We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Marco Restaurant

San Marco Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 132 Restaurants in Hvar
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to San Marco Restaurant & Lounge. Here you can enjoy a delicious Italian cuisine with exceptional Dalmatian touch.Being one of the most grandiose in the Adriatic, San Marco's beautifully ornamented terrace floats above the famous Pjaca, which is second in size only to the Piazza San Marco in Venice. A combination of unique Venetian architecture, starry nights and soft sounds of music will put a profound smile on your face and a subtle swing in your step. Throw-in fine Italian cuisine and the soft glow of yachts in the bay, and the state of bliss may well be irreversible.San Marco Restaurant is Hvar’s premiere venue for unforgettable wedding celebrations, dinners/lunches for groups, events.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Although the restaurant wasn't even busy when we went, just one large table, we were completely ignored, nobody asked how the food was (very average pizzas for an Italian, burnt on the bottom and with 2 of 3 mussels missing from the shells on a seafood pizza) and we were basically ignored from start to finish unless we called for someone and that took a while. It's a shame, the views are nice and it could be good but basically the service was a disgrace and the food average. We also asked for extra ham on a pizza, which cost 4 pounds. Just don't ever bother with this place, never mind the setting!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaroLoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at San Marco Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Caroloui,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting our restaurant and thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Please accept my sincere apologies that our team did not meet your expectations and since reading your comment we implement new procedures of tracking guest satisfaction and making sure that our food and service are 5 star all the time.

Have a great day,
Anja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    19
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Overrated prices, an ignoring waiter, long waiting time and terrible food, which only assume to be called italian cuisine..
Yes, the localization is nice, but it's a restaurant, not an attraction!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrycja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Yeah the view is decent.. but seriously? This was a complete waste of our time. The food served was absolutely horrible. You wonder why the waiter was so upset at all the uneaten plates. Unbelievably overpriced, the view was good but the view from my hotel balcony was better. Definitely nothing romantic about this place - chairs wobble, tables are tacky.
A complete tourist trap... would NEVER go back here again. Try something better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Apekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This restaurant is on the Riva and because it is on a roof, affords lovely views. The menu is Italian, and there are many noodle and pasta dishes. Of the places in Croatia, this one had the best service - the restaurant was kind enough to make an off menu item for us. The decor is mostly while and very breezy and summery. Perfect setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mzmeowus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I already wrote a review of the Palace hotel, where I suggested the renovation to the most exclusive spot in Hvar. It seems like the first step is done. The restaurant is not exclusive by the offer although I suppose it is quite a challenge to get genuine buratta to the Island. Friendly staff, nice decoration and above all - perfect view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marco Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to San Marco Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing