old run down hotel, not even centralized AC. but independent units.
Has a decent view of the sea.

Breakfast is offered very meagrely. however the waiting staff are very good.

Check in and check out experience was horrible and staff at the main reception are very rude and unhelpful.

Will I suggest this hotel to a friend. No.
Will I come back to this hotel. Absolutely NOT.

Room tip: Sea view.. but avoid booking this hotel, there are better options in the area.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jhabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podstine H, Manager at Hotel Podstine, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Jhabak,
so sorry you had a terrible experience and didn't like it here.
We are very proud of our service quality and are surprised to hear that you found our receptionists rude and unhelpful.
We hope you did pack some good memories from Croatia after all.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Great location within a 20 minute walk of the town of Hvar along a beautiful coastline. We stayed in main hotel with sea view in a spacious room. Reception staff could not have been more helpful - sorting a/c problems immediately. Felt it was a real family run hotel. Great diving centre on the side with really friendly people to help out beginners. Only annoyance was the fact they stopped serving cocktails at 8pm when the beach bars closed and couldn’t make them at the top bar. Such a shame not to come back from dinners to finish an evening with one. Spa was great and gym all that you need. Swimming pool is very small but the sea is equally warm. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank marktT4088FG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews