We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2nights in April with friends, booked 2 rooms right beside eachother. Hotel staff very friendly and accomadating. Rooms clean and well kept, just a little small, no floor space to keep luggage. Reception area,Bar and poolside very spacious and nice. Breakfast was good, with a very wide variety of food and drinks. Had a massage whilst there- was very nice and masseuse very professional.

The hotel is a short walk from the main town side where bars,resturants and harbour is.. Defo recomend this hotel.

Only down side is the pool was too cold to get in to :(

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mynosehurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this lovely review with us and we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed we put a great accent to quality of our food&beverage products, breakfast especially, and therefore we are proud to serve our guests with locally grown and homemade products.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so feel free to contact us directly for your next reservation.

With Kind Regards
Amfora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Amfora Grand Hotel is located maybe 2kilometers away from Hvar center. We stayed five nights at this place. It was our first time in Hvar and about the Hvar as a place we can tell only good things. Town is clean,sea is amazing,people are helpful and chill :). Problem with the hotel is: rooms are too small,not worth value for money,bed is really uncomfortable... :(

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amam29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Hvar. We really focus that despite technical construction of the room, we provide our guest with overall authentic experience- from front desk to food and beverage.

Hvar is really an amazing place, and it is nice to read you enjoyed it.
We hope to welcome you again,

With Kind Regards
Amfora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel as part of a tour to the Dalmatian coast. This was the best of the 4 hotels we stayed at, we enjoyed everything of it, starting with the grounds and the swimming pool, and our room facing the swimming pool and the water, lovely location. There is a path along the coast from the hotel to the center of the town, about 15-20min stroll will take you to the superb view of the bay/marina with the fortress at the top, the best way to get into town. The service was excellent, we had a problem with the water temperature, and it took less than 5min from when we called reception to the moment a person came to fix it, which he did. Everyone at reception was very accommodating and polite, specially Mario and Jaksa, genuinely wanted to make their guests happy about staying at this hotel. Breakfast was good, and the service also very attentive. We really enjoyed the time we stayed at this hotel, Hvar is a beautiful island, we left with the feeling we wanted to stay longer in Hvar and at this hotel, but of course wanted to continue our tour along the beautiful Dalmatian coast; however, if at another trip we come back to Hvar for sure we will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your stay in Hvar sharing this lovely review with us! It is always a great honor to be praised as a best hotel on the Croatian coast and the most important acknowledgment to our team that is doing a good job. We wish to welcome you again some day and feel free to contact us directly for your reservation at alevak@suncanihvar.com.

With Best Regards
Amfora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I was domestic guest of hotel with my wife. Visited hotel for two days over 1st May holidays. I must be given the worst room in hotel although I booked for Superior room. First dissapontment was when I first entered the room. The room was modern but too small for 4 star standard at least for my prevoius experience around the world. The room was dirty ( not properly cleaned). Curtains where damaged and dirty like someone had wild party last night. Wall above bed although nicely decorated was messed up with something. Drop which overfilled the cup was when cleaning staff didn't replaced our dirty used towells. This make me compleately pissed of that I said to my wife pick up the things and let's go to some other place which deserves our money. On reception desk clerk was rude and didn't upset at all like my complaines are common thing. He didn't even appologized to me but he just served me cold with bill which contained early check out fee. If only somebody warned me about this Hotel I whould never got there for 150eur per night


Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Lukas414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review and sharing your experience. I would like to deeply apologize for all the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Your comment was shared with all of our Front office staff and management team to discuss how can we, despite technical construction of the room, improve overall guest experience. It is not acceptable within our company to provide low level of customer service, so I can assure you that a great measures will be taken as handling guest complaints and deliver sunsational experiences is our top priority.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in Amfora and make your stay unforgettable!
With Kind Regards
Amfora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went for an Easter holiday to this hotel, booking the "Deluxe two bedroom suite" for our large family - which is the most expensive room the hotel has. Turns out I paid for a terrible 5-day experience. The location is indeed lovely, and maybe in the summer the hotel provides an OK level of service. But not in April. We were treated to:
- A truly awful breakfast. The selection was OK, but the quality was terrible. If you went to the local store, bought the cheapest items you can find and then left them out for 2 or 3 days - that would be the breakfast.
- An ice cold pool. No one swam.
- A dirty, semi-closed beach that still had the remains of last year's parties on it. A six month off season should have given them plenty of time to clean and prepare it.
- No advertised services working, including no concierge and no "Bonj beach club", and very few staff.
- An empty mini-bar and room service food that continued the breakfast tradition of truly bad food.
- An OK room, that was certainly not worth the money paid for it (and we got 25% of the advertised rate). At least it was fairly clean.

This hotel should be lucky to have 2-stars. I would recommend to avoid it at all costs. I have heard that the Suncanihvar chain has had financial difficulties, and it shows. There seems to be very little money or care going into supporting this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and pointing out all the things you think we should pay more attention to. We were all very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations, but also very sad to read your statement " hotel that doesn't care" , as we really do care, as much about our island and our hotels.
Our pool is outdoor pool that is heated trough solar energy and the temperature is therefore dependent on weather, and the beach in front of our hotels is a public beach. But thank you for pointing out those details to us, we already took care of that.

We hope Hvar was a lovely destination for your family and despite all you had a lovely vacation!
With Best Regards
Amfora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We been there in 2012 and 2013, and We are going back in july 2014. Because its a perfect hotel. We traveld with 2 children and They love the hotel an pool. Nice rooms with sea view and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortenstavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for being our loyal guest and for sharing this wonderful review with us. Please contact us directly at alevak@suncanihvar.com for your next reservation with us and we would be pleased to upgrade your stay.

With Kind Regards
Anja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is beautifully facing the sea, with nice pool and a private beach.

Design is modern and wi-fi is OK.

Breakfast choice is good, but could be better.

The hotel is not close to the pier, but walkable distance.

When I first stepped into this hotel, it looked hip to me and suddenly felt the "Wow" in my head when passing the pool to the entrance. It was as if I had entered into some kind of Hollywood movie setting.

Amenities in the bathroom are nice, minimal packaging to save the environment, and also good quality products inside.

It looks like that it is the only really large hotel of this class in the area, and I think it is a good place to stay. If the price is right, I wouldn't mind choosing to stay here again. Somehow when visiting such sun and beach island, I tend to favour the bigger hotels with more facilities so that I can have something to do on rainy days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripMember06092015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Amfora hotel for your vacation in Hvar and we are pleased to hear about your experience. We would be happy to see you again, and feel free to contact us directly for your next stay on the sunny island.

With Best Regards,
Amfora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: $105 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing