We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I agree with what I have read by most people on here. The draw of the hotel is really the location. It is right in the center of town. Beautiful exterior and wonderful breakfast area, overlooking the harbor. However, wouldn't recommend this hotel in summer. WAY too hot, and even though our room overlooked the harbor, we got absolutely no breeze. The room was significantly hotter than it was outside. Made sleeping really difficult.

And yes, no wifi in rooms and even out in the lobby it was spotty. Not a huge issue, but every other hotel we stayed in in Croatia had no problem with wifi, so it was annoying.

Also, our room was noisy pretty late because of noise from the restaurants and bars. We weren't sleeping early though, cause we were too busy trying to cool down. But just a little irritating.

The front desk seemed understaffed, but the women that were working there worked really hard and were very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel has a lot of potential, being such a beautiful building with a lot of history, but it needs to be renovated a bit. A lot of character that isn't being utilized.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linds83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at The Palace Hvar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Linds83,
Thank you very much for taking your time to provide impressions about your stay with us at hotel Palace.
We are most grateful for your positive comments about the hotel appearance – a historic exterior and a wonderful breakfast area. We are also pleased to know that our staff made your stay an enjoyable one.

With regards to a/c at the hotel, the truth is that guest rooms do not have air conditioning, like the restaurant and front desk area do, but they all have ceiling fans, and we provide extra fans to rooms on request. Wi Fi is available at the lobby bar and front desk area free of charge. These are some of the amenities we have decided to introduce to the hotel to make our guests' stay more comfortable.

We continually work on improving our service levels, so that you can enjoy staying at Palace during your future visits. Thank you once more on your feedback! We look forward to seeing you in Hvar again.

With best regards,
Dubravka Novak
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 444 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Overall a good choice in Hvar, with prime location and a nice breakfast on the terrace. However, there are a few things missing. First; no air-con. This is a problem during summer. We slept with open windows, but our room was always clammy. Second; the bathrooms are old and musky. Poor ventilation contributes to the clammy feeling of the room, also, the thing that holds the shower head was broken. Third; no WiFi in the room, only in the lobby. This might not be an issue for many, but we've come to expect it throughout the rest of the Balkans. But apart from this, the hotel is a good choice

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oslostudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at The Palace Hvar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Oslostudent,

Thank you for choosing to stay at hotel Palace and for taking the time to post your comments.
We are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed our prime location and the breakfast on San Marco terrace.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the maintenance in your room. Please be assured that all reported malfunctions in room are reported daily and immediately acted upon.
Hotel restaurant and front desk area are air-conditioned, while rooms have ceiling fans, all in line with 3-star operation standards. Additionally, Wi-Fi is available at lobby bar, San Marco terrace and front desk area, free of charge for hotel guests.

Thank you once more for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to Palace in the future again.

Best regards,
Dubravka Novak
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

An old palace indeed, which we didn't mind. The location was too great to complain. If you're traveling on a budget, this place blows the other upscale hotels in the area out of the water. Our room was a sea view where our shutter, wooden windows opened out to a spectacular view of the harbor and yachts. There is no A/C so we had the windows open the entire time we were there, and the cool breeze felt nice for a change from A/C. The Palace is located in the heart of the action. It can get a bit noisy at night (we traveled during summer break so college kids were out partying), but this place is so worth it. There are dozens of charming, local restaurants around every corner in the main square. The cobblestone streets and laid back atmosphere makes this place a must-return in my book. The staff at The Palace is extremely helpful. There's free wi-fi downstairs and if you need a computer, there's an old laptop on the reception desk for guests to use. The free breakfast buffet was a nice treat and nothing beats the view from the buffet seating area. Again, it overlooks the main harbor of yachts, swimmers and water.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bliudolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at The Palace Hvar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Bliudolfin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of stay at hotel Palace and for sharing the great atmosphere of summer season in Hvar.
We are so pleased to read that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel, the service of our staff, the breakfast buffet and other hotel amenities.

Thank you once again for choosing hotel Palace for your stay in Hvar. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Dubravka Novak,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights this July. We were not sure what to expect because of the mixed reviews. I think that allieverhad's review "Average hotel - superb location" sums the hotel up. The hotel websites pictures don't lie but the rooms are not quite as nice as they look in the pictures. Such a pity they are not modernised a bit and A/C added.
Personally this hotel did the job for us, its location is probably the best in town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mar342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at The Palace Hvar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Mar342,
Thank you for your stay and sincere feedback. I am happy to hear that we have met your expectations and you appreciate the premium location of the hotel. The truth is that guest rooms do not have air conditioning, like the restaurant and front desk area do, but all they have ceiling fans, comfortable beds and are regularly maintained to meet the comfort level of a 3-star hotel.
We hope you enjoyed Hvar very much and that you will be back to The Palace in the future again!

Cordially,
Dubravka Novak
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The reviews of this place are hilarious. It was with great trepidation that we booked the Palace, on the basis that we had a week to go before our holiday and almost everywhere else was taken. We arrived and found that it was, all in all, a fairly average hotel. The pool is tiny, there is no a/c but we were staying in the height of summer and found that an open window and the ceiling fan (coupled with ear plugs at night) were more than adequate to keep the room cool. The location is second to none in Hvar. The breakfast spread is decent and the terrace is a beautiful spot. The room could have done with a 21st century makeover without a doubt, but was clean throughout. We were on the first floor so had no issues with wifi.

All in all, if you want a super luxury hotel, and want to hang out in your hotel by the pool all day, this is not the hotel for you, maybe try the Amfora or the Adriana. If you want a centrally located place to lay your head, the Palace is fine.

Room Tip: Room 104 has good wifi, a decent view, but close to the terrace. Good sea breeze at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allieverhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at The Palace Hvar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Allieverhad,
Thank you for choosing to stay at hotel Palace and for taking the time to post your comments.
We are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed our central location, the breakfast on San Marco terrace and all other aspects of your stay.
We hope you have enjoyed Hvar island and that you will be back to Palace in the future again.

With best regards,
Dubravka Novak
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was the second time we stayed in this hotel and I can just say that it was great. Rooms and bathrooms are really clean, and bed is so comfy. the service in the hotel is great, everyone is kind and helpful. we enjoyed the view and dinner at the terace. The show with crepes suzette was excellent. We are surely coming back and i could recomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna234_234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at The Palace Hvar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Anna,
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have especially liked dinning at our San Marco restaurant terrace. Your gracious comments about the cleanliness and service were shared with our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you at The Palace again!

Sincerely,
Dubravka Novak
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We've travelled to more than 35 countries and this was by far the worst room we've ever stayed in, at any price! Yes, the location is great and the staff was friendly but there is NOTHING that you could pay me to go back. We had a superior room with a balcony which had a peek view of the sea. No air conditioning, wi-fi that hardly worked, dirty carpets, stained pillowcases, and a mildewed shower curtain simply worsened the dated decor. The extra bed was a joke. My 9 year-old daughter sat on it and it practically collapsed. The dining terrace is nice, however and the breakfast was adequate. I'm surprised the suncani.hvar company would even put their name to a hotel like this given the other upscale properties they run on the island. Had there been any other hotel available last minute, we would've walked away from this hotel and eaten the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigardanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at The Palace Hvar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Tigardanna,
Thank you for visiting Palace and for supplying us with observations of your stay.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our superb location, one of the most beautiful dining terraces in Hvar and that our staff met your high service expectations.
I apologize for the inconvenience with extra bed, but please note that we have received no feedback from you or any comment on this subject during your stay with us. If this would have been the case, we would have reacted on it immediately. Please note that all our rooms are thoroughly cleaned on daily basis.
The restaurant and front desk area are air conditioned, but rooms have ceiling fans. A strong Wi Fi is available at the lobby bar and front desk area free of charge. These are some of the amenities we have decided to introduce to the hotel to make our guests' stay more comfortable.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, which will help us improve for your future stays. We look forward to seeing you at Palace again.

Sincerely,
Dubravka Novak
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#1 of 16 in Hvar
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hvar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hvar Hotel

Address: Trg Svetog Stjepana 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: $102 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hvar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1869, Empress Elisabeth of Vienna was so impressed after discovering the city of Hvar, that she encouraged the building of the iconic Palace hotel and contributed to the financing and design. From the beginning the hotel was a great success welcoming guests from all over Europe establishing Hvar as a famous destination as it is today. The hotel has graciously aged charm and character mirroring that of the island. History lovers will also enjoy its central location,which provides romantic views of the ancient piazza and neighbouring buildings such as St. Stephenʼs Cathedral, and glorious sunsets over the bay. Guests can dine at the San Marco Venetian terrace overlooking the yacht harbour immersed in the heart of Hvar's historical architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palace Hvar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Hvar
Palace Hvar Island
Palace Hotel Hvar Island
Hotel Palace Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing