We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel not too far from the centre of Hvar.”
Review of Dink's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dink's Place
Ranked #3 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent hostel not too far from the centre of Hvar.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

On arriving in Hvar we initially made our way to the Green Lizard hostel only to find it was closed. However Dink's place turned out to be a most excellent find indeed.

We didn't see too much of Dink but his father (Peter, i think) was extremely friendly and helpful and could not have done more for us, he seemed to be a little embarrassed about his English but it was actually very good (and far better than my Croatian).

We opted for the downstairs dorm which houses six beds (on three bunks) and has a nicely sized kitchen and bathroom attached. Wifi coverage was excellent, everything was clean and there were plenty of areas to sit and chat and to dry out any wet clothes. There was also a vending machine so beer/water/snacks could be had 24hrs a day, and for a reasonable price.

The hostel itself was only about a 10min walk to the centre of Hvar and there were two beaches nearby, one quite small by the church on the way into town, and another much bigger and nicer in the opposite direction towards the back of town, again about 10mins walk from the hostel.

Dink's place is 'definitely' recommended by a well seasoned traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomic_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked into Dink's for 2 nights but ended up staying for 4. Had the time of my life. It was a great way to meet people and even as the season came to an end there was still so much to do. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms clean, large kitchen if needed, supermarket around the corner, and you can hire scooters or bikes at a great price.
Dink and his dad were great hosts and were always around to help. It felt more like we were guests at their house, than a hostel. And a special thankyou to Dink who helped send my passport from Hvar to Dubrovnik when I left it in the hostel - an almost impossible feat, made possible by sending it via ferry, then a local bus driver - all in time for me to make my flight hours away.
Overall I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in Dink's Place for 2 nights as part of a 12 night Croatia trip. We followed the directions to the hostel provided to us by email and found it no problem. Upon arrival Dink was there and spent some time with us suggesting things to do and places to eat/drink. We had read about the booze cruise and were disappointed that the final one of the season had been the previous night. When we seen our room we were very impressed at how clean and well equipped it was and it had a balcony overlooking the sea. Unbelievable value for money! The hostel was very peaceful at night and we had no issues with noise atall. The only negative thing I would say was that there was not always someone at reception- we waited around 20mins when it came to check out, and this was at check-out time.
We absolutely loved Hvar and would love to go back sometime!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maps-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Me and a friend stayed at Dink's place this summer whilst interrailing, it was by far the best hostel we stayed in! Both Dink and Papa Dink were very welcoming. Dink told us all the best places to go and the pub crawls were lots of fun! The hostel was very clean and in a good location, when booking we got a map that gave very easy to understand instructions on how to get to the hostel.
The hostel had a great social area and it was very easy to get a good crowd of people to go out at night!! Best hostel I stayed in that summer!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Two mates and I stayed at Dink's place for a week and had the best time. Dink welcomed us well and told us the best places to go in Hvar, including an amazing local restaurant. The place was lovely and clean and had a great social area.
Hvar is beautiful and the pub crawls and nights out were so much fun.
We had a bloody romantic holiday in the lovely Dink's place and most importantly we love Dink's dad!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place was one of my highlights on my Europe trip. I was travelling alone but Dink and his sidekick Marcos were really welcoming, plus the building has some great common areas and a balcony where you can meet other travellers and enjoy the hot summer nights. I didn't get to go on the pub crawl because the ocean was too rough for a booze cruise that night, but Marcos took a group of us out anyway which was awesome fun. You really are encouraged to party and be social, so if you're going for some quiet/relax time as I initially was, it's not really the vibe for that! that said, it's quiet enough at night so you can get a good sleep if you need to.

The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom and kitchen were a bit old-school but fine. Be prepared to walk up a pretty steep hill to get there, but hey, it's Croatia and totally worth it! I hope to stay at Dink's one day again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had an awesome time at Dinks place. dink himself was great and hooked us up with all the nest night life, restaurants and activities to do on the island, including the scooters we hired which was great fun. the rooms were very clean and the vibe of the place was welcoming,not to mention his dad "papa dink" who is great on the BBQ. I cant recommend this place enough!! 10/10

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Skansi
Villa Skansi
#2 of 166 in Hvar
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dink's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dink's Place

Property: Dink's Place
Address: Ulica Ive Roica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to welcome you to Dink’s Place and city of Hvar!You will feel right at home here, and will meet other like-minded travelers who want to have a great time on Hvar, the most popular island in Croatia.Dink’s Place is very friendly and has a laid-back, fun atmosphere; it is the perfect place to absorb all that this special island has to offer.Hvar is a fairy-tale city with rich history, stunning architecture and nature, fresh, delicious cuisine, and vibrant nightlife that goes until dawn.Dink’s Place is only a short 7- minute walk to the town center, and is located in a tranquil neighborhood overlooking the sea, so you can also get a great night’s sleep to recharge after a night out!All rooms are clean, light and spacious, with bedding and towels provided, and include A/C in most rooms. The dorm beds are new, with wooden frames and extra-long, comfortable mattresses. We have a fully-equipped kitchen where you can cook meals using the best local ingredients, and cool outdoor terraces under the shade of grape-vine arbors. We also offer laundry service, and free wifi throughout the hostel.Our staff members are warm and knowledgeable Hvar locals and travelers, who will go out of their way to help with anything you might need, day or night. We organize outings to our favorite bars and clubs, and we give you insider tips to find the best beaches, the best wine, etc.!Also, at Dink's Place you can rent bicycles, scooters or boats and visit untouched bays near the town, vineyards and wineries where you can stop and taste homemade wine and olive oils, and see bright purple fields of lavender. Or, you can just sunbathe, swim in the crystal-clear blue waters of the Adriatic, and enjoy an ice-cold beer or cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dink's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing