We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Podstine
Nearby Hotels
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$129
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$54
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
185
164
75
22
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
164
75
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachhvar townsea viewhot watersun loungerscomfortable lounge chairsswimming areashuttle servicediving schoolquiet bayminute walkreception staffcocktail barsuperior roomshuttle bussea frontpakleni islands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 455 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful location with short pleasant walk to Hvar town.Staff friendly and very helpful.
Excellent views from public areas of sea,coast and adjacent islands. Lovely swimming off waterfront area, with excellent drinks and snacks service brought to your table.
We visited in May and it is really quiet and peaceful at this time. Presumably this is why we were instantly upgraded. Our room was huge, with a large sea view balcony. Bathroom fine - there's no problem with getting two people through the shower in the time allotted by the hotel's eco-water policy/system (we feel previous review was a bit petty, also procedure was clearly explained to us by staff on entering room).
Free shuttle provided on request from Hvar town to hotel on our arrival. On departure, we requested transport to main ferry terminal at Stari Grad (half hour drive away), and this was provided at a reasonable price which undercut the local taxis.
We would have no problem going back to Podstine and would recommend hotel to couples and friends, however maybe not suitable for small children due to steep terraces and waterfront area. Similarly, those with mobility problems would find outside spaces challenging,
Thank you Hotel Podstine, we had a really lovely time!
K and A.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 211, which is huge and has large balcony with good sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything is good until there was no hot water during the middle of my shower.....
This made me feel worse as I already got the cold during my trip, not to mention it rouin my memory of my Honeymoon.
The hotel has a very small notice card in the bethroom for this so-called Eco-friendly policy. In my view, a 4 star hotel can save energy from so many ways and does not need this stupid policy to make clients bathing without hot water.
I never have this kind of experience in any hotel...won't come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaggieLu1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podstine, Manager at Hotel Podstine, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear MaggieLu1205
Thank you for taking time in reviewing us. First of all I am sorry having this issue. I can only imagine how you felt.
True we do have water heater in each room, and Eco friendly policy card, that is located in bathroom, informs you of this situation. Hotel Podstine has periods of lower occupancy, and having heater for each room helps us in keeping operating costs lower. Unfortunately water heater in each bathroom, creates situation where longer showering gets problematic, as during longer shower one can stay without hot water. Heater is large enough for 10 min showering, then after 10-20 min of recharging is ready for same amount of showering time.
On the other hand we are located on an island, with very limited sources of island fresh water. Only in recent years we had luxury of not worrying about water shortages, when island was connected to main land with water pipeline. However, memory of shortages remains, and we just like to remind our guests of this important global issue of saving fresh water. Again in our case need is duplified by need of saving water also because of water heater.
If you change your mind in future and give us a chance, I am sure we can show other features of Podstine that makes other guest stay in our hotel worth of returning. As staying one night, cannot possibly show you all nice things on Podstine and Hvar.
Thank you again for your visit, and wish you all the best

Hotel Podstine
Sime Fio, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is amazing. The beach is almost private, only a few people visits the beach besides de hotel guests. The room is not that big but is charming and as everything we need to have a comfortable stay. The staff is very helpfull and nice.
Things to point out in a less positive way are: the wi fi that they tell you right away that is only reachable from the lobby or the restaurant, if you have kids or are a young couple this place can be boring. For people that want to rest and be calm is ideal but for people that search fun I think this is not the right place as the guests are mostly midle age couples and the majority of them are pretty snob. The other negative point is that most of the beach bar was closed at this time and only opens in July and closes again in September. So you don't have the full service in may. But still he you want to relax and have a semi private beach and a beautiful swimming pool this is the right place! I have to also point out the breakfast that was very good and the food from the restaurant very tasty but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eunicelopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hotel Podstine keeps you close but avoids the crush of Hvar town, providing comfort, quiet, and ease. Sime, the boss, will welcome you warmly, then leave you alone unless you need his help, which he is always prepared to give. He knows his history, too, so you can take a lesson. We swam in the very chilly Adriatic off the hotel dock, and walked to town easily. A room upstairs with a balcony is a luxurious experience. We were before the season, and they opened just for us. The early dates may have had an influence on the restaurant, which we found to be about average. In part, it's places like this that make Croatia a wonderful destination. Carlo, behind the desk, is a sincerely nice guy. Say hello for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for a chilled holiday in Hvar. Situated away from the immediate port area ensures that you are not disturbed by the party dwellers. The main port area is an enjoyable 20 minute walk away.

The hotel is laid out over 7 levels and offers excellent sunning opportunities on 3 levels with sea access. One caveat - get up early to get yourself a good sun lounger.

The food and restaurant service were fine, reception staff very helpful and hotel facilities were aimed at providing a comfortable chilled base for enjoying Hvar.

I was with my husband and 3 children in their late teens/early twenties. Would not recommend for children under 4.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews