We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Divino

Divino
Ranked #13 of 133 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fine dining with spectacular view
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
375 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“50th birthday Dinner”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We came to this restraunt because the friends we met here in Hvar had been and recommended it. We were so glad we did, it was my wife's 50th birthday nd the staff was so helpful and accommodating. When we got there they set us up in a nice corner location overlooking the bay. The food was excellent, we ordered the seafood platter for 2. We eat fish but it's usually fillets, it was so funny to see my wife's face when the plate came in and there was a whole barbecued fish staring at her. She had to cover his face o she could eat it....but wow once she did he tasted so good skin and all. We couldnt get enough. After dinner our waitress brought my wife a desert with sparklers lit on it fr her birthday which was so nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLalaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    82
    30
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best restaurant ever”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was recommended to this restaurant by my friends. We expected some good restaurant, but not that good, The location is fantastic, up on the terrace, hidden from the mass in the streets. The staff is very professional, kind and helpful. They offer amazing food and wines. It is a bit pricey, but it's worth any money. I will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyStrike92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best meal of our entire trip to Croatia”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My girl friend and I came to Divino because we thought a friend had recommended it (but it turns out, she had actually recommended another restaurant). It was no matter because we were not disappointed.

We sat on a seat on the edge of the terrace overlooking the sea and the boats. We came in time for sunset and enjoyed a spectacular view. The service was excellent. Our server, Hrvoje (spelling?) was great. We ordered a fish dish and the lobster fettuccine, both of which were excellent. Hrvoje fileted the fish at our table for us. We also ended the meal with the ganache, which was amazing. We also wanted to give the cheesecake a try, but they ran out, so Hrvoje brought us a second ganache on the house. We ended the meal with a few glasses of that Croatian brandy. It was perfect. We hadn't planned on a long dinner, but because of the beautiful view, the great service, and flowing drinks, we ended up staying for a 4-hour meal. Easily the best 4 hours of our trip to Croatia. Highly recommend this place for the food, the setting, and the service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gnahzmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had dinner and did not expect great food like that in such a touristic location.
We ate meat (beef and lamb) and it was delicious.
There s a wonderful view on the bay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A great place”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I recommend Divino, they were very kind on finding a table, even if we didn't have a reservation, all the waiters were great and the food was incredible, I recommend the Fish basket for 2 persons and the Cheese cake for desert, best cheese cake ever!!! On top of all the have a great view and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThaisGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divino also viewed

 

Been to Divino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing