We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
doncaster uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotel with a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel,set elevated with sea view .we booked a sea view room,and was worth it.breakfast superb,but the only disappointment was the lack of a hotel restaurant!.there are numerous eateries accessed by a coastal walk into the town.all in all a great choice,but what on earth is the bathroom toilet all about?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkynperky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    630
    342
    113
    82
See reviews for
322
838
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Amfora in mid-September 2013. We had a "superior" room with a double bed overlooking the Adriatic.

Pros

- We liked the location. It's about a 15 minute walk west of the main square\the riva (waterfront promenade) and about a 10 minute walk east of Hula Hula (beach club). So, it's close to each but not right in town with the bars, clubs and restaurants and therefore relatively quiet. Note that the walk from Amfora to town is on a cobblestone path and it may be frustrating for girls in heels.
- The hotel property is clean and the hotel staff are generally pleasant and helpful. Check-in was relatively quick.
- The hotel property (including our room) had great views of the Adriatic Sea and the Pakleni Islands.
- Our room was a "superior" room with a double bed on the top floor (the pool is on the ground floor and I believe reception was on the second floor) with a view of the pool and the Adriatic Sea and the Pakleni Islands. The room had modern furnishings, the curtains did block out the sun and most noise and there is a safe and mini-fridge.
- The breakfast was good - good variety and hot dishes were generally hot.
- The pool area was fine - we always found chairs and it was relatively quiet (although this was mid-September and it was not peak season).

Cons

- We weren't expecting more, but the "superior" room with a double bed is merely a room with a double bed and about two feet on either side. The curtains are held up by velcro and did fall a few times (no big deal). The wi-fi is very weak and only worked right next to the door. The bathroom has modern furnishings but the designer should be fired: (i) the sink faucet extends into the middle of the sink and water pours out into a "v", resulting in no space to wash your face or rinse your mouth etc...without hitting the faucet and water splashing on the counter and floor, (ii) the shower glass is only a few feet long and does not prevent water from the shower from splashing on the floor and (iii) a plank\board of sorts is laid overtop of the toilet. The toilet was fine (I suppose it gives you room on either side to put toiletries etc...but it's bizarre) but the sink and shower were a pain and we had to get extra hand towels to constantly soak up the splashing water.
- The hallways adjacent to the rooms do not have carpeting. We were woken up by guests pulling their luggage early one morning (not their fault). Again, another brilliant design feature.
- The water in the pool was freezing and much colder than the Adriatic, notwithstanding that the pool does get sun. In certain spots, there was also a slight smell of sewage.

Summary

Notwithstanding the cons, I would stay here again because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Amfora hvar grand beach resort and we really appreciate your review. We have noted every detail that you suggested we should improve and we are paying more attention to the temperature of the pool water and overall pool area. Your comment was shared with all of our Front office staff and management team to discuss how we can despite technical construction of the room and bathroom improve overall guest experience.

We hope to welcome you soon in Hvar,
Amfora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

There ste no words to describe the time se had, so I don't understand the people who are not pleased with service and offer in Amfora. I agree, there are things that can be better, but they are really trying. I don't know about you, but for us they were so helpful, we even took a picture with stuff at the reception. The Indian summer is so magical here. I recommend the afternoon coffee on the reception terase. The view is magical.
The food is great too, but we usually ate in the center of the town. We didn't use car once because everything is few minutes away. Nice job for Amfora! They are really doing their best. Tnx for everything!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mmmmmmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I just love to go on vacation in September. There are not so many people, it is still warm and it's pure pleasure because it isn't so hot, and you just can enjoy. This year I choose Hvar because I had to see this island because of all good reviews in travel magazines. For accommodation I choose Amfora hotel because for me it was the best measure of price and quality. The view is magnificant. The breakfast on the terase was so romantic, and the locals are real Mediterraneans with lots of temperament but also lots of kindness.
The stuff in hotel was very professional. They pleased every our need for extra towels, candies, more wine and etc. One day it was raining and they let us lie down under the sunshade on the pool area. And they were pleasant on every our question.
I hope to come back again here. Not only to Hvar which is one of the most beautiful places that I have ever seen in my life, but also to Amfora, and I hope to come back in September, because the Autumn is so romantic.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent two nights here in relatively big suite. It was truly amazing, from the staff which cared to our every need, to the jaw-dropping views.
The food in restaurant is excellent to. In the evening you will get very romantic atmosphere, in the mornig you can have your breakfast watching the sea and feeling the warm summer breeze. When our vacation was over I had a feeling that our only regret is not being able to afford staying here for a week every year. Yes, this sounds so silly, but I am just so inlove in Hvar and in it's energy and it's people. We were so lucky to have stayed in Amfora because they did such a good care of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We heard about Amfora from our friends that have stayed here two Years ago and thay loved it! So we didn't have any doubt about this place. We really love everything here form our room, service to amazing pool. Location is great, if you want to party or go to see the old town, everything is 5 minutes from the hotel. Everybody at reception is so nice and kind, you make friends with them immediately. Hope that this Review will be helpful and that you will love this place too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary2704Poppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at this purported luxury property. As other reviewers have noted, even the superior level rooms are impractically small. What the designers may have conceived as chic touches are a nuisance. The rain shower head is disproportionately large for the narrow tub and short splash pane making flooded floors unavoidable. The hair dryer is in the one closet drawer and is plugged into the rear wall of the closet making for an awkward hair drying experience. The hot food at the included breakfast buffet was room temperature even though we arrived at the start of breakfast service. The only positive was the location which was a less than ten minute walk to the harbor side restaurants and sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tasteful_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Amfora hvar grand beach resort and we really appreciate your review. Your comment was shared with all of our hotel employees and management team to discuss how can we, despite technical construction of hotel interior, improve overall guest experience. Suncani Hvar Hotels supports local agriculture and we really try to offer fresh, local products at our breakfast buffet so we deeply apologize if you didn't experienced that. We will make sure our service is always flawless and we hope to see you again in Hvar.

Kind Regards,
Amfora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Property: Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing