We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Location Sensation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed June 19, 2009

This may not be the 5-star hotel on the idyllic island of Hvar but it is our favourite. On our second visit this May we were made to feel like old friends rather than clients. The staff are charming and, indeed , our dealings with the Suncari group were most congenial.
The Palace location is right in the heart of the old town and the views are spectacular.
The rooms are not so modern as at the Adriana and the Riva but are generally a bit more spacious to compensate. It might be worth taking your own bath plug as they seem to be in short supply!
At the Adriana the lack of front facing balconies seems the only omission as the manager Jarmilla is quite charming and gave her individual attention to our request to hold a drinks reception in the rooftop bar. We were in Hvar for the wedding of our son who is building a house on the island. Our Scottish guests , we were assured, were enchanted with the location, the informality, the excellent quality of the catering from Suncari manager Stipe and the friendliness of the islanders who seemed to enjoy the spectacle of a multitude of kilts!
Many of our friends also stayed at and enjoyed the Palace although it was the grandchildren who relished the unheated pool with most enthusiasm. The terrace at the Palace must be hard to beat for a special celebration if you can persuade intrepid friends to make the fairly complicated journey. Be prepared-depending on your travel arrangements-to leave your luggage in Split and have an hour or two to explore the fascinating Roman heritage with great shopping thrown in. There is clearly a well-rehearsed and reliable system which companies use to guard your cases until the next ferry departs.
This visit in May 09 was significantly warmer than in May 08 when an extra layer in the evening was essential and more typical of the early season. Its a delightful stress-dissolving, traffic-free destination you should keep to yourself!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 446 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed at the Palace Hvar for 1 night in Oct. 2008. We had reserved a double room with sea view which we got. The view was nice but the balcony extremely small, it was hardly possible for 2 to sit. The room was nice and clean (NO nasty smell in the bathroom as some reviewers experienced)and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast had everything you could want. Our main complaint would be that the hotel is in a pedestrian zone and it is not permitted to drive directly to the hotel. This presented a problem since we had to take a taxi and this additional cost was not reimbursed. We were told that we could have phoned and the hotel would have sent an electric cart. How realistic is it for tourists to have the phone number, find a phone, etc. ? It was most inconvenient to have to unload the luggage, transfer it to a taxi, find parking, etc. We were told that only 2 taxis are permitted into the pedestrian zone at the same time , so even the taxi driver had to wait before he could enter. While the location of the hotel right at the far end of the main square was great, having to deal with this type of transfer makes me reluctant to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Step into the Palace Hotel, and step back into the stark Soviet era. The lobby has a bit of red sparkle to it, but the rooms are dreary and depressing. Supposedly recently refurbished (not possible!), the furniture is straight out of the 1950s, the blankets look like they haven’t been washed since Tito’s era, bathtubs don’t drain, and the promised WiFi doesn’t work on all floors. The swimming pool is about the saddest excuse for a swimming pool I’ve ever seen, tucked away in the dark corner of a pathetic terrace. To top it all, the self-service coffee at breakfast is truly the worst coffee I have ever had. They should be ashamed for charging such high rates for such a miserable hotel. Sadly, it could be the grande dame of hotels in this otherwise stunning town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WolaWola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights in The Palace an old grand Hvar hotel which has/is being updated. You cannot beat the excellent location overlooking the harbour but try and get a 2nd floor plus room overlooking the front and watch out for 'tree-views' . The upgrade work is patchy in so much that rooms seem to have been repainted, new signs, beds and carpets, but fititngs such as mirrors, lights and bathrooom tiling etc. are of 70/80's stock, No bad thing but the cracked pool tiles and general un-keptness puts you off. Mind you excellent sea areas are available within a 5min walk. Buffett breakfast is best taken outdoors either under the modern sleek canopy or in the open air rather than the dingy dated conservatory. All staff were very helpful and spoke execellent english as did everyone we encountered on the island. oh the rooms don;t have safes but reception does which may effect what you may want to take valuable wise. Over all i would recommend the Palace for its location and value and perfect for a longer stay if you don't mind dated decor in some areas

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnesUrbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

The palace was the worst hotel during our hollidays in Croatia.

The room was very simple, the TV doesn't work we only see one channel, the bathroom was an horror: OLD, SMELLY and DIRTY.
The parking was placed far from the hotel 15 minutes by foot, and the promised sea wiews are a trick!!

We fill a complain sheet before leaving the hotel.
Don't let their web confuse you, the quality of the hotel is very far from the room price (we pay 200€ per night)

Our recomendation: CHOOSE ANOTHER HOTEL!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jefex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Excellent loaction in the centre of hvar town, right by the harbour. Reasonable price for the location. Very helpful and friendly reception staff. Pool small but never crowded. Excellent views from restaurant bar and nice for sitting to take a break from the sun. Breakfast included and a good section avaliable.

Room small but adequate, bathroom very dated and had a lingering bad smell. No airconditioning and view of a brickwall. We only had a cheaper room so better views can be paid for.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Liverpool0879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

The Palace Hotel is the oldest hotel on Hvar and it shows. It is part of the Suncani Hvar chain who have revamped the other major hotels in town recently and is due to be done up once this summer season ends.
For now it remains a good budget choice as its location in the centre of town cannot be beaten. At about £70 a night it's a bargain in terms of being able to stay stumbling distance from Carpe Diem. However the toilet was unreliable, blocking several times, there's no air con (and you can't have the windows open - this is a party island and you're in the middle of it all) and hardly any of the plug sockets worked.
The breakfast also was woeful, pathetic amount of food and a coffee machine which didn't really work.
Once the Palace had been refurbed I'm certain it will be lovely, but it will be beyond the reach of my budget if the other Suncani Hvar hotels are anything to go by. Go now while it's cheap and be willing to put up with the problems.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ochy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hvar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hvar Hotel

Address: Trg Svetog Stjepana 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: $40 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hvar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1869, Empress Elisabeth of Vienna was so impressed after discovering the city of Hvar, that she encouraged the building of the iconic Palace hotel and contributed to the financing and design. From the beginning the hotel was a great success welcoming guests from all over Europe establishing Hvar as a famous destination as it is today. The hotel has graciously aged charm and character mirroring that of the island. History lovers will also enjoy its central location,which provides romantic views of the ancient piazza and neighbouring buildings such as St. Stephenʼs Cathedral, and glorious sunsets over the bay. Guests can dine at the San Marco Venetian terrace overlooking the yacht harbour immersed in the heart of Hvar's historical architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace Hvar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Hvar
Palace Hvar Island
Palace Hotel Hvar Island
Hotel Palace Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing