We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel but the rooms are rather small.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel but the rooms are rather small.”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel , the only slight disadvantage was the size of the rooms and the fact that bathroom is tiny and has closet-like doors but if you are on Hvar then you are unlikely to stay inside for too long, as the weather is nice and the scenery is amazing.
The hotel has a good pool with a nice bar for drinks and a light lunch. Buffet breakfast is really good.
Overall a good hotel, pricey (800 euro for 4 nights) but it is about 10 min walk from the harbour (and they usually pick up your luggage when u arrive), it is right by the beach and the sea view from the balcony is breath taking. If i went there again i mostly probably would stay there again.
p.s. it has free WiFi in the rooms

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    675
    360
    118
    86
See reviews for
337
900
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel, the first since the pool was finished.
The hotel is still the best on the Island, in my opinion. A little large and impersonal, but the facilities, location and views are great. Breakfast is served on the floor above the reception and the food is good whilst the views are fantastic.

The pool area is lovely, though a little crowded during high season. Get your towels early.

The gym is ok, a hugh room with great views again but it coud do with a few more machines.

The wi-fi is free and is operable throughout the hotel.

The standard rooms are a little small and the bathrooms a little to close to the bed, you have to be very good friends to share the standard rooms. The air con is great though.

The hotel is only a ten minute picturesque walk from town and we were collected by a shuttle bus from the ferry when it docked.

Hvar town is one of the prettiest places we've ever visited. The restaurants are all adequate, but nothing great. The bars are quite cool, the best ones being hidden down alleys.

Look out for a cool little bar next door to the park hotel with pretty red windows. The two sisters who run it are lovely - take them a mix tape.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We enjoyed many aspects of staying at the Amfora hotel.
PROS:
The hotel is very clean. If you take the catamaran or ferry over, there is a bus that waits to pick you up and bring you the hotel, no extra charge. The pool is as amazing as it looks on their website so if you want to lounge out or you have kids it is really fun. The restaurant is good and their is a great little lobby bar that overlooks the water that we liked. The walk to the main square is 15 minutes but its a pleasant pretty walk where you pass lots of restaurants, bars, boats and shopping on the way. We really enjoyed the location. Not to crazy in the middle of it all but still nearby. Great breakfast spread included in room rate.
CONS:
The room we booked for 220 euros a night was TINY. It reminded me of a cruise ship cabin. The bed took up the room with just enough space to walk around it. Everything is built in and well appointed for such a small space but I guess I just expected a larger more comfortable room for the US equivalent of about $300+ a night. The concierge we dealt with was not the most helpful. When the sailing trip we wanted to reserve was booked she had not one back up company to suggest. What a bummer. I can't believe a hotel that large doesn't have more then one company to call in for a boat trip on this island. Pool is full of kids and a bit noisy but its expected. Nothing unusually loud or irritating just the resort type atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_stayed_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a huuge hotel with lots of rooms. dont expect anything more than a holiday inn with a trendy decor.
our room was seriously about a 10 min walk within the hotel several buildings. We had to take a decrepit elevator that looked like a construction site to enter our room that had the vire of a bush (we had asked for sea view).
the breakfast was okay but there were so many people that we became a little disoriented.
The staff was nice and the hotel offers several amenities.
If you go with kids, its a good place to stay...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitcher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex geezer
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The hotel is large, modern, and easy to get lost in to start with. Thats the only minor bit of this review. We were picked up at HVAR from the Catamaran by the Hotel Courtesy bus, bags loaded for us, straight to the hotel which is round the next bay from the Main Harbour. This a big plus, as you are away from the crowds but can walk there from the hotel in 15 minutes round a path following the coast. The view from the Hotel Reception Balcony when you arrive is stunning, below you is the Pool area, then the islet, the boats moving and the Islands beyond. We spent many hours in the evening with a drink here just well just enjoying the view and burning into out memory. Oh and yes you can see the mega expensive big boats either sailing past or just sitting there for us normal mortals to gaze at.
Breakfast is a buffet which is whatever you want and more, a good way to avoid needing a large lunch, very acceptable, and you get the same view as above if you are lucky. There is a prefectly good buffet in the evening which we had once.
The pool has loungers, the Hotel issues Towel cards which you hand in to get towels yes obvious i know but once you place that towel on a lounger, its yours for the day even if you put it on there at 7am and dont get to it till 11 30am and boy do they go fast, if you have not placed squatters rights on the loungers of your choice by 9 30am , there aint any left as we discovered on our first full day.
There is an excellent Italian style restaurant if you leave by the pool and walk left up the hill for 50 yards. If you follow the bridge going across the end of the pool to the right, the Mistral restaurant is excellent, white table cloths, excellent food and ambience to die for. Book on weekends. Restaurants abound in Hvar if you want a walk, 10% off in some placed if using the Hotel charge card. Hvar and the walks are perfectly safe at all times. Continue past this restaurant in the evening and you can see sunsets to die for take a camera and get stunning pics.
We can give the highest praise to the Concierge staff who were simply brilliant at helping us in excellent English as our Croatian language skills are in an infancy stage currently.
We asked for the Off The Road day tour which in undertaken by Secret Hvar Company person in a 6 person Toyota vehicle. At the end of the day we knew as much about Hvar, Croatian history culture as we could have asked for, we had seen villages which were deserted, the view of Hvar and all the Islands from the absolute top of the island, we had been in the sea in a non tourist cove, eaten a true Croatian lunch, seen Hvar city from the highest point above it well above the fortress and been in the company of our guide who was the most charming, knowledgable, person. Our advice is TAKE THIS TRIP if you want to learn more about the island, its history and to see the beauty of the whole area
We wanted to see the Blue Cave and around the island, so we asked for the Speedboat , we were given a Skipper and the powerful Speedboat (not cheap if you have only 2 of you and the speedboat takes 12 and then have to pay the full amount .. dont ask) but it was brilliant, we went the Viz island, saw the caves were taken to the ZORI restaurant on Parmizana island for lunch where i had the best Tuna steak i have ever had , saw the coast of Hvar and swam off the boat in the clearest cleanest water in a small cove where the water was such we hardly had to do anything except float. Brilliant 8 hours we will never forget AGAIN DO IT. The Concieges sorted it all for us .
Amfora is just what we wanted, style, views , pool area, near Hvar, nice clean room, we had the Park view which means you dont see the sea at all, just a road and trees.
One real point is when you find your room, remember how you got there, we got lost twice on our first day, and different lifts dont quite go the same place ie Level B3 and Level B if you go you will see what i mean.
Would we go again, yes, slightly out of main season, the hotel was fully booked but you never felt it was crowded even at breakfast.
All the staff speak excellent English which is the language between other languages when people are speaking in the Hvar area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roywolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I can barely pick fault with this hotel as everything about it will meet you expectations. The reception/lobby area is very nice and modern and check-in was really efficient. Our room wasn't quite ready as we arrived earlier than we were supposed to so we went to the pool area and ate lunch in the Cascades restaurant which was again very nice.
When our room was ready, the cases were brought up to the room. The rooms are, as mentioned in other reviews, a bit pokey but they're really stylish and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. I recommend paying a little extra for a sea-view as the 'park' view is more a 'car-park' view.
The pool area is lovely but like most hotels, sun loungers are hard to get unless you reserve them with you pool towel. You get your pool towels with a pool card given to you on check-in and this must be returned at the end of your stay otherwise you have to pay for the towels.
The private beach, Bonj Les Bains, is very chic with stone cabanas etc. and they even come round with watermelon after lunch which is very refreshing! The sun loungers at Bonj were included in our room but I think it would be quite expensive if it wasn't.
The hotel restaurant has excellent view. Breakfast has everything you would want and I would recommend having the buffet for dinner as there is plenty of choice and costs 22 euros which is excellent value compared with some of the restaurants in Hvar Town (the nicest restaurant we found there was Luna so I would recommend asking the concierge about that one!).
We also liked the fact that the Amfora was part of the chain, Suncani Hvar Hotels, which meant you could get a 10% discount in any of the other hotels on the island. The Riva and The Adriana are both very nice.
The staff are very friendly and obliging which made a change from the other restaurants we went to in Hvar town where service was slow.
Overall, I thought the hotel was fantastic and I will recommend staying here and Hvar to all my friends!
General tips:
Try to get access to Bonj included in your stay
The ice-cream stall between the hotel and Bonj sells the best ice-cream for around 80p (7 Kuna) each!
Take jelly shoes for the sea as it is rocky and there are lots of sea-urchins
Hire a boat from the stall opposite the ice-cream to go around the Pakleni islands
Pre-Book the Jadrolinja ferry as tickets sell out
Hvar is beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank screenname79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel has everything you would want, lovely pool and bedrooms in very luxurious surroundings. It is situated in a beautiful bay with fantastic views. Very cosmopolitan clientelle so its nice to be surrounded by visitors from across the globe. The staff are extremely courteous and efficient and all the rooms are spotlessly clean.
I would recommend this hotel for a "special" event - its not cheap but its one of the best hotels we have every stayed at. Hvar town is only a short walk away - perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Property: Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing