We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When you are travelling with children you always look for the best hotel for them, and before we booked Amfora i was looking this reviews and lot of people were commenting positive about Amfora and content for children. And truly... From the kids room, where they have been the whole afternoon drawing, playing and painting, to the little pools and water toboggans, they are still talking about this vacation and for me, as a parent, that is the most important thing. That is why I can say only THANK YOU Amfora!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location with stunning views, small but attractive rooms and bathrooms, good breakfast, lovely staff and on a beautiful coastline with an interesting, pretty town within easy walking distance - ideal for families of all age groups. Sister hotels have very good restaurants and bars and a lovely spa and all can be charged to the room card - great offers booking directly with the hotel e.g 10% off all F&B outlets and euros 100 credit. Buffet excellent value for money although we didn't try it.....don't buy half board in advance as its the same price once you are there. use the hotel transfers as it is much easier.

Room Tip: Best value rooms are without sea views as you get the sea view from the restaurants, bars and pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisOn098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent location, I would say the best on the island, minutes away from the city centre by walk . The walk is lovely.
We booked see view room and I would recommend it.
The breakfast is buffet time and the choice is excellent from full English to continental .
You could also eat dinner at the hotel's restaurant at 19 euros a person and you will be not disappointed. We also ate at restaurants in city centre -try local fresh fish-not cheap but amazing.
Pool is great, the music by the pool is awfull,but I'm sure younger guests would enjoy it more.
You could also go to sister hotel in the harbour to the roof bar-the view is lovely.
We had lovely time:))

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenity522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I m glad i stayed here with my family. amfora have beautiful pool with little islands for kids.We loved this hotel, but what we loved most was the breakfast with beautiful look. it is 5 min from the centar. air conditioners work only with door closed. theats great. when you open door air conditioners shut down and when you close the door air conditioners turn on. amfora is a great hotel and hvar is great city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanicaexplame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

From the time we entered this place till the time we left, it was all disappointing.

I drove in with my car to the main entrance of this "grand hotel". There was no one at the gate, and no one to help us with out luggage. I had to go inside all the way up to the reception and wait for 5 minutes to get some attention. After which a unhappy looking bell boy came and took our luggage in. Felt as if he was doing a favour. No valet available and the parking lot was a good 7 minute walk. There were some parking spaces available closer, but they were always full.

The reception was extremely busy and finally when we got out room, it was at one end of the hotel. It took us over 7 minutes to get to the room. The lift we had to take was a service lift which was an old wooden lift and in a bad shape. The other option was stairs.

The rooms were just recently done up, all in white, but very impractical. No place to keep the luggage, the bathroom was always in a mess with water all over the floor. The toilet was THE WORST i have seen ever. It probably looked good to the designer and the guy to approved it, but very uncomfortable to use.

It is not on the riva, a good 15 minute walk to it. A drive is even more painful as it is around the hill from the centre. The breakfast spread was decent, but tasteless stuff. The staff at breakfast looked unhappy, probably they were underpaid and over worked. And it was like a fish market.

The pool is nice but it is so crowded, we only went there just 20 minutes before closing when it was almost empty. We were allowed to swim even after the closing hours which was good.

On check out again I had to wait for 20 minutes. The check out was fortunately smooth but no one to help us with our luggage. We had to call 4 times and finally someone came with a grim face. The luggage was left in front of the reception and we had to put it in the car all by ourself.

My wife was trying to organise a cake for me which they said they would provide complimentary since it was my birthday. My wife must have reminded at-least 5 times for it. Finally it came the following day of my birthday. My wife was disappointed.

All this with my wife being pregnant and we intimating them of celebrating my birthday etc etc. Requesting them for a good room with a location easy for my wife to access. And paying almost 300euro a night.

Total rip off for sure. I will never advice anyone staying in this hotel. There are much better hotels at better locations. One hotel I was relieved to leave.

Room Tip: Dont stay here. If you still decide to, ask for a room closer to the reception with easy access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sgolyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Amfora is a very modern hotel in a great location. The hotel is right on the coast overlooking a bay and some of the islands, and is just 5 minutes walk to Hvar town along a coastal pedestrian footpath. Breakfast in the hotel was very good, with a good range of options. Hvar town is lovely, with a good selection of mostly Pizza and seafood restaurants.

The bedrooms are small, but nicely designed and very modern. The big downside is that they are NOT AIR-CONDITIONED. There is an air conditioning control unit, but all that happens is a fan re-circulates the air in the room. The temperature in the room was 27-28 degrees C, even at night, which for us was just too hot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved this hotel, but what we loved most was the breakfast. It was the only hotel in all of Croatia that we stayed at that not only included breakfast in the price, but it was amazing. The pool and beach were beautiful. The one thing that was a huge minus for us was that they charged about $20 to rent the chairs on the beach...a beach owned by the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: $104 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing