We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Holiday”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I am always amazed by the complaints highlighted on Trip Advisor about excellent properties. We stayed here in peak season, during the last week in July. This is a beautiful hotel in a spectacular setting. It is a very large hotel with many facilities. The pool area is just as beautiful as the publicity photos suggest. We never struggled to secure sun loungers, bar service or lunch tables. The views from the breakfast buffet room are wonderful. Staff were incredibly polite, attentive and helpful. Amfora is one of the few large resort hotels I have been to which has managed to create modern, interestingly designed rooms - our room felt like a boutique hotel room. We really enjoyed the system where we stayed at one hotel and were able to eat, drink and use the facilities of all the other Suncani Hotels in the area at a discount. Very few places on the island accepted credit cards - we paid for almost everything we wanted with our room key. Amfora was a five minute walk to town. We loved the food, drink and entertainment at Riva, Bonj les Bains and Adriana - but we also loved returning to the quiet of Amfora to sleep. Food and drink were expensive everywhere on the island, but the hotel restaurants were surprisingly good value. The swim-up bar at the hotel was a treat. The buffet breakfast selection was decent but not amazing. This was the only time we were reminded that we were in a very large resort hotel. We loved the mix of cultures and languages both at the hotel and on the island in general. No one culture dominated. As an enthusiastic swimmer, I really loved the kilometres of roped off swiming area marked off from either side of the hotel bay. Hvar town was more sophisticated than most Mediterranean seaside towns with remarkably little tourist tat and a cosmopolitan, European crowd. We loved watching the boats and yachts moving around the busy harbour. We avoided the expensive hotel-airport transfer fees by using the public bus and ferry system which was incredibly easy and very inexpensive. There is no need to book this before arrival in Split. I would happily recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felice6605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    693
    370
    121
    92
See reviews for
352
920
40
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We had a really lovely time at the Amfora and heartily agree with most of the favourable comments made. We found staff pleasant, the hotel nice for a large complex, the rooms smart (with leaky showers though) and the pool area nice and well served

We would like to add that despite the location slightly out of town, we were woken up most nights by the bass beats of a nearby open air bar/club which ran from 12-4 am. We were so glad to have ear plugs with us (recommended by my husbands colleague who stayed at the Amfora a few weeks before us!). Maybe the impact of the noise depends on the room position with the north wing and garden rooms possibly being quieter (we were sea/pool view).

The only other negative issue is we noticed guests credit card details listed next to their names and room numbers on the housekeeping trolleys left in the corridors!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binkib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We spent a week at the Amfora at the end of june - july and had a great time, both in terms of the hotel and hvar itself. The location is great - in a little bay with a really lovely short walk round the coast, shaded by the pine trees, to the town. Yes the hotel is big and some may say unsightly from the outside, but its not that bad at all. The interior of the hotel definitely has the wow factor & our room (even though being a garden room) was big and the view from our balcony was of lots of trees (although we walked to the otherside of the hotel and those garden views might have been over a road with parked cars!) The room & the bathroom were lovely and very clean - i cant fault them. Yes the shower lets water spill all over the floor but we found that if you put a towel against the shower screen that it stopped water leaking.
re. the transfers - i researched this before so i knew that the transfer from the port to the hotel was free & that the catamaran is really cheap, so look into that first before and dont pay the hotel transfer prices. it is really easy & cheap! look for the amfora rep's when you get off the boat because they will drive your cases to the hotel & you can walk to the hotel.
The gardens and pool are lovely - the pool did start to get busy but it will obviously get overcrowded in peak season! we got pool loungers easily. they say the towel hut opens at 9 but it seemed to open before that with people reserving loungers but that is a universal problem. pool restaurant is expensive, but is convenient and you get a 10% discount. a mojito at the swim up bar or brought to your lounger is a must!
View from the breakfast room is great and the staff turn the tables round really quickly so its easy to find a table - we got window tables every time.
I dont agree that staff were rude at all!! we had one incident where we got checked out a few days early for some reason. our bill got charged to the credit card and the room key didnt work but everyone was very apologetic and it wasnt a big deal.
We had a fantastic stay and i really recommend the hotel and hvar itself. I am glad i didnt pick riva or the adriana because they'd be very noisy at night-time due to the proximity of the bars. Also amfora has the pool and beach!! We did spend one day away from the pool and beach when we went on a taxi boat to Palmizana which I also recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidaybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for staying with us at Amfora, hvar grand beach resort! We are most pleased that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that you feel that Amfora is the place to stay when visiting the island of Hvar, proclaimed ‘one of the most beautiful islands in the world.’
We appreciate your constructive observations with regards to some aspects of our services and promise that we will strive to improve for all our guests future visits.

We look forward to welcoming you to Amfora again!

With very best regards,
Your hotel Amfora management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
podgorica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I've stayed one week in Amfora hotel, and I cannot nothing complaint about. Hotel is very big, lobby is spacious and the pool is very nice. Very good thing for those who travel with children is so many restaurants around pool, as parents do not need to walk far with kids to have a meal. They serve food on the pool, and it's good and fast. Hvar town looks amazing, very modern and from the hotel it's 10 mins by walk. For couples I do suggest hotel Adriana, which is located near Amfora, but for families Amfora is ideal. Although, all leading hotels in Hvar are in the chain of Suncani Hvar hotels, and if you are a guest of any of them, you have 10% discount where ever you have a drink or a meal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oryjale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed at the Amfora June 2009 with my wife and 4 friends. First off, the hotel is always buzzing with an air of excitement and fun. The front desk staff was fairly helpful but seemed overwhelmed at times. The view from the hotel is spectacular! The pool and grounds are clean and well maintained. The seaside walkway from the hotel into the main part of Hvar is picturesque and only take about 10 minutes. Breakfast is plentiful with adequate quality. The workout facilities, on the top floor, offer great views but very few pieces of equipment. I went outside and ran along the water on a bright sunny day. That was way better than doing anything indoors. We setup massages through Amfora. The massages are done at the Hotel Adriana's Spa. The spa was quite nice and the massages were top notch. The rooms are small but servicable. The hotel is big and it is easy to get confused about where your room especially after too many Karlavackos. I would stay at the Amfora if in Hvar again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Not happy with our stay there. Over priced. Hotel facilities not four star standard. Our room was tiny and very expensive. Would not be recommending this hotel

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyaquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Day goes by in a relaxed fashion, getting on the lounge chairs under sunshades plentily available around the beautiful infinity & cascade simming pool with an unbeatable view to the bay and islands facing the resort. At least a couple of trips to the beach and bathing within the beautiful emerald green transparent water of the Adriatic make for a fully enjoyable day, from my experience no other place has the colors and lush vegetation diversity except for the Amalfi coast in Italy. However, Croatian sea water colors beat the ones in Sorrento or Capri hands down.

Rooms are gorgeous, only comment would be the bad idea of having sliding doors to the bathroom (had seen a few of those while travelling to other places on both sides of the Atlantic), soundproofing is far from ideal.

Terasse bar on the lobby level has gorgeous views over the bay and nearby islands, nice touch with the olive trees and lavender as part of the pool landscaping. Ridiculously high prices for cocktails. Convienience of charging to your room is tempting though at the few terasses in a beautiful setting seafront around Amfora, as well as a at the couple of locations in town (Adriana & the sports bar next to it).

My review of our incredibly beautiful stay in Hvar here:
http://aad01.blogspot.com/2010/07/croatia-and-winner-ishvar.html

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aad012008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#8 of 16 in Hvar
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Property: Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing