We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food!!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Palace Hotel is perfectly located within the old city. From the ferry it will take you about 5-10 minutes walk to the hotel. It overlooks the harbour and there are some amazing restaurants nearby along with bars and clubs etc. The hotel itself is not in the best condition but is not falling apart either however it could do with a facelift! Water Taxis are readily avaiable in this area, making it easy to get to destinations like the airport when you have slept in, running late and gonna miss your plane, however not cheap! Also a bonus is the food being served was really good!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    102
    116
    64
    65
See reviews for
46
195
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Other reviews got this spot on.

Great terrace looking out onto the bay, perfect central location and helpful staff. It's not a luxury hotel, so you might need to forgive a few things. The room was very hot, with no airconditioning and quite small, although that wasn't a problem. The bathroom looked like a Victorian hospital bathroom - cracked and falling apart a bit but we didn't seem to care too much as everything else was lovely and Hvar is so beautiful - you're not spending time in the bathroom!

Highly recommend going straight to the terrace for cocktails and great views.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My first time through Hvar, I stayed at a hostel - but made sure to note this hotel's location for future visits.
The location is amazing. Right in the centre of the old town, a 2 min walk to restaurants, bars, clubs, and the water taxis.

As for the hotel, the interior is a bit worn down. Not terrible, just very very basic. No air conditioning is a bit of a letdown, but we were lucky to have a ceiling fan and a big window that opened to the harbor. Also, the internet only worked in the lobby. Not a deal breaker, but a small convenience that would've been enjoyed in our room.

Breakfast in the morning is great! Beautiful view, and a nice spread with fruits, vegetables, meat, etc etc.
Hear is still growing and expanding - this hotel just needs to catch up a bit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Palace Hotel is in a perfect location for a holiday in Hvar. It is the second hotel you will get to when you step off the ferry, about 5-10 minutes walk from the jetty. It overlooks the harbour which has some lovely restaurants (Jerolim and Divino were our favourites) and the town square is next to the hotel with various cafes, bars and pizzerias to sit outside of (good for people-watching and very reasonably priced). There is no beach immediately close to the hotel, but there are a number of beaches if you walk along the harbour path for 10 minutes or so. They don't have sand but there are plenty of sunbeds around to hire for a few pounds per day. An absolute must is a day trip to Palmizana (one of the Pakleni islands). The water taxi is located right in front of the Palace Hotel and takes about 20 minutes (costs about £5 for a return journey) after which you will find yourself on a beautiful near-deserted island with perfectly clear turquoise water. We had an entire beach to ourselves for the whole day and it was like being in paradise.

The hotel itself was nice. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and the breakfast terrace overlooked the harbour which was a lovely view to wake up to. The hotel bar was on the same terrace, lovely big sofas underneath a canopy with a fantastic view of the harbour all lit up at night. The reception staff were lovely, always stopping for a chat as you walked through reception and they were particularly helpful on our last day when our ferry home was cancelled due to bad weather. Our only disappointment was with the room. The room was very dated, especially the bathroom. Prior to arrival we had heard that all rooms had a view of either the Pakleni islands or the fortress so when we arrived and opened the curtains to a view of the hotels wheelie bin store we were a bit disappointed! We had also requested twin beds and were given a double, and the only accessible plug socket was broken and sparked when we tried to use it (the other 2 plug sockets were behind the headboard of the bed so we couldn't reach them). We were holidaying out of season and the hotel was nowhere near full so we asked if we could move rooms and were told no, which was disappointing but it wasn't a huge issue as there is so much to do in Hvar (can highly recommend the jeep safari) that we didn't spend much time in the hotel room anyway.

Pre-warning: There is a beautiful bell tower on the town square next to the hotel...but the bells ring every half hour from very early in the morning so you won't get a lay-in staying here!! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dilly476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Outside of the hotel, the lobby, looks beautiful. Pretty much every picture you see of Hvar includes this hotel. This is where the good ends. It has no air conditioning which in a island, hot, humid vacation town is mandatory. 1970s bathroom. It is clean and the staff were nice but if you require air conditioning to sleep in the heat, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hvar hotels

Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel faces the yacht moorings and is the perfect location in the old town. It is the original hotel in Hvar and this is reflected in the room furnishings and bathroom fittings which were quite basic. There was no air con, only a fan in the bedroom. Could be a bit hot in high summer. We were on 4th floor with high windows which did have a harbour view - but you had to stand on tiptoe to see out! But the location and the wonderful terrace breakfast area, the character of the hotel were highlights. Our booking was through Expedia and was a really good price - but at full price would not be worth the money..
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent.
Hvar has a reputation for partying and there was a fairly noisy disco bar nearby.with music till well after midnight - we opened the windows for a cooling breeze at night so it was a bit noisy. Beware if you are a light sleeper.
The town of Hvar is lovely. Plenty of restaurants round the harbour area and high quality shopping, crafts and art galleries in the tiny alleyways that make up the town
Things to do - walk along the waterfront paths at sunset. Climb to the fortress for a great view. For sea swimming take a walk to the left of the hotel to the Hula Hula beach cafe. Hire a sunbed and swim off the small pier. There is a small pebble sand beach below the Amphora hotel, but it was quite crowded, so continuing just round the corner is quieter and a better view..
Ferry info. First of all the Jardolinia website is not always up to date, so do check with official tourist information offices or Jardoninia ferry offices. We came to Hvar from the port near Dubrovnik on the once a week Thursday morning car ferry. That appears to be the only direct ferry. The alternative is a bus from Dubrovnik to Split and ferry from there. We arrived not at Hvar town but at Stari Grad which is the other town on the island and got a taxi as the ferry bus to Hvar was full. Leaving Hvar as foot passengers, there is a Jardolinia daily catamaran ferry around mid day direct to Split in summer. But on the Jardolinia website it is listed as once a week. The alternative is to leave around 7.30am which is a bit early, So make sure you check ferries carefully or you could be stranded.

Room Tip: Rooms have no air con, only a fan. This hotel will not suit you if you want a quiet night in high se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annesalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Palace Hvar is located in the centre of Hvar right next to the plaza. It has a very nice view of the harbour (We paid for the sea view), and a good breakfeast.

The room dosn't have AC (Luckliy it was not that hot when we visited Hvar. Would not recommend to stay here during the summer months!

The room had pretty old standards, and the bathroom could definetly need a revamp! Old tiles, and tarnished bathtub/shower. An upgrade is needed!

For the price we paid, the stay was to expensive with regards to what we get! Still give it 3 as the location and service from the staff was really good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon-Erik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#5 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hvar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hvar Hotel

Property: The Palace Hvar Hotel
Address: Trg Svetog Stjepana 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hvar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1869, Empress Elisabeth of Vienna was so impressed after discovering the city of Hvar, that she encouraged the building of the iconic Palace hotel and contributed to the financing and design. From the beginning the hotel was a great success welcoming guests from all over Europe establishing Hvar as a famous destination as it is today. The hotel has graciously aged charm and character mirroring that of the island. History lovers will also enjoy its central location,which provides romantic views of the ancient piazza and neighbouring buildings such as St. Stephenʼs Cathedral, and glorious sunsets over the bay. Guests can dine at the San Marco Venetian terrace overlooking the yacht harbour immersed in the heart of Hvar's historical architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Palace Hvar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Hvar
Palace Hvar Island
Palace Hotel Hvar Island
Hotel Palace Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing