We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel just a few steps away from a trendy Hvar town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
stocholm
1 review
“Beautiful hotel just a few steps away from a trendy Hvar town”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hotel itself is almost perfectly located in a beautiful bay just a few minutes walking distance from the city centre. Our kids simply loved the spectacular cascading swimming pool. The only problem is that it gets a little bit overcrowed during the day. Family room was spacious and well maintained but a bit far away from the reception. The staff was overall very friendly and helpful especially when finding a proper room for us (we didn't like staying on a lower floor and wanted to change). Concierges gave us some great suggestions regarding day excursions and pointed out some spectacular beaches on the island. We loved our stay in Hvar and will definetely come back in a future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi-gurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    712
    384
    132
    98
See reviews for
375
952
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

What a strange trip. I can genuinely say that this hotel is a mixed bag. Starting with the good...the location is beautiful and for the most part the grounds are lovely. Hvar is absolutely one of the most incredible spots on earth. The good ends there. The bad...like others, we were not told that the "transfer" is free and were charged quite a bit for it. When we arrived, our rooms were not to our satisfaction. We had booked one room for the adults and one for our three children months prior, and asked for connecting rooms or rooms next to one another. The kids' room was five doors down, around a corner and down a hallway. I went back down to reception to ask them to change the rooms. The very rude desk clerk informed me that because I had booked a Superior suite that they could not accomodate me. I said that I would pay whatever it took to be next to my children. They left me standing at the front desk for ten minutes while the desk clerk talked to a "manager," then returned to tell me that I needed to take a seat becsause "other guests needed to check in." They then left me for half an hour while they handled every other guest and chatted amongst themselves. Finally my husband went back to check again. They told him that nothing could be done. We took the rooms...
Finally, the ugly...we found many of the staff to be rude and bored. Our towels were thin and folded sloppily on the towel bars. The bathroom flooded every time we showered. The kids' room smelled of mildew the entire time. We had to ask several times for sheets to be sent up to make up the sofa bed (housekeeping apparently determining this was our responsibility). Finally, we were overcharged almost 1000 dollars at check out. I happened to have brought my emails and confirmations with me. The clerk finally honored my demand to remove the room charges, but insisted that my emails with the hotel constituted an "offer" rather than a confirmation, even though I had to fax my credit card number to pre-pay the room a month prior to arriving!
Overall, this is a three-star hotel that needs a lot of work to maintain a four-star rating. But....Hvar is worth all of the trouble!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurnsFamily05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The hotel is a bit pricey for what you get. The hotel pool is overcrowded and we realized (because we ended up beside the towel hut) that they were allowing outside holiday makers to use the pool (at a price). There is a night club pretty close so you don't need to go as you can hear it from your room at 2.30 am . The breakfast is a lot to chose from but the quality is poor in my opinion. It is just an OK hotel... sorry

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Amfora is possibly the largest hotel in Hvar and is located at perfect distance to Hvar town. It is a nice stroll downtown or to the lovely Hula Hula beach bar along the coast.
Rooms are comfortable and nicely made with modern design. Some practical compromises due to the design aspect and the shower was not well isolated so there will be a mould problem soon. Already during our stay the room smelled slightly of mould. Unfortunately the daily cleaning was not very thourough and sloppy made.
Do not expect a healthy breakfast: oily fried eggs, muesli with chocolate (no other available) and black tea was not to find on some days. Plates were dirty and no special reaction to this among the staff when pointed out. Level of service was generally quite low but this might be expected in Croatia. Hotel could do with some international management.
Concierge was great though (especially Tomislava) who helped us out with transfers, car rental and general information.
Pool was nicely made, beware of strict rules of only 1 towel/person. In their prospect the claim to have a private beach. This is a beach club called Bonj le Bains, amazingly beautiful but at a daily extra rate of 50 Euro! Needless to say, it was empty every day. This could also be a nice locations for drinks in the eventing (beautiful lounges etc.) but the DJ had misunderstood the target group and was playing loud techno instead of chill out or soft house music. It was empty every night and a shame they are wasting such a great location.
General impression good except for bad breakfast, lack of atmosphere and service. Water in the bay outside the hotel is great and clear.
Fitnessroom was not worth visiting, this has not been renovated for a while and has only one treadmill, running machine. Can recommend jogging along the coastline instead.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTravelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ztudor, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Dear Madam and Sir,

Thank you for staying at Amfora, hvar grand beach resort and for taking the time to provide genuinly useful observations about your stay with us.

With regards to detected shortcomings, please be informed that all technical issues are handled daily with high priority and we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Our breakfast offers range of helthy products, seasonal fruits, healthy low fat yogurts, eight tipes of muesli and cold and hot buffet line with live cooking station, where our guests can have their eggs prepared to their perfection.

As for Bonj 'les bains' beach club, an architectural gem from the 1930's, one of the cornerstones of Hvar's classy image, we are very proud to be able to offer all guests the possibility to get away from the crowds that can sometimes be exhausting at times of the high season. There are no limitations to entrance to the Bonj at any time of the day, it is open for all guests in Hvar. At Bonj, we are able to provide the five-star service on one of the most luxurious beaches in the Mediterranean, were the guests can also enjoy romantic dinners in our top class „Steak and seafood“ restaurant.

In the end, thank you for your sharing your thoughts and experiences about your stay with us and we truly hope to see you again in the future.

For any further inquiries, please feel free to contact us at any time.

With best regards,

Hotel Amfora management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Not the most picturesque of buildings from the ocean but from the inside the view is beautiful across the Adriatic blue waters and of smaller Croatian Islands to explore.
A complimentary minibus from the hotel meets the Catamaran (from Split) in Hvar town for an easy air conditioned transfer but you can also walk to the hotel around the coast path (about 10 minutes walk).
Breakfast is a bit canteen style but the rest of the facilities are fantastic, the pool the loungers the complimentary entrance to Bonj Les Bains beach club.
Good customer service, friendly and attentive.
Location is great, walk in to town for a coffee, go sailing - great chill out after a crazy sightseeing tour of Split and Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysteryshopperBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Hvar is a really amazing place! We have just had our wedding there. It was just wonderful! I would recommend it to anyone.
We had stayed at Amfora hotel before, so when we started thinking about our wedding, there was no other choice. It's a big hotel in a beautiful spot, with a nice pool and close to the beach. So we decided to stay there for 10 days together with the most of our guests. Overall, it was OK, however, we believe there is much to be improved. First of all, the people at the reception desk are not really helpful. The check-in process takes ages and there is generally a queue. When we asked for a late check-out from the room where the groom was getting ready, it appeared to be such a big deal... The receptionist had to talk to a manager to allow us to do it. Our wedding planner booked a suite for us for the night before the wedding and onwards, but somehow there was a mistake with the date on the booking and it took like 30 minutes to find a suite for us. It was almost a favour of some kind. It looked like the hotel maintenance budget had been impacted by the GFC. The suite we eventually got did not impress us. The couch looked terrible with watermarks all over and when we moved it, there was food, like popcorn, that was just disgusting... and it was my wedding day...
Another thing is the gym - or lack of. It's a bit of a joke actually... We strongly recommend the hotel management reorganize it. It's a huge space on the top floor, stunning view from the windows, etc. but... it's a terrible gym. There are just a couple of machines, lot of weights and no comfort what so ever. It was very disappointing.
Well, there was no "congratulations" from the hotel either... But it's fine, it was the greatest holiday and the happiest day of our life anyway! So if you think about going to Hvar, you definitely should. It's a great-great place! But considering value for money, you'd better rent an apartment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We were looking forward to Hvar and Amfora so much as we've been coming here for years, we were however very disappointed to say the least. I knew Suncani Hvar and Orco group (owners) have big issues these days, but nothing could've prepared us for what we were to experience. We booked 2 junior suites for 5 nights @320eur/ night - a bit pricey but worth it we thought, big mistake.

Since we were traveling with friends and 2 toddlers, I called hotel 2 times prior to our arrival to make sure 2 extra cots were ready when we get there as kids were getting sleepy, I was told not to worry only to come to Amfora and be told that 1 suite is ready while the other one cannot be ready before 6 a clock as some 'drunk Russians; don't want to leave the room?! The check in time is 3pm and when I told the reception manager that, he said to have some understanding?! For 320eur a night I don't think so. So we had to wait and wait, finally decided to eat smth at the pool while the mess with our suite is sorted out - the food in the pool restaurant is terrible, dry, no taste...never ate there again. Mind you also, if you are coming with kids, besides the very limited pool restaurant menu, there is no other working restaurant for lunch in the hotel.

We were finally called to the reception around 4, asked to rest in another room until 6 pm when our suite would finally be ready, we did so only to come to our suite finally and find out our shower and fridge is not working. It took 2 days and me calling and talking to reception 4 times for them to fix it, so there I was at my balcony having my morning coffee while 2 guys were swirling the wall for half an hour, how nice.....they never fixed the fridge.

We asked for 2 water kettles for our 2 suits as we had two toddlers that drink formula morning/night, we were given only one and told this is the one used by staff, hotel doesn;t provide them.

Our rooms were not cleaned properly the first 2 days, we had to warn them about that too in order to get the proper service. We had to get up at 7am in order to get our towels on the pool chairs and 'reserve' them as there wasn't any left later on in the morning - full hotel and not enough space for everyone, but that didn't stop the management to let other non-hotel guests in as they were paying for entrance. I could go on and on about the management of this hotel and service we got there. It makes me sad as I had high hopes for Amfora couple of years back when it first got renovated. I am sure something will have to change drastically after this season. This was by far the worst service we got in any hotels so far and we do travel a lot. In the end, we didn't even get an apology for all the incoveniences we experienced.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#1 of 16 in Hvar
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#8 of 16 in Hvar
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Property: Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing