We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.. Very small room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very big and is quite beautiful. Loved the pool, truly amazing if a bit too cold. Found all staff friendly and helpful.
On the down side, our room was very small, hardly and space to store clothes, we put a lot of our stuff under the bed to keep the room uncluttered! We paid extra to have a sea view but were very overlooked by other rooms..
Hvra is a stunning island and would love to come back one day.. This hotel is in a great location and about 10 mins walk from town, just a shame the room was disappointing!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at theAmfora for just under a week in September for a friends wedding (also a couple of days at The Palace). It is a very big hotal, nicely done up and the rooms are modern and pleasant. The food in the morning was nice enough but I have had better at cheaper hotels.

I think it was a little pricey for what it was. The pool is lovely, looks fantastic but was absolutely freezing. They should definitely invest in a heater for the pool as it was almost empty most days as very few felt like braving the ice cold. There is also a lot of greenery around the pool which made it hard to fin a spot that is unintruded upon by shadows at certain points of the day.

All in all a nice hotel, perhaps a little over-priced but very pleasant and I would return.

The weather was also impressively warm at that time of year.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view, as always. If you get a room on the left hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokeyJoe1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We came to amfora in the off season we get a nice and relaxing visit without tons of other tourist for a good price.
I would reccomend this hotel to couples in september-october period.

We had a very nice stay as a young couple for the first time in Hvar.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed her in June for 4 nights! The minute we arrived at Amfora and saw the Spectacular beautiful view from the Lounge Area we decided to extend our stay. Although the Hotel was 99% percent book during our stay the Front desk manager was very accommodating and was able to extend our stay and gave us a pretty decent room a Studio Suite with a Sea view, and a very decent rate especially during high season, very impressed! Breakfast was included the food was mediocre, nothing compared to the Marriott or Hilton Breakfast Buffet, but it was definitely worth it and convenient. The Pool was fabulous! It has something for everyone, the Guys hang out at Pool bar all day having drinks, the Ladies had a chance to work on their tan and the kids had a fabulous time swimming and playing at the water slide. The hotel is kid friendly, I never heard any of the adults complain about the kids splashing and having a great time. Our room was spacious although this place is huge and you have to it's a bit of walk to our room it was worth it! We had a huge comfortable bed and a set up Sofa Bed for our daughter, our room had a Scenic View of the Beach it was so relaxing! The bathroom was ok, it was big, but the bathtub/shower was a little bit of a pain, it doesn't have a full sliding door or a full shower curtain, therefore the water always ends up on the tile floor, which makes it very easy to get hurt, and there was no shower mat provided so it's difficult to dry the floor. I was always concerned that my daughter will end up sliding and hit her head on the tile floor. The towels are quite small compared to what we were use to and they only give you a few towels. We were quite impress with the Hotel Staff, they were very nice and helpful, also they delivered a Chocolate cake on my Birthday in our room and it was so delicious my Daughter almost finished the whole cake in one eating! I am so glad we made the right decision to spend my 50th Birthday in this Beautiful hotel and Hvar it's definitely a Paradise! Thanks Amfora Staff, you made our European vacation memorable, since this was the end of our 28 days European trip this was the perfect place to relax and swim and soak up the sun!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights from September 9 - 14. Free transfer from stari grad port after 8 hour ferry trip from Dubrovnik was most brilliant start. Great welcome at reception, porters, concierge, all very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious, with a huge bath tub! Room made up very promptly every morning. There was an excellent breakfast buffet every morning, well stocked and maintained. the bar overlooking the pool area and further on to the sea with spectacular was well worth a visit. The pool and its surroundings were very well maintained. Really clean water, good selection of cocktails, beers and ice creams at the poolside bar. The town centre of Hvar was but a 10 minute walk from the hotel, with some spectacular sunsets to be enjoyed from the sea front.
We only dined here one evening, as we had a deal which allowed us book in to other Suncani Hvar associate hotels and restaurants. It was a local style buffet, and to be honest it was bland at best.
The spa facilities are shared with its sister hotel, Adriana, located on the harbour front, which is about a 10 minute walk away.
One other negative was the advertised gym, it only consisted of a grand total of 3 machines and a few weights.
Overall we enjoyed our stay immensely, and would return again. Temperature was ideal, mid to late 20s Celsius for the time of year,and following a prompt checkout, we were given a free transfer to port to get our connecting ferry.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bren1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

In short, the Amfora is pretty good, and seems to be working fairly hard to improve. I liked it despite some short comings.

The good things are: the pool is pretty cool and has loads of space for you to find the perfect sunbathing spot, the hotel has great sea views and is well placed for Hvar (it is probably the best option if you want a decent pool near the town), and there are connections to "bonj les bains" which is great - we were luckily enough to be able to use it for free as we were staying at the Amfora. The rooms have been upgraded recently and the hotel has done a reasonable job with modernizing the place. The staff were generally great, and value for money for what we got was good.

The room for improvement: breakfast is nothing to write home about but is ok (orange juice is cheap concentrate which is poor for the star rating), staff clearing the breakfast tables threw cutlery into buckets which was loud and annoying, daily room cleaning seemed fairly half hearted, our sheets were changed twice in 7 days, the maid knocked on our door and woke us up despite there being a "do not disturb" sign on the door, volley ball and climbing areas are dirty and generally disused, food in general was at best "average" from the hotel restaurants. It's not easy to get in/out of the shower if you can't climb over the side of the bath, the bathroom floor will be soaking wet after your shower.

Room Tip: Just let the staff know if you're not happy about something - they helped us out a few times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaSpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at amfora for three nights the rooms are very small and are not particularly user friendly . The pool area is great but the chairs are so close to each other it's very difficult to get in and out. A lot of thought has been put into the reception area restaurants and outdoor areas but the rooms let this hotel down .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: $98 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing