We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...yet again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great...yet again”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our sixth annual holiday visit to Amfora caused me to provide another review for my wife and I.

Something happened at Amfora between when we left in August 2012 and when we left earlier this week. The service got better though it was never lacking in the past!

From check in through check out (and everything in between) we simply experienced superior service. Look for Evona at the front desk to have the staff address your needs. Marija at the pool towel area always has a smile. Housekeeping, waiters/waitresses/bartenders were all outstanding. The hotel was full yet it seemed that there was a staff associate for each guest. They were always cleaning!

The pool, views, location to city center, breakfast, etc. were always outstanding. Be sure to spend a day at Bonj les Bains and have a sunset drink at Hula Hula.

Can't wait to write another review after our visit next August.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay at our beautiful Amfora grand beach resort. Thank you for staying with us again and for posting your review. Thank you for acknowledging our service, we are happy you have been satisfied. It will be our pleasure to welcome you at Amfora for the seventh time!

Cordially,

Igor Tabak
Amfora Resident Manager
itabak@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    652
    346
    114
    83
See reviews for
326
866
38
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked for four nights in this hotel, because we wanted to stay in Hvar Town in high season in a somewhat decent place. We had to pay a lot of money, and then we were curious what to expect, because of the diverse reviews on this site. I guess everyone must have had his/her own experience with this hotel, some people must have had bad luck with the room they were given. But we were not discontent:
- our superior room was well layed-out, not big, a pleasant modern design, no sea view but with a balcony overlooking terraces at the seaside of the hotel, near the main building
- enough place for storage, I had to put my suitcase under the bed, no problem
- service was good, the room was kept well cleaned
- the shower door sometimes leaked some water on the floor of the bathroom, but this was no big problem
- the mini bar fridge was not really cold, but we only used it to store some fruit anyways
- breakfast was OK: fresh brewed coffee was available (ask for it)
- nice bar overlooking the little bay in front of the hotel
- we had learned about the swimming pool trick (" occupying" a chair early in the morning by leaving a towel or something), but most of the times some chairs were free even during the day
- music in pool area was OK, sometimes even good, generally not too loud, and stopped early in the evening
- near the beach, chairs could be hired at different price levels at acceptable distances from the hotel
- the tourist information office told us to walk along the coast towards the hotel, about 10-15 minutes from the ferry. And then 44 stairs with luggage to the elevators. But it is also possible to walk along the road and arrive at main entrance level, or arrange for transport by the hotel.
- some people wrote that the reception desk could be very busy on arrival, so we decided to take our time and have a coffee before check-in

So we were content with this hotel, quite an achievement to maintain this level of service during high season

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. We are very happy you have had a wonderful vacation and that you left satisfied. Also, thank you very much for acknowledging our level of service. It will be our pleasure to welcome you at Amfora next time you visit Hvar!

Cordially,

Igor Tabak
Amfora Resident Manager
itabak@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

One of the best vacation ever! Period! If you haven't, you must go here! The people were amazing! Not only the stuff but other guests of the hotel were culture and polite. They truly want everything to be perfect for each guest - It made us feel so special. Also, domestics were polite and friendly. The beach being next to the hotel was great, but the view form the pool area of the hotel towards the sea, is so amazing, really. Having breakfast and lunch in the hotel actually helped us save some money because this town isn't so cheap. A huge thanks to the Amfora team for the first of many stays and truly experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy you have felt special as our guest and that you have enjoyed your stay at Amfora so much. Your comments are our greatest reward. Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at Amfora grand beach resort next time you visit Hvar!

Cordially,

Igor Tabak
Amfora Resident Manager
itabak@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We found our room to be quite small for a superior grade but we did have fantastic ocean views. The bathroom was only just adequate in size and the toilet was an eye- opener ! Reminded us of the Aussie outback toilet from our past....a square box, square lid over the pan. Not what I would call modern!! Poor design with shower over bath, the glass divider was inadequate as water leaked all over the floor, the sink taps sprayed water everywhere when turned on and the sink plug didn't hold water. We were very disappointed that you had to pay for the use of the day beds to lay on down by the waters edge. As we were paying high price for the privilege of staying there one would expect this to be part of overall facility. It cost us 650 kuna, or $ 128.00 AUD so we didn't have to lay on rocks !!The pool area looked amazing and well organised especially for kids. Being the busy season it was packed with people so hard to find spot. The breakfast buffet was very good but when we dined one evening in the restaurant we found the buffet meals on offer very ordinary. The Hotel is a nice convenient short walk into town. Overall a pleasant stay but can be improved in areas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Amfora and for posting your review. We are happy you have enjoyed your overall stay. As for spending your day at Bonj ‘les bains’, the most exclusive beach club in Hvar, that is an independent facility and the prices reflect the exclusivity. There are many spots in Hvar where you can spend your days by the beach. Thank you for your comments and please know that we would be happy to welcome you in Amfora again.
Cordially,

Igor Tabak
Amfora Resident Manager
itabak@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pros:
- great food with several mains available.
- clean hotel with helpful staff.

Cons:
- Terrible airport transfer. Left waiting at airport for 6 hours.
- You have to challenge to get what you are entitled too.
- Made to feel unwelcome at Windows on Hvar resturant

Myself and my partner recently visited and had a package which entitled us to 3 evening meals, afternoon lunch at the Windows on Hvar resturant and a massage. The hotel is very nice with a great location, but things were frequently executed poorly. Firstly upon arrival the staff didn't know anything regarding the package we had, as a result we had to provide our own proof of what we were entitled too,the feeling was that if we couldnt prove then we wouldnt recieve. The lunch we had included at the Windows on Hvar resturant was rushed through like the staff didn't want us there, and were given the wrong food. Upon checkout extras were added to the bill which we had to have removed, and worst of all we were dumped at the airport by our transfer instead of taking us to Split for the morning as per the package. we had to wait at the airport for 6 hours to fly home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestReview556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have spent seven days at the Amfora and must say that the experience was really like never before. The room, grounds and facilities were amazing and the staff extremely professional and friendly. They went out of their way to accommodate our every request.

It is a mix of the Hvar, Mediterranean and really positive energy in Amfora. The best thing, beside the magnificent view (from the room and from the reception's terase) was the pool area. It looked like you re in little heaven, with a lots of water 

The next great thing was the location. This hotel is close to anything. In the morning we drank coffee in the old town that was 5 minutes walk from the hotel, in the afternoon we drank cocktails on the Hula Hula beach that was 3 minutes walk from the hotel, and in the evening we went to the Veneranda club, which was just near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilian269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Amfora was the best place to stay in Hvar, all is in location, and you don't have to drive far to have fun because the whole fun is around you - form swimming to going out is all about 10 meters form the hotel. The service during our stay was outstanding, especially the front desk manager was such a great help in all phases of our vacation. The front desk manager I believe his name was Igor, or something like that was such a great help he even recommended us a place for domestic dinner and it was the Best fish meal that we ever had. Can't wait the next time we will be here, there is so much to see on this island, and the Amfora is definitely the best play to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Property: Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing