We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$380
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$226
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$200
$194
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pansion Dela(Hvar)(Great Value!)
$80
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Violeta Hvar(Hvar)(Great Value!)
$98
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
44
120
134
74
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
120
134
74
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationsmall pooloverlooking the harbourcatamaranboatsfort
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 447 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed in the palace hotel in June was a little sceptical as reviews were a mixed bag. After what seemed like a lifetime getting to Hvar the hotel was a little walk from the harbour and most prominent imposing building in the main square. Inside is a little dated but that sort of added to its charm. The view from the room was a postcard and food served at breakfast was a good with plenty of options. All in all this hotel added to what was a fantastic holiday to hvar and would return for the view alone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Palace Hotel is perfectly located within the old city. From the ferry it will take you about 5-10 minutes walk to the hotel. It overlooks the harbour and there are some amazing restaurants nearby along with bars and clubs etc. The hotel itself is not in the best condition but is not falling apart either however it could do with a facelift! Water Taxis are readily avaiable in this area, making it easy to get to destinations like the airport when you have slept in, running late and gonna miss your plane, however not cheap! Also a bonus is the food being served was really good!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OzTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Other reviews got this spot on.

Great terrace looking out onto the bay, perfect central location and helpful staff. It's not a luxury hotel, so you might need to forgive a few things. The room was very hot, with no airconditioning and quite small, although that wasn't a problem. The bathroom looked like a Victorian hospital bathroom - cracked and falling apart a bit but we didn't seem to care too much as everything else was lovely and Hvar is so beautiful - you're not spending time in the bathroom!

Highly recommend going straight to the terrace for cocktails and great views.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My first time through Hvar, I stayed at a hostel - but made sure to note this hotel's location for future visits.
The location is amazing. Right in the centre of the old town, a 2 min walk to restaurants, bars, clubs, and the water taxis.

As for the hotel, the interior is a bit worn down. Not terrible, just very very basic. No air conditioning is a bit of a letdown, but we were lucky to have a ceiling fan and a big window that opened to the harbor. Also, the internet only worked in the lobby. Not a deal breaker, but a small convenience that would've been enjoyed in our room.

Breakfast in the morning is great! Beautiful view, and a nice spread with fruits, vegetables, meat, etc etc.
Hear is still growing and expanding - this hotel just needs to catch up a bit.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Palace Hotel is in a perfect location for a holiday in Hvar. It is the second hotel you will get to when you step off the ferry, about 5-10 minutes walk from the jetty. It overlooks the harbour which has some lovely restaurants (Jerolim and Divino were our favourites) and the town square is next to the hotel with various cafes, bars and pizzerias to sit outside of (good for people-watching and very reasonably priced). There is no beach immediately close to the hotel, but there are a number of beaches if you walk along the harbour path for 10 minutes or so. They don't have sand but there are plenty of sunbeds around to hire for a few pounds per day. An absolute must is a day trip to Palmizana (one of the Pakleni islands). The water taxi is located right in front of the Palace Hotel and takes about 20 minutes (costs about £5 for a return journey) after which you will find yourself on a beautiful near-deserted island with perfectly clear turquoise water. We had an entire beach to ourselves for the whole day and it was like being in paradise.

The hotel itself was nice. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and the breakfast terrace overlooked the harbour which was a lovely view to wake up to. The hotel bar was on the same terrace, lovely big sofas underneath a canopy with a fantastic view of the harbour all lit up at night. The reception staff were lovely, always stopping for a chat as you walked through reception and they were particularly helpful on our last day when our ferry home was cancelled due to bad weather. Our only disappointment was with the room. The room was very dated, especially the bathroom. Prior to arrival we had heard that all rooms had a view of either the Pakleni islands or the fortress so when we arrived and opened the curtains to a view of the hotels wheelie bin store we were a bit disappointed! We had also requested twin beds and were given a double, and the only accessible plug socket was broken and sparked when we tried to use it (the other 2 plug sockets were behind the headboard of the bed so we couldn't reach them). We were holidaying out of season and the hotel was nowhere near full so we asked if we could move rooms and were told no, which was disappointing but it wasn't a huge issue as there is so much to do in Hvar (can highly recommend the jeep safari) that we didn't spend much time in the hotel room anyway.

Pre-warning: There is a beautiful bell tower on the town square next to the hotel...but the bells ring every half hour from very early in the morning so you won't get a lay-in staying here!! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dilly476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews