We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed view but overall good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixed view but overall good”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The key thing to note when booking this hotel is to not be deceived by the websites images of the rooms. We booked a superior sea view room expecting what we saw on the website, what we got matched the images of the standard room - when we went to check we had been given the correct room we were advised that superior simply stands for the room level you are given with type of view rather than the actual room itself. Luckily we had a top floor room on the corner with a balcony which stretched around two sides of the room so our view was great, however, i don't think the website itself makes this differentiation clear enough and thus we were left disappointed upon arriving for our 8 night stay. When we stated the cost we were paying to stay there was quite high end for the room we had, the acting manager told us they own most the hotels in the area and can charge what they like as there isn't competition. However, we did receive some compensation which at least showed acknowledgement.

We thought breakfast offered a wide range of options and room service (when they finally answer the phone) was speedy. However, the stains across the leather seats, lack of drawers/shelf space within the rooms and lack of something as basic as a face flannel which you expect from a 4 star hotel stops me from giving the Amfora a glowing review. Towels in the rooms were also thin and worn and often we received stained ones around the pool. There was also a strange screeching noise in our room which happened every 5 minutes ish which was frustrating at sleeping time and which we could not work out what it was.

We also found concierge quick to try and deal with your requests thus making it feel rushed compared to service we have received across other 4 and 5* hotels and when asking for restaurant suggestions, only pointed in the direction of the sister hotels.

In summary, the hotel is big and stands out from the crowd in Hvar town and the location is good. Im glad we stayed at the Amfora, we just felt slightly mis-lead and certain things were not up to a 4* standard we expect.

Note: when walking to and from the hotel at night there is a line of tacky bars blaring music to drunken young people. Whilst young myself, I found it frustrating each night to battle through the mirage of people and not what i was expecting to find in such a beautiful and historical town.

Room Tip: Request a high floor to aid your view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    697
    371
    123
    93
See reviews for
354
926
40
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sollentuna
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Amfora hotel is a very large complex set close by the shore and surrounded by pine woods and with the most amazing view over the sea and the Pakleni Islands. The hotel is spotless and the breakfast is splendid, taken in the dining room with a spectacular view. The room we had was fairly small and the bathroom had the strange toilet seat described by other guesrts - like an old-fashioned outside lazvaztory - but was spotlessly clean. The bed was the best I have ever slept in. Rooms in this hotel can be amazingly expensive but it is an exceptionally beautiful place to stay. Hvar is 15 minutes walk along the coastal path through the aromatic pine woods and right next to the sea. A wonderful place to spend a week!

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a sea view - it is worth every penny and you would regret not having done so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECDSollentuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viterbo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice hotel by the beach. minimalistics rooms, very good breakfast, buffet dinner for 19Euros is a good value for money. Swimming pools are clean, too much people there in august. Staff is friendly and useful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andalaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is fabulous and the pool complex is so little used that there is privacy for everyone somewhere. Breakfast is good but if you want to eat you have to walk into the town. The only evening food is room service or a buffet which has to be the worst anywhere in the world. School dinners were never this bad...we looked and left having decided we would walk into town every night regardless of the weather. Bring an umbrella if you don't want to go hungry in the rain. This is a real drawback to the hotel facilities. EVERYTHING is of such a high standard with stunning bathrooms, views, pool areas, bar and lunch, breakfast is a good international spread and service that they need to provide an evening restaurant especially in the thunderstorms.

Room Tip: Request a sea view. It is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

nice walking distance to the downtown hvar hubbub and a real resort feel. the pool area is incredible and when we were there, we saw 3 weddings going on simultaneously in various parts of the hotel. all were well appointed with impressive sea views. this place had the best breakfast i've had at any hotel. yummy. enjoyed swimming in the adriatic and soaking it all in. the weather was perfect. i will say the bathrooms are a tad on the small side but other than that, happy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank namchegompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Had a room overlooking the sea. Room rather small, too much unnecessary furniture. Kept finding the cleaners trolley outside the room,main concern was it was blocking a fire exit,did report it but still remained. Good balcony outside the bar,high up to admire the view. Buffet style breakfast. Nice walk into Hvar town by the sea.

Room Tip: A sea view, the room from the back would not be attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed here for two nights and attended a function nearby. The hotel staff were very welcoming if slightly slow. Rooms very nicely finished if a little small and in need of a few bits of maintenance. Views from ocean facing rooms is beautiful. Location works very well for short walk into the beautiful port area. would definitely return

Room Tip: Choose the ocean rooms the other views are disappointing - worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleorchard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#8 of 16 in Hvar
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Property: Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing