We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm and tranquility”
Review of Hotel Podstine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Podstine
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and tranquility”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The front of the hotel does not do justice to the splendour of the view as you walk through to the rear. There are several layered terraces, all with comfortable seating, overlooking the sea. Lush palm trees and greenery provide shade in the hot summer months. Sun beds & 'beanies' are provided on the lower terrace, which acts as a private beach - ladders lead down to the sea.

The staff were friendly and courteous, in particular the two waiters - Deda & Dado. As it was the start of season, there were not many guests, but we were treated like royalty. Food was excellent, particularly the five-course dinners which were provided to half-board guests.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and very quiet. There was a small outdoor pool, but we did not use it as the water was too cold at the time, as was the sea.

We had a room with balcony facing the sea - the view was amazing. The only minus point was our shower - only 50 litres of hot water and not enough for two people bathing one after the other (at least 30-40 mins to reheat water).

Hvar town is about 30 minutes stroll from the hotel.

Visit Stari Grad - a small, pretty, village on the island - lots of Roman history. Also Palmizana island.

We were told that the best time of year to visit Croatia is September, as the sea is warm and there are not many tourists.

Room Tip: Sea facing room with balcony well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lieserl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    144
    67
    14
    9
See reviews for
39
239
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Staff were exceptionally helpful, and proactively reviewed our itinerary and resolved conflicts for the part of our trip that followed our stay at Hotel Podstine. The hotel is at a beautiful location and within easy walking distance to Hvar Town. Our room was large and comfortable. The friendly and helpful staff, location, and view made this an awesome stop, and we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lszabo1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

The rooms are fine (not especial though), all of them have a beautuful view (sea or garden), the location is really nice, some 20 minutes walk from the center. The beach is very small. (all Hvar has stony beaches).
The hotel stuff was, unfortunately, not trained at all. They seemed to be students having a good summer time and accepting some hotel guests as nesessary evil of their own vacation. We asked for a shuttle to be picked up at the station, but the hotel just forgot it, so we had to negotiate with a taxi driver - one of the most astounding examples of rudeness available on the island - a suitable price, while the hotel kept telling us there is no car available and we should try find our way. Not one word of apology.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenasorokina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

For me the location was perfect. I enjoyed the sun bed area by the sea and also the 15-20 minutes (depending on route) walk to Hvar town. I'm a light sleeper, but it was no problem with noise at night even though my room (107) was located by the stairway/elevator.

The breakfast had something for everyone (hot and cold buffet, healthy and unhealthy). Spa service was alright. There is a computer that guests can use for free by the front desk.

I also had an introduction dive with the diving company located in connection with the hotel (highly recommended!).

The staff at the restaurant is slightly slow and they are not always paying attention to the guests. However, this did not bother me much and did not have any effect on my lovely stay. I hope to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

we have just returned we loved it here we stayed for 3 nights and although out of town it really made up that by having a wonderful relaxing place where you could just read swim and really enjoy.
We walked into town every night along the coast path takes around 20 mins but you must stop at the hula hula bar on the way to see the sunset great place.also you will pass the five star hotel amfora hvar and you will be really pleased you stayed at the podstine unless you like big and brash of course.
we were picked up[ after ringing them when we got off ferry but i guess you could ring before so no waiting ]from the town after finding our way to the main bus station just past the church.but be warned they charge you for this its only 20k per person but we didnt know until we were checking out thought this was a bit of a cheek because with luggage you really cant do the walk. but would stay there again really loved it.breakfast really good too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon we started off on a cruise and stayed in Hvar for one week to finish off the honeymoon..boy we could have completely cancelled our cruise and stayed here for the full three weeks. Just amazing from the service, the food, the location...couldn't have asked for a better stay. Thank you very much Podstine. We will definitely return back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DijanaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

You are staying in a beautiful location on a quiet cove. One sits on comfortable padded lounge chairs staring at the bay. Rooms are simple with a nice balcony. Be sure to reserve a room with a view and only stay at the main hotel and not at their addition across the street that looks sterile and you have a street between you and the ocean. Breakfast was great and you sat outside under the trees in a peaceful setting . Many places to sit outside and drink or eat. I did not have dinner at the hotel but did have desserts which were delicious. I had a difficult time deciding between here and the Amfora and was glad that I chose the Podstine and when I walked by the Amfora it looked like a modern concrete Waikiki hotel while the Podstine is in a natural setting with trees all around

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.8 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Podstine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Podstine

Property: Hotel Podstine
Address: Put Podstina 11, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Podstine 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While small enough to make its guests feel at home, Hotel Podstine is also big enough to offer luxurious and personalized service to all its guests. Hotel Podstine location is remote enough to provide its guest with perfect blend of peace and quiet, while within walking distance from frenetic center of Hvar town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Podstine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podstine Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing