We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Koln
1 review
“Always great”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here. We'd love to stay again and would recommend it to others.

We had a brilliant holiday at Amfora, staying in our regular room that we booked months earlier. Check in was smooth and we were delighted to be offered a room overlooking the main pool. We love the service in Amfora, food is also great, but we usually eat in the town, we often have a breakfast in hotel where there was a little bit of crowd but all in all it was ok.

The big pros regarding Amfora is the space within the pool area (especially the super quiet second pool which we loved) and it's location, its in the middle of everything in the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    652
    346
    114
    83
See reviews for
326
866
38
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Amfora Hotel in August 2013. The three of us (me, my wife and our 5 year old son) had a great time there despite the hotel not being the most child friendly hotel we've ever stayed at (it's not anti-children - just not quite as good for small children as other hotels). We got the impression the hotel was really geared up for younger adults who liked the music pumping out of the pool bar every day.

The good things: the location - far enough away from the town centre to not be disturbed by any noise but close enough to be able to walk into it in 5 minutes for dinner every evening. Also the rooms were clean and relatively large. The air con in the rooms is excellent. The pool was by far the best thing about the hotel though.

The not so good things: it was expensive for what it was: it's probably just about a 4 star hotel but we paid 474 Euro per night for a junior suite. The bathrooms need updating - they look a bit tired, the water pressure is poor and the lighting is bad.

If you want a hotel with fairly good amenities, an excellent pool and within easy walking distance of Hvar Town, this is the only real choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeagleDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and kindly upgraded us to a junior suite as it was our honeymoon.The location is great, walking distance to town. The highlight for us was the swimming pool, which had an amazing sea view and a fun swim-to bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John220480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When you are travelling with children you always look for the best hotel for them, and before we booked Amfora i was looking this reviews and lot of people were commenting positive about Amfora and content for children. And truly... From the kids room, where they have been the whole afternoon drawing, playing and painting, to the little pools and water toboggans, they are still talking about this vacation and for me, as a parent, that is the most important thing. That is why I can say only THANK YOU Amfora!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location with stunning views, small but attractive rooms and bathrooms, good breakfast, lovely staff and on a beautiful coastline with an interesting, pretty town within easy walking distance - ideal for families of all age groups. Sister hotels have very good restaurants and bars and a lovely spa and all can be charged to the room card - great offers booking directly with the hotel e.g 10% off all F&B outlets and euros 100 credit. Buffet excellent value for money although we didn't try it.....don't buy half board in advance as its the same price once you are there. use the hotel transfers as it is much easier.

Room Tip: Best value rooms are without sea views as you get the sea view from the restaurants, bars and pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisOn098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent location, I would say the best on the island, minutes away from the city centre by walk . The walk is lovely.
We booked see view room and I would recommend it.
The breakfast is buffet time and the choice is excellent from full English to continental .
You could also eat dinner at the hotel's restaurant at 19 euros a person and you will be not disappointed. We also ate at restaurants in city centre -try local fresh fish-not cheap but amazing.
Pool is great, the music by the pool is awfull,but I'm sure younger guests would enjoy it more.
You could also go to sister hotel in the harbour to the roof bar-the view is lovely.
We had lovely time:))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenity522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I m glad i stayed here with my family. amfora have beautiful pool with little islands for kids.We loved this hotel, but what we loved most was the breakfast with beautiful look. it is 5 min from the centar. air conditioners work only with door closed. theats great. when you open door air conditioners shut down and when you close the door air conditioners turn on. amfora is a great hotel and hvar is great city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanicaexplame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Property: Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing